We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in a lovely city...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel a La Commedia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel a La Commedia
Ranked #28 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel in a lovely city...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

I stayed at La Commedia in early April and loved it.
I paid for the airport to hotel transfer as I had saved for a long time for this trip and was doing it in style. The trip from the airport to the hotel was fantastic - private water taxi surfing the waves and throwing up spray all the way - it was so exhilarating. Then coming in under the Rialto Bridge and being met by a hotel staff member to lug my suitcase and show me to the hotel. On the way back to the airport they took me through the Grand Canal so I could get a last look at the beauty of Venice.
The transfer is very expensive however and it is unlikely I will utilise it again. Also, the hotel says that included in the transfer are some guided activities - a gondola ride, a walking tour. They actually aren't included though, the hotel will get you a subsidised rate. I ended up taking part in none of the activities and they should ensure they cease giving the impression that these activities are going to be free. This is my only issue with La Commedia and is solved by me not using the transfer service again.
Everything else was wonderful.
They upgraded me to a Junior Suite on arrival and it was lovely. Spacious, clean, well appointed and plush. There was a turn down service every day which left me a chocolate and tomorrow's weather report - very handy. The bathroom was large, clean and had an overhead as well as handheld shower option over the bath. Fantastic for an Aussie traveller.
The staff were extremely helpful and friendly and I was given a stamp for a free drink in their bar. It is just a small area in the foyer but it was perfectly nice and provided a good place for me to write up my experiences at the end of the day. (Unfortunately the rooftop bar only opens in Summer).
The breakfast room was nice and the breakfast provided was everything I needed and more. Cereal, pastries, fruit, tea etc that I partook of, and extras like eggs and bacon for those that prefer a more hearty breakfast. Again the staff were very attentive and helpful.
The restaurant next door to the hotel whilst outside of my usual price range provided a lovely last evening's meal and the waitstaff there are fantastic.
If I manage to save enough money to be able to afford high luxury again on my next trip I will definitely be staying at La Commedia.

Room Tip: The Junior Suite I had was on Level 3 and was lovely. It was right near the elevator but I did not r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TraceyLei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,909 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,456
    381
    43
    15
    14
See reviews for
317
1,283
37
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

A hidden gem and possibly the best city centre hotel I have ever stayed in. La Commedia is ideally suited to explore all of the highlights in Venice. Rooms are fabulous and breakfast is just perfect. Staff are helpful and full of ideas to help you enjoynthisbwonderful city .......even in the rain!

Room Tip: All rooms are well appointed ande very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda0z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

My daughter and I recently stayed a full week at this wonderful hotel. The staff treated us as family. The breakfast was great, we never tired of the selections. Beautiful marble stairs, rooftop paito, and of course the location can't be beat. Our room was very pretty and quiet, #404.

Thank you Hotel A La Commedia for an absolutely unforgettable experience!

Room Tip: If you stay here, you won't regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank julie0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

This hotel was in a great spot, the location was fabulous. The hotel staff were brilliant, full of useful information and tips and they were always cheerful. If you're looking for a romantic hotel that's in the centre of everything then this is the one for you, I have no complaints, the breakfast was great, it was clean and the rooms were lovely. I highly recommend this hotel, you won't regret your stay!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

Having booked fairly last minute we were surprised at how amazing this place was, my husband hurt his hand on the saturday and the staff helped us find a doctor within the hour who came to the hotel to help. The location was perfect and quiet but two seconds away from the thick of it very worth visiting and superb staff !!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gssem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
Castello
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#48 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Al Codega
Hotel Al Codega
#25 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,286 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Canal Grande
Hotel Canal Grande
#11 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,888 reviews
San Marco
Corte Di Gabriela
Corte Di Gabriela
#7 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel a La Commedia? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel a La Commedia

Property: Hotel a La Commedia
Address: San Marco 4596/A | Corte Del Teatro Goldoni, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Venice
#20 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#23 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#42 Business Hotel in Venice
Price range (per night): ₹ 14,602 - ₹ 51,108
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel a La Commedia 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just opened in 2006, Hotel a La Commedia is located in one of the most lively areas of the historical centre a few steps away from Rialto bridge and the most famous San Marco's Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Fastbooking and Agoda so you can book your Hotel a La Commedia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a La Commedia Venice
a La Commedia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing