We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not use this company for the Gondola ride for Two with Prosecco or their booking agent Isango”
Review of Venice Events

Venice Events
Book In Advance
More Info
US$ 83.79*
and up
Private Tour: Venice Gondola Ride Including the Grand Canal
More Info
US$ 94.83*
and up
Absolute Venice Walking Tour with Skip the Line Golden Basilica and Doges Palace
More Info
US$ 61.22*
and up
Gondola Ride and Golden Basilica Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Venice Events is a British-Italian company based in the heart of Venice, founded in 1995. Over the years of familiarity with this country and its culture, our team have built up extensive experience in organising wide range of events: Tours, cultural excursions, private customized tours in Veneto and Friuli, transfers, wine tastings, weddings, honeymoons, romantic breaks, conferences and more, both in Venice and throughout Italy. All Tours, unless specified, are operated by Venice Events! We operate all our own tours, you book with us, you travel with us! That's not true for the majority of websites on the internet that are actually selling other company's tours. No standing-in-line to see the must-see attractions of Italy! Venice Events makes reservations and pre-books tickets so you will never have to spend your vacation standing-in-line to see the must-see sights of Italy. Venice Events regularly reserve spaces for their clients to enter ahead of the public lines. Fully Licensed Guides, Fully Licensed Drivers & Vehicles We prefer to offer the best tours we can offer, with professional guides who have backgrounds in Art & History, who have dedicated their lives to provide clients with memories that will last them a lifetime, and who have the ability to entertain all members of the family.
Reviewed 9 October 2017

I purchased and reserved a Gondola ride for Two with Prosecco - Venice for Sept 18 2017 at 6:00pm, as a birthday gift for my daughter and her friend who were in Venice for 3 days.
They arrived 15 mins before start time as instructed on the voucher, at the meeting point however nobody seemed to want to assist them. The Gondoliers were just sitting/standing around in the huts chatting and when they started asking questions & showed the booking voucher, were told the Gondola rides was not going ahead and to come back tomorrow. No l reason was given other than it was the last ride of the day.
It was not not possible for them to come back the next day as they already had travel plans in place to head to Florence the next day.
We contacted the booking agent Isango and requested a refund, however it was declined as they claimed the information we had provided did not match the information of the local operators, Venice Events sas. They claimed my daughter must've been late and could have phoned them if she was lost. She was not late or lost but was in fact at the designated meeting point, so why would she call? They said some were going out and others being told the same, come back tomorrow.
In other words they either did not read our complaint or completely discredited my 15 mins before start timediaughter and her her version of the events.
We are extremely disappointed as they have taken our money, and not provided anything, except left us with bad feelings and they obviously have a complete disregard for the reputation of the Gondolas on the Canals of Venice.

2  Thank KSW2765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renzo F, Direttore at Venice Events, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Dear Customer,
Our assistant was at the meeting point from 5.45pm and waited for the clients up until 6.15. She met several couples and sent them off on the Gondola. She was holding an orange umbrella and a sign with the name of the tour on it and was the only assistant at the gondola station. The clients must of arrived after she left or they went to another Gondola station.
We did not receive a call from the clients to say they were lost or arriving late even though
they had our office number and also emergency number. We were charged in full by the supplier (Gondoliers) for this service.
Our booking conditions are quite clear: we do not feel that we should refund the clients for this tour as it is there responsibility to arrive at the meeting point on time.
Kindest Regards


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (210)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 210 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2017 via mobile

This was one of my favorite things we did while in Venice for a few days. If you have the chance, do it! Our guide, Francheska was amazing and gave us interesting information throughout the tour. Her English was really great and she was very funny (making jokes throughout the tour). Best tour guide ever! If you get your tickets on here and through Bucintoro Viaggi tour agency, ask for Francheska! I could not recommend this tour more!

NOTE: make sure you stay near the guide or you will lose reception the radio picks up on. It will sound very fuzzy if you're too far away from the guide.

Thank Melanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enrica G, Public Relations Manager at Venice Events, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Dear Melanie, thank you for you kind review. Hope to see you soon again!
Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2017

This was our second time in Venice and decided nevertheless to take a ride. We talked the gondolier down to 70 Euro but decided to share with a another couple for what was supposed to be a 40 history lesson. As it turned out the fellow cut the ride by 10 minutes and the only talking he did was with a buddy gondolier. This to say that in Venice a gondola ride is the luch of the draw. Negotiate beforehand and hope for the best there is no recourse and it's sad when a romantic experience is a flop.

1  Thank Jaxhere2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renzo F, Front Office Manager at Venice Events, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2017

the gondola service in venice runs for 30 min and the price is not negotiable, it is fixed by townhall and it's the same in all gondola station in venice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017

We booked a private walking tour a little bit away from the main sights and the masses of tourists behind and beyond San Marco - and it was a very good decision!

Alessandro was a knowledgeable, friendly guide who introduced us to some of the hidden sights amongs the alleyways and canals, while also telling us about life in Venice today (which increasingly means life in Mestre for the locals)

He spoke very good English, made a real effort to involve our kids as well and provided lots of historical background.

Tour was rounded off with a gondola ride around the Canale Grande and the biggest ice cream south of the Alps - the former being included in the price of the tour, the latter sadly not :-)

Not cheap, but heavily recommended for anyone interested learning more about this magical city

1  Thank Germaninexile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renzo F, Public Relations Manager at Venice Events, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Thank you for your review, we hope to see you soon again!
Enrica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017

We bought the 2 hour tour of St Mark's Basilica and the Doges Palace. We got an excellent guide, Mose, that gave us a great experience. The skip the line advantage saved us many hours this day! Highly recommended.

Before going on this, leave your bags (even small backpacks) at the hotel since they are not allowed in the basilica.

Since we were so satisfied with the 2 hour tour we continued with a 1 hour boat tour in the evening. It was a very hot night and the only way to get some fresh air on the boat was standing up in the rear end of the boat, which made us not hear the guide. There was room inside to sit, but it was so hot there. The tour itself was good, but we didn´t get the value we wanted from it.

2  Thank gurell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Venice Events also viewed

 
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Venice Events? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing