We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (620)
Filter reviews
620 results
Traveller rating
299
229
61
27
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
299
229
61
27
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rialto mercato fish market rick steves no elevator vaporetto stop yogurt great location grand canal flights of stairs bedroom apartment shared bathroom private bath full kitchen air conditioning three nights rialto area third floor
Filter
Updating list...
120 - 125 of 620 reviews
Reviewed 19 January 2016

The hotel is hidden away and would be impossible to find if not for the perfect directions provided beforehand by the staff. Entering the hotel in general, and our room in particular, felt like stepping back in time - lots of big, sturdy period pieces everywhere. Our room was big, but the high, dark colored walls, combined with the heavy, dark furniture made me feel claustrophobic. There was a window in the room, though it initially looked like it wouldn't open, but because Venice was experiencing unusually high humidity during our visit, we kept the window closed most of the time. The A/C didn't work very well our first night, and when we inquired at the desk the next morning, the person behind the desk shrugged her shoulders and said that Venetians usually don't use the A/C.

We didn't spend a lot of time in the room because, well, we were in Venice! But after a long day out exploring the city, collapsing on a comfortable bed would have been a treat. But we found the bed to be very hard and the pillows very thin.

The best thing about the hotel was the open market just around the corner. Fantastic experience.

Not much was offered by way of breakfast: yogurt, croissants, juice.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Mitzi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2015

Pensione is a little difficult to find. Follow the instructions to the letter and you will find it. We did not stay at the Pension because we needed a third better for our adult daughter. They gave us an apartment next to St. Zullen's Perfect. Recommend it. You are right in the middle next to St Marks. Also have coffee and pastry at RISTORANTE ROSA ROSSA. There are at least two on the island. Have soup, pastry or coffee. Good prices, not touristy. We purchased a cake and it was great.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank CaliforniaDesert760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2015

We were very pleased with Hotel Pensione Guerrato in Venice. This hotel is near the Mercato stop for the Number 1 Vaporetto., This central location near the market in the 800 year old building made us feel like we really were in Venice. We had a most beautiful Murano chandler in our large room. I had never wanted to look at the ceiling of a hotel room before. The breakfast was plentiful. We were very glad we stayed there. We enjoyed eating in the nearby market restaurants. We stayed three nights before a cruise and it was easy to arrive by the train and take the vaporetto and again after our stay take the vaporetto to the cruise port.

Room Tip: All the rooms are quiet. Try for lower floor.
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2015

We stayed for 6 nights in November 2015. Rooms are large and comfortable, although not fancy or trendy. It is a great value. The hotel is a lovely historic building, very centrally located (near the Rialto Mercato vaporetto stop and the Rialto Bridge). Roberto, the owner and other hotel staff were very helpful with recommendations for restaurants, etc. Directions to the hotel were very clear and easy to follow. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank KathyfromSacramento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2015

lovely historic hotel in venice. somehow we always found our way back to the glowing sign on this tiny street in venice (which is a maze of streets, not sure how we actually found anything!). great location near the market and rialto bridge. nice breakfast and friendly staff. room was large and comfortable

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kaysue19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews