We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm hospitality and great, quiet location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo
Ranked #12 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 August 2017

Overall: Good security, nice breakfast, friendly staff and great location

Very close to Ca'Pesaro and Palazzo Mocenigo, two nice city museums, good restaurants and the vaporetto stop just steps away to see the whole city.
We arrived late at night and were welcomed by the night clerk who helped us settle in and resolve our room location. He was friendly and helpful and it set the tone for the rest of the stay. The hotelier, Walter, welcomed us the next morning and we were greeted with a lovely breakfast, set in a pleasant courtyard, with the very best hot chocolate EVER! All of our questions were answered and suggestions for restaurants offered as well as walking directions throughout the stay. Our room was perfect, with a nice closet and bureau and a quite comfy bed, with a very modern and large bathroom. Each day there was a pitcher of cold water out on the counter for refreshment after a long day of sightseeing. Best of all, the hotel was only 50 meters from the vaporetto stop so transportation around the city was very accessible. The hospitality was very friendly, and I give it a big shout out.

Room Tip: If you are willing to walk steps, the rooms on the first and second floors have better views, but I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank ledasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,720)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

48 - 52 of 2,720 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2017

We stayed 3 nights here before a cruise and really enjoyed it. Both Walter (pronounced "Valter") and Sandro (short for Alessandro) are wonderful hosts of this small hotel.

Why so good? Start with the location. It's about a one minute level (no crossing over bridges) walk from the San Stae canal stop. As we walked around Venice, we saw many other tourists lugging their suitcases up and down the innumerable bridges crossing the canals. If you are coming from the airport, you can take the Alilaguna vaporetto orange line. 7.50 Euros one-way (a bit less if you buy your ticket voucher on the Internet ahead of time and exchange for the ticket at the booth on the dock (not the airport terminal). When you get off the boat, just walk straight down the main street and you'll find the entrance at #1985 on the left. You do not need to follow the sign down the small alleyway to the left (that was the main entrance until two years ago). The San Stae stop is also served by Line 1 of the ACTV public water taxi. If you buy a multi-day pass on ACTV (20 Euros for one day unlimited rides, 30 for two, 40 for three), you can get around greater Venice, see the islands, or in our case, get to the San Basilo cruise port. ACTV also has an airport service, but it takes longer than the Alilaguna. You can also take a private water taxi up to the hotel's canal entrance, though the private water taxis are expensive. If you want to walk, most places you would want to go as a tourist are within 15 or 20 minutes.

The rooms are spacious (we had a double superior room #54 on the "first" (not ground) floor of the main hotel building (there is now also an annex), with good air conditioning (a must during the hot/humid summer), TV, desk, nicely renovated bathroom, sofa/chairs, etc. The decor is very traditional elegant Venetian - not a typical Western Marriott/Hilton. There is no elevator, but the staff will gladly bring your luggage upstairs if you need help. As throughout Italy, irons are not allowed in the room for safety reasons - that was the only thing my wife noticed. But I think you can either use one downstairs, or perhaps pay the staff to iron (we didn't do either of those because it wasn't a big deal).

The included breakfast is from 8 am to 10 am. The outside dining area is charming, and there's also an indoor area. There is a huge selection of breakfast breads, pastries, ham, salami, cheese, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, fruit, biscuits, and more. Order any coffee you like - espresso, cappuccino, latte, etc.

The WiFi signal is strong, but we found at night, Skype audio only worked intermittently. I'm guessing that perhaps other guests were streaming video and using up a lot of bandwidth. We did buy a local sim card, so we could talk to people back home via Skype or regular voice call that way (e.g., Wind sells a tourist plan that includes 100 minutes of local or international calls and 2GB of data over 28 days), or we had them call the hotel.

All of the staff here are very pleasant and courteous. We would definitely stay here again when in Venice next.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank castriker888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2017

We have recently stayed at this excellent hotel with our daughters. It was the second time and were fortunate enough to have the Junior Suite. The hotel has recently been renovated with more rooms added in this amazing old building. Easy access to the vaperetto, restaraunts and train station. It is located in a quiet part of Venice but it still has that venitiann vibe. We stayed there for five nights and had the best time. All the staff are wonderful, breakfast great, nothing is too much trouble.

Thanks for a great stay we will be back.

Room Tip: If travelling with kids the junior suite is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank artylavo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017 via mobile

An Italian gem. The hotel is very close to the San Stae vaporetta stop. Once inside you are immediately welcomed by Sondro, Walter and their courteous staff. The rooms are a good size, are beautifully decorated and the housekeeping staff keep them pristine. Nothing is too much trouble to Walter or Sondro who booked restaurant reservations and arranged transportation for us. The breakfast in the quaint courtyard is very good especially the coffee and the warm croissants. This hotel should have a five star rating and we hope to return soon.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017

Still the only hotel for us in Venice - since 'discovering' Al Ponte Mocenigo in 2005. We have stayed 8 times in all seasons of the year, in the main building and both annexes, and have always been delighted as have numerous friends to whom we have recommended it.
The friendly, helpful owners Sandro and Valter and all the staff have made every visit wonderfully memorable.
All the rooms are beautifully decorated with large, comfortable beds and excellent bathrooms (especially the spa bath!) as well as heating/air conditioning as appropriate. Some have balconies with canal and courtyard view. The junior suites are our favorites.
The breakfasts are superb - meats, cheeses, fruit, pastries (sweet and savoury), cereals, yoghurt, good selection of teas and the best coffee and croissants!
So very easily accessible to vaporetti (San Stae 2 min away) and Alilaguna to airport as well as 5-7 minute walk to Rialto or Ferrovia and 20-25 minutes to San Marco. Quiet neighborhood (good for sleeping) and selection of restaurants, gelaterie, a supermarket and shops within 5 minutes walk. We will return again, and again.

Room Tip: Canal view and junior suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Rory-Linda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Hotel Antiche Figure
#8 of 387 in Venice
3,916 reviews
Hotel Canal Grande
#9 of 387 in Venice
2,182 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#2 of 387 in Venice
1,998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Castello
Ca' dei Dogi
Ca' dei Dogi
#18 of 387 in Venice
862 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#47 of 387 in Venice
1,935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo

Address: S. Croce 2063, 30135 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Polo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Venice
#8 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#16 Business Hotel in Venice
Price Range: ₹ 6,505 - ₹ 12,755 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Ponte Mocenigo Venice
Al Ponte Mocenigo Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing