We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazingly Beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Stern
Ranked #23 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazingly Beautiful”
Reviewed 18 July 2012

This hotel was in a perfect location on the Grand Canal. The room was clean and comfortable and the staff was overly helpful and friendly. Our favorite was the gentleman who carried our bags. Having breakfast on the patio was a perfect way to start the day with good food and even better coffee. I can't wait to return and stay again!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tothesea4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, 20 July 2012
Buongiorno!

I'm very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We all look forward to welcome you soon again!

Thank you for this very nice review and have a great day.

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,665 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,352
    239
    54
    7
    13
See reviews for
347
1,046
51
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (398)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012 via mobile

We stayed here the last part of June for 3 magical nights. The staff is excellent, friendly, and helpful. The room was beautiful- large comfortable and a great view of the Grand Canal. Definitely worth the extra $$ !! The valporetta stop adjacent to the hotel was key to getting around Venice and extremely convenient. A special treat was the large terrace overlooking the canal for breakfast each morning and/or a night cocktail!!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Winchestr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
Buongiorno!

Thank you for your very nice review.
I'm very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and I look forward to welcome you soon again here in Venice.

Have a nice day!

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

This is a fantastic hotel. Beautiful hotel/room, easy to access location and great service. The large quadruple suite had a separate master bedroom - so hard to find when travelling with kids. Added bonus is that it has one of the only terraces right on the Grand Canal: the perfect place to have breakfast/drinks and watch the bustle of the city.

The Dorsoduro area has everything you need without the madness of being in the San Marco area. We made a couple of treks out to San Marco for the must-see highlights but quickly scurried back to our lovely neighbourhood for more manageable but still fabulous historical sites and delicious eateries.

Room Tip: Opt for a room on the top floor. We could hear people above us walking around in their room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Margaret J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, 20 July 2012
Buongiorno!

Thank you for this very kind review.
I'm happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We all look forward to welcome you soon again here in Venice, warmest regards!

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Our four night stay at the Palazzo Stern was for a very special occasion, our 25th wedding anniversary, so we pushed the boat out a little (or should that be gondola......sorry)
Transfer from Marco Polo Airport by the Alilaguna Orange Line (26 euros return) takes nearly one hour, but you are dropped off at Ca' Rezzonico, just a few yards from the hotel entrance. The hotel also has a private landing for water taxi's (quicker, but 110 euros for the trip)
Very friendly welcome and a cooling drink. Quick check-in and plenty of help with maps and recommendations for your stay if you haven't been to Venice before. Our room 404 overlooked the Grand Canal, and was very tastefully furnished with two large beds and a large bathroom....jacuzzi bath with hand held shower....it's quite a climb to get in and out, so check first. There was also a bottle of bubbly on ice, and a greeting card from the manager which was a very nice touch! The hotel is beautiful to look at, outside and in, with some very interesting original (I think) features. Breakfast can be taken on the terrace...watching the rush-hour on water is just so unique. There is also a bar, and you can order complimentary coffee as the machines in the rooms do not work.
The hotel does not have a restaurant, but there are plenty of places nearby. Campo S. Barnaba is two minutes away....plenty of places around here and the Caffe Bar Ai Artisti is great for a late spritz or two. Campo S.Margherita is a further two minutes from here with plenty of places to eat and drink. The Dorsoduro area is excellent for exploring, much quieter than the madness around St Mark's (though a couple of hours outside Quadri's with a bottle of wine was great too!)
The hotel may recommend the restaurant "Prete Rosso" at their sister hotel, The Locanda Vivaldi. Apart from the stunning views it's not that good.
The Accademia is a short walk away, and there are several interesting churches worth a look (not usually my thing, but worth getting a "pass" for 17 of them at St Sebastiano) The #1 vaporetto stops outside....the #2 accross the canal at S.Samuel...but the traghetti (gondola ferry) between the two does not seem to be running at the moment.
Anyway, enough of me....just go and immerse yourself in Venice.
Thank you to all the staff at Hotel Palazzo Stern

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank grumpy-tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, 17 July 2012
Buongiorno!

Thanks to you for this very nice review!
You are right when you say that we have many original pieces of art in the hotel, the oldest one is from the 2nd century!

Traghetto Gondola works only in the morning unfortunately! But the vaporetto work always from very early in the morning until late evening so it's very easy to go everywhere (and it stops at Ca' rezzonico every 10 minutes).

We all look forward to welcome you again here in Venice, warmest regards!

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 July 2012

I took my father and his wife plus children to Venice to celebrate his 70th birthday, and we lall had a fabulous time! The staff were wonderful, the kids loved the beautiful hotel and the location couldnt have been better. Walking your feet-off in Venice is mandatory and to be able to hop off the Vaperetto directly outside the hotel was a dream...

The staff couldnt have bheen more helpful and the bedrooms were beautifully appointed. Breakfast was fab on the terrace too! I('d definitely come back and stay here again

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdamsonLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertino3, Direttore at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, 1 June 2016
Buonasera!

Thanks a lot for your very kind review, I'm happy you and your family enjoyed your stay with us!!!

I hope to have the chance to welcome you again here at Palazzo Stern, warmest regards!

Roberto

*****
There are 5 good reasons to book directly with us!
1) No hidden costs
2) Best available rate guaranteed
3) Your booking is final and the standard in quality is guaranteed
4) Eligibility to Free Upgrades, special discounts and free amenities
5) Flexible cancellation policy
Visit our website or give us a call for more information!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#2 of 385 in Venice
1,865 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Pisani Hotel
Ca' Pisani Hotel
#16 of 385 in Venice
1,762 reviews
Hotel Canal Grande
#11 of 385 in Venice
1,984 reviews
Hotel Antiche Figure
#10 of 385 in Venice
3,591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Stern? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Stern

Property: Hotel Palazzo Stern
Address: Dorsoduro 2792-2794/A-2792/B, 30123 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro / Accademia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Venice
#7 Family Hotel in Venice
#15 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#17 Luxury Hotel in Venice
Price range (per night): ₹ 14,147 - ₹ 40,439
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Stern 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Palazzo Stern is an historical Moorish Palazzo on the Grand Canal. The location is very convenient: easy to reach, close to the main attractions and at the same time in a very Venice area. If you are looking for a unique venetian experience in the real Venice and far from the crowd of the mass tourism we are the right place to choose. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Nozio Netplan srl and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Stern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Stern Hotel
Palazzo Stern Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing