We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Barbarigo Sul Canal Grande
Ranked #16 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 April 2012

This hotel absolutely lived up to all our expectations. We arrived by a private taxi transfer organised by the hotel and there surely can not be a better way to arrive at any hotel than this. Travelling alomg the Grand Canal to the hotel doors was magical. Although we arrived at around 11.30am our room was ready and this had a fantastic view over the Grand Canal (room 9). The room itself was very comfortable and spacious. I can see why some guests found the room quite dark but this was not a problem. Bathroom is not that big with shower only but still very good. Excellent breakfast and very helpful staff. They provided us with a list of recommended restaurants prior to our arrival and booked a couple at our request - both very good and will be subject of seperate reviews.
The hotel has a beautiful bar for residents only and therefore is very quiet. We enjoyed Bellinis one night but at 28 Euros it was in our view a bit too expensive. The location of the hotel is very good and whilst tucked away down an allay it is easy to find once you have left the hotel once. Only 10 minutes walk to Rialto.
All in all a great hotel, highly recommended in a magical city.

Room Tip: Room 9 is on Grand Canal. We had window open all night and noise was limited.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingScots0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (614)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Palazzo Barbarigo Sul Canal Grande
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

352 - 356 of 614 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2012

Stayed three days with my daughter in this nice and beautifully decorated small hotel and wasn't disappointed. Beautiful and clean design room, nice bathroom. Service was OK but not outstanding. Breakfast was very nice. Location is good. On the downside, the hotel is pretty dark and there is no terrace. One has to like small hotels and we missed some life at the bar at evening. All in all, a very nice hotel and worth recommending.

Stayed: April 2012
Thank Founextravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Wonder who wrote all the glowing reviews. Spent two nights here in April 2012. Heat had been turned off and hotel was very cold. Water had to run for a good 15 minutes to get to luke warm. Never got really hot. Shower didn't work properly and glass partition was cracked. But the biggest problem is the lack of insulation in the walls. You can easily hear normal conversation in the room next to you.

Turn down service didn't show up first night. Breakfast is simply glorified continental. One person is the front desk manager, bellman, porter and maintenance engineer rolled into one.

Hotel was designed to be dramatic but is really just too dark. Staff tries very hard but they can't compensate for issues. We had just spent 5 nights in Florence at the Four Seasons and this hotel was a MAJOR disappointment. Left half way through our reserved stay. Even though I expressed my concerns to the individual in charge of the front desk, no one from management bothered to contact me.

Never have I paid so much for a totally second rate stay.

Room Tip: Non junior suites open to the bar area. If there are folks who want to stay up and party you better...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeenaroundRj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelphilosophy, Direttore at Hotel Palazzo Barbarigo Sul Canal Grande, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2012

Dear Mr BeenaroundRj,

first of all thank you for expressing an opinion on TripAdvisor.
We would like to provide clarification on his comment about your stay at Palazzo Barbarigo recently spent.

Like every year, the change of seasons, from winter to spring is always too sudden, because at the end of April, having been abnormally warm we had to convert the heating system in air conditioning

But because our system is centralized, you can not adjust the temperature from the rooms

Unfortunately the weather returned unexpectedly cold in the days concurrent to your stay, to return again hot the following days after your departure

With regard to hot water I confirm that the system works perfectly, the only food for thought could be lifted for the time taken to reach the water temperature due to the remoteness of the heating system. However, this is a prerogative of all of Venice, a city that lives on the water and where you can not use the systems that are normally implemented in other city hotels. In our opinion, therein also lies the charm of Venice.

The rooms are perfectly soundproofed, both internally and externally, we surprisingly find out that you were disturbed by the noise of the adjacent chamber. We would also point out that the personnel operating at the Palazzo Barbarigo is selected with extreme care, always friendly and available to clients' needs. So it would have been sufficient to alert the front desk and they would have taken immediate steps if there was excessive noise coming from the room next door that could disturb the quiet of the hotel.




Indeed we were also informed by the reception staff that alternatively we have offered you another accommodation, proposing you to change room at 7 pm, that’s why we have absolute certainty that the room was perfect, immaculate, clean and ready to welcome new guests as all rooms at the time of check in.

To this, add the fact that we have not applied the penalty specified on the policy for an early departure. The hotel has only 18 rooms and is often sold out, as you understand your early departure during high season has been a loss, but we respected your decision and wanted to meet your needs.

At the time of your departure, we asked what were the causes of your discontent, and from your response we deduct that the hotel was not immediately of your liking. Palazzo Barbarigo is often much appreciated by discerning travelers from around the world, but we are aware that not everybody has the same tastes.
We are so sorry that you were not satisfied with your stay at our hotel, but we have done our best and we hope to be able to welcoming you another time to Palazzo Barbarigo.


The management of Palazzo Barbarigo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Just a little over 12 months ago we visited this beautiful hotel, returning for our 2nd visit via water taxi felt like we had never been away. Familiar faces greeted us making us feel so welcome but this time we had the added benefit of knowing how to find our way around Venice. You can also take a public gondola 2 mins walk away so easily (and cheap 1 euro for 2!) to save walking through congested Rialto bridge. Venice is not cheap and neither is Palazzo Barbarigo, yet it is a beautifully intimate hotel, in a good location, sitting on the balcony with a red wine or negroni overlooking the Grand Canal is fantastic and so worth it.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helenmariemelon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Just returned from 4 night stay in this lovely hotel. The setting is spectacular. We stayed in room 1 which was one the ground floor overlooking the Grand Canal in fact you felt you were actually on the Grand Canal. We arrived in style by water taxi right up to the front door. I don't think we would ever have found it otherwise as it is reached by a very long narrow lane but once you knew where it was it was a 2 minute walk to San Tomas waterbus stop.The Rialto Bridge is an easy 10 minute walk and St Marks Square about 20 minute walk. In our opinion it was the ideal spot to stay close enough to the centre but far enough away to be more tranquil and detached from day trippers. The room was very comfortable and although not huge it was big enough. The term Junior suite was perhaps a little misleading in that respect. It was very quiet cosidering it was on the Grand Canal. The double glazing was very effective and heavy curtains blocked out the light so much so that we slept in one morning and nearly missed breakfast. Breakfast was very good. Four platters were served at your table one with hams and cheese,one with breads, a fresh fruit platter and pastries. Eggs and bacon were available for a supplement but we were very happy with the selection that we were served. The bar upstairs was a lovely spot to sit with a glass of Pinot Grigio overlooking the canal. Although this is not an inexpensive hotel I felt it was value for money and would recommend to anyone who likes a small hotel with a bit of style.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank weelassieScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#4 of 384 in Venice
1,927 reviews
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Castello
Hotel Londra Palace
Hotel Londra Palace
#17 of 384 in Venice
1,569 reviews
Hotel L'Orologio
#22 of 384 in Venice
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Barbarigo Sul Canal Grande? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Barbarigo Sul Canal Grande

Address: San Polo 2765, 30125 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Polo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Price Range: ₹ 18,056 - ₹ 50,978 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Barbarigo Sul Canal Grande 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Venice, boutique hotel on the Grand Canal In an exciting and fascinating setting, the Hotel Palazzo Barbarigo awaits you in Venice with spaces and rooms evoking an enchanting atmosphere, perfectly blended with the seductive and romantic soul of our wonderful city. Elegant furnishings and original 16th century elements make Palazzo Barbarigo a unique hotel in Venice, where a refined setting and all the most modern amenities will make your stay an esclusive and unforgettable moment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Barbarigo Sul Canal Grande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing