We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great home base for venice” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ca' Nigra Lagoon Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ca' Nigra Lagoon Resort
Ranked #132 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
boston
Level Contributor
115 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“great home base for venice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. it is located on the grand canal within walking distance of piazzale roma and the train station, really. the beauty of the place though is that it is quiet because there are green gardens on three sides, including the side fronting the canal. further, the entrance is located off a quiet town square. you can feel the solitude as soon as you walk in the front entrance into the main courtyard. the room was clean, neat and comfortable. the hotel obviously worked hard to incorporate venician design into the renovated spaces within the hotel and for the most part succeeded, especially in the upper floor common areas. it's a 30 minute walk to san marco square. my only complaint is the shower stall had no door or curtain and the bathroom as a whole was overly designed; it was quite manageable though.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vjplex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

450 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    262
    113
    42
    16
    17
See reviews for
44
314
14
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

If you're in the mood for a treat, this is the place.

We opted for Ca' Nigra for the second stop on our honeymoon in September, and we'd thoroughly encourage anyone to follow our footsteps. The room was stunning, hotel standards excellent, the place itself has real history and charm, and the staff made us very welcome indeed.

Breakfasting in the garden is a real pleasure in Venice. Anyone who's been there will recognise the paucity of green spaces, so to start the day with espresso, pastries and fruit in the sunshine is stunning - as real treat. Mind you, since Ca' Nigra offers drinks at sunset it's an absolute pleasure to start the evening with something nice watching the boats and gondolas cruise past before heading into the town.

The hotel is superhumanly easy to locate whether you arrive by train or plane - not even five minutes walking from the main station. And it's easy to spot from the bridges or the other side of the Grand Canal too, given the lush garden.

Location-wise it's a ten/fifteen minute wiggle through the Venetian alleyways to San Marco, but within easy immediate striking distance of a few pleasant (and more "local") campi; the staff recommended some great spots to us, not necessarily on the beaten track, but getting out isn't an issue if you're happy to wander and explore.

Get a room with a canalside view - opening the doors to your balcony over the water (spectacular Gran Canal or the smaller/quieter Rio Marin) never gets dull, and be sure to get a boat taxi. The hotel has it's own speedboat undeground picking up spot, which doesn't exactly make for a bad start to the evening.

Already saving to go back for an anniversary...

Room Tip: If you fancy breakfast in your room and can stretch to a junior suite, ask for the one with a little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank weekend_for_two
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

Desiring to avoid the crowds of the high season and the carnival, I stayed at this palazzo, or palace, four nights in January. While the rate of around 200 euro a night was steep, I think I got what I paid for.

I can recommend my room, #11, located on the first floor just past the reception desk. It was large with antique appointments and a modern sleek bathroom designed with Italian sensibilities. It was a pleasure to swing open the room’s windows and gaze out upon the little narrow canal that runs alongside the building, watching the gondolas and work boats gliding by just a few yards away. Best of all, the room has a private door that opens directly onto one of the resort’s two gardens.

As other reviewers have mentioned, this first floor room was noisy and I could hear voices from the reception desk area—a particular problem when one is trying to sleep. I think the management could solve this problem by installing a second set of soundproof doors in the room, or perhaps just a sliding acoustic curtain. There is certainly sufficient room for such an accommodation in the door’s large frame. My own solution was a traveler’s expedient: I pretended the people outside were my relatives chatting away in the kitchen.

I did a little investigation of the other rooms on the first floor: #10, adjacent to mine, is a little smaller and also has a direct door to the same private garden. #12 is directly across the reception area; #13, #14 and #15 are down a short hallway adjacent to the breakfast area; none have direct access to a garden. #15 seemed the best of the last lot and is adjacent to an exterior door that takes you out to yet another garden on the Grand Canal.

Breakfast consisted of high quality biscuits and croissants, and great coffee (I asked for “long” or American coffee) in the hotel’s charmingly designed breakfast area. Request their menu of additional paid-for choices (I had prunes and muesli) if it’s not on the table. After breakfast I wandered out onto the hotel’s front garden and watched the busy boat traffic on the Grand Canal.

Negotiating Venice’s narrow, maze-like streets can be challenging for the first-time traveler, so I was fortunate to reserve rooms within a 10-minute walk of the train station (Stazione Santa Lucia). When I left the station I turned left and walked a short distance through a busy area packed with small hotels and restaurants to a pedestrian bridge (Ponted. Scalzi) over the Grand Canal. (Be prepared to climb 40 modestly graduated steps to the top, then the same number down). Once off the bridge I walked straight ahead, taking the second left (the first is a dead end, as I discovered) and continued a short distance over a smaller bridge, then past an ancient church (S. Simeone Grande). I turned left at the first opportunity and found myself on an open square, or campo. The entrance to the hotel was just ahead to the left.

It occurred to me that travelers with heavy luggage might want to avoid the large bridge near the train station and take the vaporetto, or water bus, instead. So I also traced out that route, taking the #1 line at the Ferrovia stop, located in front of the train station. (Take the boat marked “Lido,” rather than “P. Le Roma,” which goes the other direction). I traveled one stop to the Riva Di Biasio station. Leaving the boat I turned right, walked to the second left and walked a few yards to the first right, which took me down a narrow street to the open square. Ca Nigra was straight ahead.

As the above remarks suggest, it would be prudent to obtain a good quality street map prior to arrival in Venice, which presents the traveler with a confusing maze of walkways. Be prepared for some backtracking, though: I did not find a single map that was really accurate. Even Google maps is confounded by the city’s idiosyncratic medieval sensibilities. Don’t be in a hurry to get anywhere.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RoamWriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

Great location! this is especially important in Venice. I got room 101, no Wifi signal in that room, I had to sit in the sitting room for internet, and its €5/3hs. When I asked the reception for recommendation for good seafood restaurants in Venice at around 3pm just after check in, they told me that restaurants in Venice close at 3pm, so I'd better eat at their hotel. :( they must think that I am from Mars! over all, they are not worth the money!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tian Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
136 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2011

We stayed here there for three nights, and found the rooms and service excellent. It's a grand old Venetian Palazzo, and you are in some ways transported back to another era. Our room had a history of the hotel and the man who built it. Interesting!

VERY close to the Rail Station, yet far enough away so you are very removed from incessant tourist foot traffic and associated noise.

Hotel is on the Grand Canal with the canal-front garden providing an excellent vantage point for the Regatta Storica and for some quiet relaxation time during the evening to see what was occurring on the Canal. Breakfast is served indoors and in the garden terrace. Breakfast is good; standard pastries, breads, coffee, and juice. Eggs and other items cost extra.

Service was excellent. Thanks to TripAdvisor, we knew to ask for a room that was above the ground floor. We were not disappointed. Terrazzo floors, antique furniture, modern bathroom...beautiful!

As mentioned in other review, "male manager during the week day was very stiff shirt and snobby." We found him helpful and courteous. A General Strike was called for a day we were to check out, and we thought our trains/planes mightbe cancelled. He assured us he'd held us find accomodation for another night should it become necessary. Also let us borrow umbrellas on a rainy day.

Cons: Internet connection (wifi) in room was spotty at best, and is not free. 5 Euros for 3 hours = 3 hours total useage, and not 3 contiguous hours. Wifi signal very strong in the public areas of the hotel. AC was too cold, we couldnt figure out how to reduce the cooling the temp and staff could not help with this either. But...hey...we had AC during a very hot and humid time, so this is *not* a complaint. Only other annoyance, we wanted a "nightcap" and coincidentally, another couple from the hotel did as well at the same time. Since the kitchen and food service were closed at the time (23:00), we had to wait for the front desk person to get some whiskies and grappas for us. ABout 10 minute wait...and the point is they made the effort to serve their guests. Great job!

Room Tip: Ask for a room above the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aginsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
B4 Bellini Venezia
B4 Bellini Venezia
#106 of 385 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,504 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel ai due Fanali
Hotel ai due Fanali
#188 of 385 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Carlton on the Grand Canal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
Hotel Antiche Figure
Hotel Antiche Figure
#9 of 385 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,435 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Canal Grande
Hotel Canal Grande
#11 of 385 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,884 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Continental Venice
Hotel Continental Venice
#162 of 385 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ca' Nigra Lagoon Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ca' Nigra Lagoon Resort

Property: Ca' Nigra Lagoon Resort
Address: Santa Croce 927 | Campiello San Simeone Grande, 30135 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#37 Business Hotel in Venice
#68 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#115 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,300 - ₹ 26,671
Hotel Class:4 star — Ca' Nigra Lagoon Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historical Venetian House located on the Grand Canal.22 junior suites differently furnished, where a combination of high-antique fornitures, original materials and far-east styles are mixed with taste.Two marvellous Italian gardens surrounds Ca’ Nigra Palace that overlook directly to the Grand Canal. Roses gardens lends itself to great charm parties and any kind of receivings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Nozio Netplan srl and Prestigia so you can book your Ca' Nigra Lagoon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ca` Nigra Lagoon Hotel Venice
Ca Nigra Lagoon Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing