We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Wonderful experience!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bauer Palazzo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bauer Palazzo
Ranked #66 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

This was my husband and my final stop on a trip through Italy. Definitely saved the best for last. This is the place to splurge on your hotel. I highly recommend this hotel...worth every penny. The staff was friendly and helpful and not snobby or pretentious. They upgraded our room upon arrival at no charge. We had a junior suite with a view of a side canal and partial view of the grand canal...amazing! The breakfast is incredible...a huge variety and what a beautiful setting...eating on the roof-top, open-air lounge with 360 degree view of the city. They arranged a free tour (and transportation) to Murano for a glass-blowing demonstration. Cannot say enough great things about this place. We had no problems and would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AggieOrtho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BauerHotels, Responsabile reception at Bauer Palazzo, responded to this review, 4 December 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Bauer Il Palazzo.
It gives us great pleasure to learn that you enjoyed most aspects of your stay, and we do hope to welcome you back to The Bauers soon where you can further explore our luxury amenities and restaurant.


Best regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

802 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    539
    170
    54
    20
    19
See reviews for
149
485
14
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

Arrived at this wonderful hotel for a three nights and four days holiday. When expressed my dissatisfaction with the room, I was referred to Massimo who immediately changed my room to a fantastic value alternative. The new room was about 50 sqm in size, fantastic tall ceiling, and everything about it was spacious and grand. Facilities (particularly Gym) were excellent in comparison to other grand lux hotels in Venice and breakfast was just superb and served on a beautiful terrace overlooking the canale grande.

Room Tip: Decide if you care more about the grandeur of the room or the view from the window. Rooms with a vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank antonioburla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BauerHotels, Responsabile reception at Bauer Palazzo, responded to this review, 4 December 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for having chosen the Bauer Il Palazzo, and we are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay here and that we having been able to meet your expectations.

We would be glad to welcome you soon back again at the Bauer!


Best regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linwood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

I stayed at this hotel after spontaneously deciding to stay the night in Venice while visiting on vacation with my father. I was amazed at how accommodating the staff was for a walk-in reservation. Not only did the helpful gentleman at the desk "Massimo" take the time to show us different rooms (We were unsure if the rooms were worth the price), but they let us pick the one we wanted at the end.

The room we chose was amazing. The walls were lined with elegant fabric, and the view was to die for. Overall, it was very ritzy.

To top it all off, the breakfast spread in the morning was great, and they had both Italian and American cuisine.

I must say, I will be back on my next Venetian visit in April!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidojs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BauerHotels, Responsabile reception at Bauer Palazzo, responded to this review, 4 December 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to The bauer Il Palazzo.
We are delighted you spent a good stay with us and you appreciated the beauty of our hotel and its services.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.


Best regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

Our first visit to Venice and a 25th anniversary treat so we booked a room with a view at the Bauer II Palazzo with Elegant Resorts. The arrival and transfer by private water taxi was fantastic along the grand canal, although the private Bauer II jetty (and reception) was closed due to refurbishment work. Nevertheless the welcome at the Bauer's more contemporary reception instead was warm and efficient. We were shown to our room which had a view but not much.. a tiny glimpse of the grand canal and a large scaffold clad building opposite which was clearly undergoing refurbishment. Still it was a very grand room (102), spacious, comfortable and warm. The bathroom was enormous, although marble floors and the hotel provided slippers are not a great combination and I fell quite badly on the first morning. On the first night we reported a leaking toilet, which was promptly seen by the maintenance man that evening who assured us it would be fine and he would fix when we were out the next morning. He did and replaced the toilet seat too for some reason... The breakfast room on the top floor of the Bauer II is a real treat. Panoramic views to St Marks and the Grand Canal were stunning and weather was amazing. Breakfast was a good mix of fruit, cereal, cold meats, cheese, pastries, bread and some hot dishes. Prosecco was a welcome added bonus on tap and helped get our anniversary off to a great start. The staff were friendly and like the reception very quick to remember our room number without us having to say it everytime. Coffee was great... We didn't eat in the Pisis restaurant - apart from the final morning when the breakfast room upstairs was closed for refurbishment. This gave us a chance to enjoy the canal views from ground floor. The dinner menu looked very rich both in culinary terms and financial terms. Starters around 35 euros and mains up to 48 euros... with food like beef cheeks.. We went to explore the gym and spa which seemed to be closed. We weren't bothered so didn't make a fuss or ask.. and our previous thoughts of the rooftop jacuzzi disappeared when we discovered our bathtub had its own jacuzzi jets. We did enjoy a cocktail in the B Bar with live piano music and a few hot vol au vents but it wasn't as special as it could have been. The location is fantastic though a few minutes from St Marks and well connected to good shopping and eating locations including the opera. In January of course some were closed for refurbishment, but they were reopening as we left in time for carnival it would appear. All in all it was a real treat, but there were just a few things for a 5 star hotel which it didn't quite seem to get right.

Room Tip: Ask in advance for a room with a view apparently, but I'm not sure whether our view was that gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scotscowgirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BauerHotels, Responsabile reception at Bauer Palazzo, responded to this review, 4 December 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Bauer Il Palazzo.
It gives us great pleasure to learn that you enjoyed most aspects of your stay and in particular the professional and attentive service you received. Your feedback is highly valued and appreciated as this is the best way for us to improve our service offering.

We truly hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Bauers in the next future!


Best regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richardson, Texas
Level Contributor
121 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

Beautiful Old World 2 Room Suite with Balcony on the Grand Canal. Classic Modern Bathroom with separate shower and spa tub which felt great after a day of exploring. Authentic Art which gave the Living Room a Rich Quality. Breakfast in Settimo Cielo was heavenly (view on the Grand Canal, Food, Drink & Service included) Passing gondola's added to the ambiance. Staff - Good to Us! Oh the Memories :)

Room Tip: Be specific on the type of room and view that you desire and communicate it to them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fromtex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BauerHotels, Responsabile reception at Bauer Palazzo, responded to this review, 4 December 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for having chosen the Bauer Il Palazzo, and we are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay here and that we having been able to meet your expectations.

We would be glad to welcome you soon back again at the Bauers!


Best regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Bauer Hotel
Bauer Hotel
#72 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,463 reviews
San Marco
Baglioni Hotel Luna
Baglioni Hotel Luna
#39 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,439 reviews
Castello
Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
San Marco
The Westin Europa & Regina, Venice
Castello
Hotel Londra Palace
Hotel Londra Palace
#22 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bauer Palazzo? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bauer Palazzo

Property: Bauer Palazzo
Address: San Marco 1459, 30124 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Venice
#46 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#47 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#66 Family Hotel in Venice
Price range (per night): ₹ 17,937 - ₹ 37,327
Hotel Class:5 star — Bauer Palazzo 5*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bauer Il Palazzo is one of Venice's most luxurious hotel. It is an authentic 18th century palazzo with the most spectacular vantage point in Venice - close to St Mark's Square, facing the Grand Canal and overlooking St Mark's basin. The 82 luxurious rooms including 38 suites, many with balconies or terraces, have been recently restored with the finest fabrics, gilt mirrors, carved stucco ceilings and Murano glass chandeliers. Located on the top floors of the historic palace guests have the option of staying in one of Bauer Il Palazzo's re-designed rooms or executive suites. The interior design concept of the guest accommodations on the 6th & 7th & 8th floors is quite distinct; each room is decorated in a unique sleek style, with comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Prestigia and Agoda so you can book your Bauer Palazzo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bauer Il Palazzo Venice
Bauer Il Palazzo Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing