We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Stay away from this place” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casanova ai Tolentini

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Casanova ai Tolentini
Ranked #196 of 463 Venice B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Stay away from this place”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

All I will say is this: mosquitos, maybe even bed bugs.

I was awoken in the middle of the night during our first night there and discovered two very red and very itchy bites on my right hand. The next night, I discovered a mosquito flying around in the bathroom and subsequently was bitten by something on my eyelid.

They only change the towels every three days and without knowing this, we left our towels on the floor for the maid to pick up. She did pick them up, and put them right back up on the rack! How disgusting. I would not recommend staying here!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tiffany M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tolentini, Direttore at Casanova ai Tolentini, responded to this review, 16 February 2012
Dear Guest,
We want to thank you for your review, we have been really surprise and astonished from what we red.
You are probably the only person in Venice as well as in all the world that has been bitten by a mosquitos in winter with temperature under the zero.

Venice it's a city on the lagoon, it means that during spring and summer we do have some mosquitos flying 'round, but as everyone know these flyer could not live in cold climates and from December to the end of February we do really have cold temperature, this year exceptionally cold....so it's really hard to me believe that you have been under the attack of "undefinite flynig object" ( since just some alien mosquitos cloud wear a special protection against snow ) , but let's get back to us, towels....during the chek in we advise , inside the room it's written on the back of the door and in a paper left over the desk ,and even in the web site there is a big warning that advise all the clients that towels and linnen are changed every three nights, and if they may need an extra change the price is 7 euro per person. There is a very important reasin for this, and i alredy explained in other answers i posted : we hire towels and linnen, we after three night ( and of course at every check out ) because differently the cost of room would have a natural increase... we are not a four or higher star hotel where they change ( maybe ) towels every night and where the price are 400% higher than our.
You booked a B&B and maids ( my wife ) when find humid towels left like rubbish in the floor ,bring it up and dry it in the heating or if they are really too dirty ( make up or other ) change it directly without charging the clients.

I do really think you should blame your self for the wrong choice you did you choose a B&B instead of a five star hotel ( but if you have to economize..... ) we offer a very high standard and we are really proud of our B&B and many many guests appreciate us as you can see from the rating we have in tripadvisor's site .

Alberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    94
    35
    13
    9
See reviews for
47
171
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
PDX
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

We stayed four nights in Venice and this B&B which is really a set of rooms away from the associated hotel and reception - thus you check in there and they walk you over to this other property a couple of blocks away. Clean, nice rooms with en-suite. We were there in October and still a couple of mosquitoes at night, but closing the windows and turning the air on solved that problem!

Popping down to the local cafe around the corner for coffee and croissant in the morning as the second "B" in "B&B" worked fine, and indeed I liked sitting by the canal outside to have my breakfast. Indeed better than most of the other "Breakfasts" at B&B's in Italy, which I think don't really attempt to do in the same way as in France or the UK where a large spread is usually the offering.

Martina at reception was very helpful (she let us use HER phone to call some friends we needed to meet up with in Venice) and welcomed us to a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indian Trail, North Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2011

My wife and I stayed here for one night before our cruise. When we checked in, the room we booked was under renovation and we were moved to one of their sister hotels. It was only a 5 minute walk (with luggage) from the square. The room was on the top floor of the bulilding and overlooked some shops and there was a cafe direclty outside with people constantly eating or just enjoying coffee. The room itself was very clean and perfect for getting some rest after a long day of travelling from the US. The bathroom was extremely nice, with a shower-head system of multiple jets at multiple levels and the entire room was tiled and clean. They gave us each a breakfast voucher for a cafe that was a short walk away, and having breakfast on the canal was a great touch. On the day of our cruise, we had a few hours to kill after checking out and prior to getting on the ship. The hotel receptionist took us to a building even closer to the square, locked our luggage in a room and gave us a key so we could come back, grab our bags, and head to the cruise terminal.
Overall, we had a great stay and the price was great compared to other places in the same area. I would certainly recommend this hotel as we had no problems at all.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mapkyc74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brazil
Level Contributor
45 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2011

This place was disappointing to us. I booked the Classic room at B&B Casanova ai Tolentini, that was way too expensive (120 euros p/n) for what they offer. First of all, the private bathroom is not ensuite - it´s in the middle of the hallway. It was a big and unpleasant surprise, since they do not warn you about it on their internet site, nor via email when you book. They should warn people about it, so they can choose if want to stay there. It´s very uncomfortable when you have to use it in the middle of the night or when you wake up in the morning... Even worse: the bathroom had a horrible smell, full of mold, with a musty ceiling - not advisable for people with respiratory allergies and unpleasant to everyone. There are no windows in the bathroom, so it gets humid and musty, and the towels never get dry - they only change towels every 3 days, so it was very unpleasant... I expected better for 120 euros a night. The room itself was very small, but OK. You have to pay upon arrival, before getting to see the room. The lobby is at their Hotel, about 5 minutes away. So you have to go with your luggage to the hotel first, pay it, and then go to the B&B - very uncomfortable with heavy luggage, lots of stairs. Location is at a nice part of Venice, but I wouln´t stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tolentini, Proprietario at Casanova ai Tolentini, responded to this review, 9 February 2012
Dear Guest,
first of all i want to thank you for the time you spent writing your review, as i always say ther's somthing you can do to improve your service and something you can learn from everybody.
I would like just underline some point from your report , it's tru the room you had ( the only one ) doesn't have an ensuite bathroom, non the less it's the door next to the entrance of the room, you do not have to cross hallway or corridors, just open your door and entre in the next one, it's a small bathroom but has all the necessities you may need. Beeing a B&B and not a 5 star hotel it's easy to understand that towels, linnen are changed every three nights as in every private house ( but if you drop it off to thefloor of the shower it' will be really hard they get dry ) , the price, compared to the standard we have it's absolutely right, we never rise the price since the 2005, in high season 120 euro included breakfast...check out in other structure.
Regarding the mold and the celing....well if they were as you described i'm sure we should never had the reviews we have.nor at the check in or after , we do have all the attention to our guests complain we just ask, to give us the chance to solve the problem in the meantime since we are alwayes on duty.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

Me and my husband stayed at this B&B in Sep 2011 for 2 days.The rooms were clean and neat and very comfortable.
As we wanted a place close to the Santa Lucia station, this B&B worked out to be perfect for us.We were just a bit unhappy with the breakfast , as the restaurant / cafe attached to the B&B did not offer much in terms of breakfast.
The receptionist allesio was very nice and he gave details of some good restaurants and cafes.
Overall a good stay !

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anushrik5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel ai Tolentini
Hotel ai Tolentini
#217 of 385 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Florida
Hotel Florida
#223 of 385 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
Santa Croce
Maria 3536
Maria 3536
#31 of 206 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
Ca' Doge
Ca' Doge
#109 of 463 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Santa Croce
Ca dei Polo
Ca dei Polo
#18 of 463 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
Santa Croce
Albergo Casa Peron
Albergo Casa Peron
#255 of 463 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casanova ai Tolentini? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casanova ai Tolentini

Property: Casanova ai Tolentini
Address: Fondamenta del Gafaro 3515, 30123 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #196 of 463 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,166 - ₹ 10,802
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casanova ai Tolentini is the Bed and Breakfast where you will find a perfect combination of comfort and discretion in an exclusive home-like environment, we offer the perfect atmosphere to appreciate the magic of the most romantic city in the world.Venice was home to adventurer and irresistible seducer Giacomo Casanova and a city where artists and poets from all over the world left their hearts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Casanova ai Tolentini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casanova Ai Tolentini Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing