We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient for Day Trip to the Opera”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Des Arts
Ranked #3 of 79 Hotels in Verona
Certificate of Excellence
Johns Creek, GA
Level Contributor
95 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Convenient for Day Trip to the Opera”
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We chose this hotel for its location - we took the train in for the day, dropped our luggage at the hotel, and went into town. The staff was welcoming and helpful. We had two rooms and three of us shared each room, which were just big enough for us. The bathrooms were very nice, thou not large. They did offer l'Occitane products, which were wonderful, and the bathrooms were well lite and included a makeup mirror. The shower was tight but had the best shower head! The beds were fine -a little firmer than we like - with lots of pillows. Both rooms had good blackout curtains The breakfast buffet was very good.

My only dislike was the smell of the cleaner/furniture polish used in the halls -it may the hotel smell like a cheap hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front get some street noise but, from our room on the second floor, it wasn't a pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrayFamilyTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,052 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    593
    365
    72
    13
    9
See reviews for
186
508
42
139
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

We had a very lovely time in Verona in June. We only stayed here one night but it was a very charming hotel. It is in a great location, just a short walk to Juliet's house, the Arena, town square, and LOTS of shopping!! Our room was a bit small, but it's what you would expect in Europe, but our bed was comfortable and the staff was very helpful and friendly. The only thing we didn't enjoy was a recommended restaurant we ate at from this hotel. If you are in need of a great place to stay please consider this hotel. We really enjoyed it and would definitely stay there again if we are ever in Verona again! :)

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cshepherd125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHtlVerona, Responsabile reception at Grand Hotel Des Arts, responded to this review, 28 July 2012
Dear Cshepherd125,
you know that you will be always welcomed at Grand Hotel by all the staff.
Next time you come to Verona we will pay more attention to suggest the restaurant best suited to you.
All the restaurants we suggest are typical and not so touristic but sometimes it is difficult for us to understand each need and taste. If you ever come to Verona again we will book for you an unforgettable restaurant.
I stay at your disposal
Best Regards
GRAND HOTEL
Front Office Manager
Gigliola Boldrini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
136 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

This hotel is in an excellent position just a few minutes walk into Verona's town square and the Arena. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, even assisting us to retrieve left clothing before we sailed out of Venice! Our room was old-style but very comfortable although the bathroom was tiny (with everything you need just very little room to use it in). Breakfast was extensive and freshly topped up regularly. I'd have no hesitation in staying there again.

Room Tip: Perhaps enquire whether any room shave a slightly larger bathroom?
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monica P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHtlVerona, Responsabile reception at Grand Hotel Des Arts, responded to this review, 21 July 2012
Dear Monica,
thank you for the "charming hotel" and the nice words you spent for the staff.
You are right when you write that rooms and bathrooms are not very big but unfortunately we cannot do anything to change the old structure of the hotel.
Anyway we work hard to give always a better quality service to compensate for structural defects and it seems you appreciated this.
Thank you again and see you soon in Verona
GRAND HOTEL
Gigliola Boldrini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

The Grand is a wonderful hotel in a great location, not far from the train station and near the arena. We stayed for three nights and really enjoyed our stay. The hotel is 'grand' but very welcoming. The staff couldn't do enough to help when we needed clothes pressing urgently for the opera. The breakfast choice was excellent and the wine was reasonably cheap for a four star hotel. During our stay I celebrated a birthday and the staff left a gift which I thought was a nice touch. The room was not large but was tastefully decorated. My only complaint would be the bathroom ceiling which needed repainting or repairing, as there had been a water leak which had left the ceiling in a mess. Such a shame really as everything else was so good. The wardarobe was a bit of nightmare (rail front to back rather than left to right) and little storage space, but it was the end of the holiday for us and we had little to unpack. I loved looking at the old photographs in the bar and the modern art was interesting. Nice court yard and garden. Great location and well worth a visit.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeftravelfar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHtlVerona, Responsabile reception at Grand Hotel Des Arts, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
Dear Jeftravelfar,
I am really sorry regarding the ruined ceiling of the bathroom. It was our big mistake because the checking of the room was not properly made (unfortunately).
The Direction was informed about this problem just few days after your departue and the leak was immediately solved.
The misfortune is that you have already left Grand Hotel and I cannot apologize in person.
If you decide to come again by us in the future, please do not hesitate to contact me and I will do my best to repair this bad impression.
I stay at your disposal
GRAND HOTEL
Font Office Manager
Gigliola Boldrini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

My girlfriend and I loved our stay at the Grand in Verona. Although we only stayed overnight we will always know where to stay when we re-visit Verona in the future. The hotel is situated approximately 200m from the main gates and Arena in Verona. On arrival we were greeted by the friendly porter who took our bags and showed us where to park.

The secure undercover parking is located approximately 40m past the hotel and cost us (from memory) $20 Euros for our overnight stay, which was reasonable. Our check-in was seamless and we were shown to our room. The room was very comfortable with air-conditioning, beautiful wooden furniture, mini bar, room safe and own bathroom. Our bags were brought to our room shortly afterwards and the complimentary water was welcomed on such a hot day. Our window overlooked the lawned courtyard where other guests were relaxing on the sun beds provided.

After settling in we walked into town to have lunch. The town centre with restaurants and Verona's famous Arena was only a short 200m walk away from the hotel's front door. That night we had a lovely quiet sleep and in the morning the hotels continental breakfast was delicious.

The hotel has a wifi internet service which is a very reasonable 3 Euros a day for access. The hotel also has a bar in the main lobby for drinks in the evening. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and I highly recommend the Grand if you are ever visiting Verona.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prob_been_there
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHtlVerona, Responsabile reception at Grand Hotel Des Arts, responded to this review, 19 July 2012
Dear prob_been_there,
thank you very much for the 5 stars on Tripadvisor!
We wait for you again in Verona as soon as possible .. I know Australia is quite far but I am confident ;-) to see you in the near future
Grand Hotel
Gigliola Boldrini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Verona hotels
0.9 km away
Giulietta e Romeo Hotel
0.8 km away
Hotel Milano & Spa
Hotel Milano & Spa
#10 of 79 in Verona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,161 reviews
1.0 km away
Accademia Hotel
Accademia Hotel
#2 of 79 in Verona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Best Western Hotel Firenze
1.5 km away
Due Torri Hotel
Due Torri Hotel
#6 of 79 in Verona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Bologna
Hotel Bologna
#7 of 79 in Verona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Des Arts? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Des Arts

Property: Grand Hotel Des Arts
Address: Corso Porta Nuova 105, 37122, Verona, Italy (Formerly Grand Hotel Verona)
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Verona
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 79 Hotels in Verona
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,775 - ₹ 21,973
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Des Arts 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In excellent central position only 5 minutes walk from the arena. The Grand Hotel has 62 rooms, 5 of which are suites, equipped with all modern comforts where the classics style of the private collection blends with a modern style of a business hotel. Private garden suitable for cocktail and summer brunch, conference center. Bikes available free of charge for guests. The Grand Hotel of Verona offers different ways for your stay, nothing is left to chance, each room has private services with baths or showers, heating during winter months and air conditioning for the summer months all autonomous and regulated by yourselves directly from your rooms. The technology for a good stay is in your flat screen TV, voice mails available for you and internet access so that you are connected to the world. Details are the expression of maximum comfort: hair dryers and bathrobes, slippers and an exclusive Occytane complimentary set in all bathrooms. The pillow menu will allow you to choose the pillow suitable for your sleep and, on request, an ozone treatment to purify your bedroom according to the new feng shui theories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Des Arts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing