We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Venice Events
from US$ 59.60
More Info
from US$ 47.00
More Info
from US$ 36.70
More Info
from US$ 143.20
More Info
Reviews (317)
Filter reviews
289 results
Traveller rating
158
53
31
15
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
158
53
31
15
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gondola ride walking tour grand canal doge's palace day trip hour tour great tour st mark's basilica st marks bridge of sighs water taxi skip the line tours murano prosecco prison
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 289 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked this tour to experience the best of Venice in 1 day. We arrived for the Gondola ride and met another wonderful couple from California. We ended up spending the day with this couple and formed a friendship. The Gondola ride is a must do while in Venice, but don't expect too much. The Gondolier does not talk much or give any commentary. He paddled us through a back canal and then back to where we started in 30 minutes.

The next part of the day was a guided tour of St Mark's Basilica and Doge's Palace. St Mark's was beautiful but we did not get much time inside to explore and look around. It seemed that we were rushed through the church and I would have enjoyed more time to take in the beauty. After St Marks, we had a guided tour of Doge's Palace. We had more time at Doge's Palace and the bridge of Sigh to look around and take pictures.

Last but not least, we had a 1 hour guided boat tour through the grand canal. This was definitely the highlight of the day and of the day. It was amazing to see Venice from the Grand Canal and see how unique it truly is in the world.

Overall, this tour offered many different experiences and I would recommend it if short on time in Venice.

2  Thank gunther311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The tour group picked the WORST meeting spot for this tour. We arrived early, but there were about 1,000 other people meeting in the same spot for other tours, and our two "hosts" were more interested in looking cute, and they were not holding up their sign! So it took us a while to find them. We tried to call the number provided, and the operator was no help, and eventually hung up on us. So we just kept walking around asking each group for our tour and we eventually found them about 1 minute before they were taking off, and they were angry at us for being late!?!

Our actual tour guide was knowledgeable, but he was super drab & boring. He talked in monotones the entire time, like he was reading from a book. He did not engage the group at all. He just kept droning on and on.

1  Thank Angela O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We got lost on our way to the meeting point (the directions provided were not very clear), so we showed up late. Admittedly that was our fault that we were late, but we called the number and they were not able to accommodate any alternatives, so that was $400 down the drain. When we walked away, we walked by another gondola stand that was doing private rides for 80 Euro for 30 min and we were able to hop right in and get a private ride for 2 people. It wasn't for as long but it was SO much less expensive than this. I would not recommend pre-booking this as there are gondola stands everywhere in Venice. To me this booking seemed like a tourist trap.

1  Thank Amy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Our guide was fantastic! Told us so much about all the family homes and the history of Venice. She answered all our questions and the gondola ride was on a less busy route compared to the stands near the station for example. Would definitely recommend!

Thank Francesca w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We enjoyed this tour very much. We especially loved our tour guide for St. Mark's and Doges Palace. Her English was perfect and she had many interesting stories to share.

Thank FrequentFlier640568
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

6 of us took this tour. Over all the experience was interesting and fun. All our guides did and excellent job of informing us about history of St. Mark, Doges Palace etc.. Very pleased with the service we received. Our first tour was the gondolas. The only way to see the small canals. Very cool. We then had a break of 1-1/2 hours which was nice. We could just walk around and see the area around St. Marks. Next was the tour of St. Marks and Doges Palace. It was beautiful. Then we had a break of about 2 hours to get lunch before doing a water taxi ride around the Grand Canal. Having breaks between tours is a exceptional idea. This tour was wonderful. I had been to Venice before with out a tour. A tour adds so much to the experience. I would recommend the this tour company.

Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Maria Rosa, our booking agent, was wonderful! She opened the office for us on a Sunday morning (without an advance appointment) and spent at least 30 minutes of her day off searching and finding a boat and a private English speaking, but native Venetian, tour guide! Gianni was a delight and gave us a lovely, informative tour of the history and architecture of Venice, complete with a complementary bottle (from Maria Rosa) of Prosecco! We saw Venice from sunset to gloriously lit evening, and had a wonderful experience! Thank you, Maria Rosa and Gianni!!

Thank K R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A group of six of us shared one Gondola we paid 20 euro each it was a rip off .Didn't see much only smelly canals only took about 20 - 25 mins at the end of trip there was a hat for tips think we paid enough.

1  Thank Hollymay13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I really enjoyed our trip. It is well thought out - timing is perfect to see the San Marco Basilica at its best as well as the Clocktower. The guide spoke excellent English and was hilarious. Yes, the gondola ride is 6 people on one boat but you still get the experience.
Well worth it!

Thank Mari T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

the one hour gondola ride was amazing. We had a private guide who was friendly and knowledgeble of the Venetian culture and lifestyle. The gondolier, Matias, was frindly and also contributed to the experience. Worth every cent and highly recommended with a private guide.

Thank CG1a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews