We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (854)
Filter reviews
854 results
Traveller rating
203
381
182
60
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
203
381
182
60
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsa free shuttle busnice hotel to staybus runs every minsshop opposite the hotelbride and groomscost euros per personhydro bathreturn bushotel offerswimming poolthe underground car parklocal buseslake gardawithin easy reachbusiness tripweekend breakminute walk
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 854 reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2018

Fine hotel, spacious rooms, bathroom very good, as the beds, no Noise ( we had some noise from other guests in de corridor) airco. Breakfast very good, diner less good. Staff very very very nice , friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank hrn69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2018

The hotel is conveniently situated in a quiet area within a 20 minutes moderately paced walk to the edge of the city. A city bus runs frequently pass the hotel to the railway station ( if you wish to travel further afield) and on to the Arena, which is the centre of Verona and costs 1 euro 30 cents per person if you buy your ticket from the tobacconist shop opposite the hotel. You need to activate the ticket when you enter the bus, but it enables you to travel for 90 minutes and you can jump on other buses during this period. I am not too sure, but I think you need to punch the ticket for each bus you use. If you don't pre-buy your tickets you can pay the driver, but it will cost 2 Euros per person per journey.
The hotel is clean and the rooms well appointed and comfortable. The corridors are quiet and there are several lifts. It offers a buffet style continental breakfast with an assortment of fruit juices, rolls, jams, scrambled and boiled eggs, and local bacon. There are also croissants and other pastries, and tea or coffee. You will not go hungry. At the time of my visit the hotel did not serve lunch or dinner, but toasted snacks and sandwiches were available at the bar. There is a pleasant outside area to sit and enjoy your snack and drink. The reception staff are very friendly and very helpful. This hotel has no pretentions and I have no complaints. Across the road is a very good restaurant for lunch and dinner, serving fine Italian cooking.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michaeljosephp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanmarcoverona, Proprietario at San Marco Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2018

Dear Sir, from the next June, 2018, our restaurant will be open in the evening, following the request we had from many customers: next time we will be very happy to let you try and have your opinions about it.
Thank you for your review and for the useful informations about bus from e to the city.
Kind regards
Maurizio Ghelli Santuliana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2018 via mobile

The rooms are not modern, they are very old and there is no air condition or decent ventilator. There is no fan in the shower, so the room becomes so humid. The shower was so small, i could barely fit in it. The room given to us was basically a random bit of space that has been changed into a room. The hotel didn’t have an iron for guests. When sleeping at night, you can hear people talking outside of your room and inside next to the room. The hotel is so open there is two entrances, one is on main road and one is side road. Anyone can walk in from one of the entrances and walk into the hotel. there is no decent security. Worst hotel I’ve stayed in. Not happy at all.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank jasmeet p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanmarcoverona, Proprietario at San Marco Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2018

It is very difficult to give service to people not asking for it, when it is available. We do have air conditioning, but in the middle season when some people ask for air conditioning and some other still feel cold, we turn it on request.
Ironing is not allowed in the rooms, this is a safety rule all over Italy: we have an ironing room close to the entrance on side road: ask for it, if somebody burn the hotel using ironing equipment around the hotel, probabily it will not so much confortable for other people!!!
The entrance on side road is open only during the day, close (with bell request) in the night: having one or more entrances is not relevant at all: do they in other hotels ask your name and passport anytime you go and come back from the main door, even if only one is available?
We have differenk kind of rooms, so it is possible to find a solution for any pocket: alternative accomodation can be asked, when available, on the check-in; info on services like air-conditioning are always available, and they are free of charge.
Kind Regards
Maurizio Ghelli Santuliana.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2017

Had a business trip to Verona and stayed at San Marco during Sep 2017. Pretty decent no fancy rooms...could do better with a makeover i guess. Check in was pretty smooth - would have loved though if they had a airport shuttle of some kind.

Surprised to find that they do not serve food in the night - my bad luck I landed late evening and had to be content with some fruits that I had bought along the way. This somewhat is disappointing - leaving the guests to fend for themselves courtesy hotel policy is unacceptable in hospitality industry. This is the reason for my average rating.

Most places are nearby- the Arena, museums, etc. which you could visit with the help of Verona card (24/48 hours duration approx. 18/23 euros). Venice is the most popular destination - I hopped into a train and took the hop on hop off cruise and chose to drop in at Morano to buy a beautiful necklace for my wife. This place is worth visiting. Of course you will love the cruise with a view of the town throughout.

Breakfast is OK but nothing to write about...there is a bar that is good. You will find a lot of hotels nearby if you are ready to walk - some good pizza eateries serving sizable portions as compared to the restaurant in the hotel. And of course visit not complete without Italian wine... I loved the rose wine!
So nice hotel to stay!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Madhu R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

The room was big and comfortable with really wide bed. Shower, toilet and bidet in the bathroom. We had pleasant breakfast and sometimes also supper in the ground floor restaurant. Helpful people in the reception desk. Bus stop is close enough to the hotel, a minute of walking. A small shop across the street, selling newspapers etc. The hotel is suitable for visitors in large groups, but also for families.

Room Tip: I did not choose a room, I got a random room and I liked it.
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank personne551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews