We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (214)
Filter reviews
214 results
Traveller rating
51
102
31
17
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
51
102
31
17
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationsingle roomsmall alleypiazza san marcost marksstar hoteltowelsdirectionssquareheating
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 214 reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2017 via mobile

Nice and convenient, everything worked perfect, good to be able to go and have a rest in between activities, which was easy thanks to location. Very calm. Short Walk from Zaccarias boat terminal. If you read the directions on their webpage, easy to find, look for the very small alley.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank Henric W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2017

Stayed for the second time in this hotel last week of March 2017. Nothing like our first time. We got to the hotel at almost 4pm on a Tuesday and a young lady in the front desk greeted us. She checked us in and asked for our taxes that must be paid in cash. We did and she gave us the key to room 110. The inside of the hotel was stuffy and warm. We entered the room and immediately noticed how stuffy and warm it was inside. We opened the window but it wouldn't stay open so we propped it behind the TV on the wall.
The bathroom was ok except the shower. The glass door was missing so they replaced it with a shower curtain. The shower is small and dirty. The shower floor was visibly in need of a good scrubbing. The shower curtain was disgusting towards the bottom. I took pictures and posted it with this review as evidence.
The sun was warming up our room quite rapidly despite the cool temperature outside and we decided that we would turn the ac on. We tried turning the air conditioning on but it did not work. The button was missing (see pictures). The young lady from the reception came up to help us and after a few confusing looks she told us that during the "winter" (late march) they shut off the air condition and therefore the customers can't turn it on in any room. She was playing naive at first by telling us that we should leave the on button pressed for the ac and when we came back the evening if it was not cool then MAYBE she could change our room. lol. It stated online that the hotel has ac and it doesn't say anything about the ac not being available in the "winter". We were a bit disappointed after that and the fact that the shower was dirty. And they still have sheets as towels. I understand they maybe trying to save money but some towels would be nice considering the price of this place.
Our room 110 faces the open area (piazza) where there are restaurants and a bar. People were yelling and extremely loud until about 1 am on a Tuesday and Wednesday night. At night we could hear the people in the room next door snoring . The walls are paper thin. NO PRIVACY.
And to add to all of that there was hammering and drilling going on above us on the top floor.
When we checked out at 3am thursday the person at the front desk a young man was sleeping and all groggy stared at us when we gave him the key to the room. After a few odd seconds he nodded and that was all. So we left.
We paid about 200 euros for two nights no breakfast included. A complete waste of money. Next time we will be going to another hotel.

Room Tip: Don't stay room 110 loud. dirty shower curtain. No air conditioning (late March almost April). Bring your own towel they only have sheets.
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank SG1087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2017 via mobile

Very well located and clean hotel. Rooms are quite basic but you get everything a 3 star hotel should give and beds are very comfortable,too. On the downside, there isn't much daylight in the room and airconditioner is quite noisy.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank AgnetaSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2017

The place is perfect, just a few minutes from St-Mark's square, it is a very quiet little alley, restaurants all around and just a stroll away from the vaporetto. Our room had a balcony, and at night you could see and listen to the gondolas passing, with some of the handlers signing... We would definitely go back to the same place if we were to go to Venice again. A bit pricey but worth every penny.

Room Tip: I cannot remember the room number but there is only one room with a balcony!
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank italiestlambert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2016

The location is great, being just 4 minutes walking from the famous St. Mark's Square. There is a big lit sign that says "Albergo Tiepolo," but note that the door to enter is in the alleyway at the end. There is always someone at the reception area, which is modern and clean.

Some rooms do have a view of the canal, but I unfortunately was unable to secure one. Rather, mine looked over the entryway.

The room itself is very basic, but modern and clean. You get an open air closet, a side table, a desk and a mini fridge with waters and soda (but not free). The bathroom is connecting, modern and very clean as well. Oddly, I think the door to my shower was removed, and thusly the water from the showerhead would shoot out into the bathroom area.

Daily cleaning service was lovely as well. Please note that even during November, the room rates were high (roughly $78 US a night), but the location again is very, very good. Unfortunately, breakfast is not included at this high rate (which most likely only goes up during the summer months). It is an extra 7 euros and you have to tell them ahead of time if you'd like to have it, which I didn't know on my first night there.

Overall, great location & clean accommodations made me satisfied, but my wallet was a bit unhappy.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank hemang88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews