We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (677)
Filter reviews
677 results
Traveller rating
326
260
70
14
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
326
260
70
14
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews train station chess set old palace wooden door mezzanine floor piazza bra an easy walk no lift breakfast room lovely hotel huge room family run hotel breakfast is served gelateria small hotel historic building busy road
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 677 reviews
Reviewed 13 February 2018

A 3 star Hotel that is genuinely 3 star. It is outside the historic center, however walking we are 5 minutes from Castelvecchio and from the Porta Nuova train station. So it is well located. The ambience and decor are pleasant. The room we were assigned, the 24, is small and turned inland. Maybe that's why it's quiet which allows you to sleep well. The breakfast is served in the little breakfast room decorated with pictures of nearby vineyards. The cold buffet includes salami, ham, ricotta cheese, homemade cake, fresh fruit, croissants and freshly made coffee. Breakfast is perhaps higher than expected from a 3-star hotel. The staff is friendly, diligent, professional and happy to make recommendations. The only thing that did not go well in our stay was the heating off on the last night. Fortunately we had to leave at 5 in the morning to the airport!

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JOSPIR89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelscalzi, Proprietario at Hotel Scalzi, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2018

Dear mr JOSPIR89, thank you for your fantastic review from all of us!
Hope to host you again at Hotel Scalzi.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2018

We stayed for 5 nights over the New Year period. We arrived on an early flight & were made welcome at the Hotel with coffee in the breakfast room. We were able to check in early so we could leave our luggage & get straight on with enjoying the beautiful sights of Verona.The hotel is very handy for the station & a reasonable walk to Piazza Bra & the historic centre. Reception staff were all friendly & helpful; room was warm,quiet & comfortable.
We enjoyed our visit very much & found it a relaxing experience.Hope to return one day.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sally M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelscalzi, Proprietario at Hotel Scalzi, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2018

Dear Sally M, thank you very much for review; hope to find another chance to host you at Hotel Scalzi!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2017 via mobile

We were given the apartment room which was huge. It made our 3 night stay very comfortable as we were able to stretch out. The hotel is well located to all Verona activities and an easy walk to the train station. The staff spoke great English and the breakfast buffet was fantastic!

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank HansenClark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelscalzi, Proprietario at Hotel Scalzi, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2017

Dear HansenClark thank you very much and Happy Holidays!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017

Fabulous, cannot recommended highly enough. Value for money. Owner run. Breakfast good, walking distance to train station and all sights. Room clean, quaint. Quiet area. helpful staff. Bus route on doorstep.

Stayed: October 2017
1  Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelscalzi, Proprietario at Hotel Scalzi, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2017

Dear Carol H thank you very much from all of us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017

A very nice small hotel hidden behind full size ancient wooden doors but once inside its a different world. Beautiful entrance and reception, lovely bedrooms and very helpful staff made our stay very enjoyable. Within 10 minutes walk of the main square, 5 minutes more gets you to Juliet's balcony and other sights to see. Secure private parking available but it is about 3 minutes walk from the hotel so drop your cases first.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DevonJasper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelscalzi, Proprietario at Hotel Scalzi, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2017

Dear DevonJasper thank you so much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews