We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (83)
Filter reviews
83 results
Traveller rating
56
14
1
4
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
56
14
1
4
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshard boiled eggssmall canalfresh fruitfirst floorcroissantsrialto bridgeslipperscenturycappuccinobedroomsquare
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 83 reviews
Reviewed 11 February 2018

Location good for getting to St Marks Square in C16 palace overlooking the square on one side and a canal on the other.We had 2 large rooms on first floor (there is a lift) so loads of room and wardrobe space. Take slippers - the floor is cold but the heating was efficient despite the large size of the rooms. Huge bathroom whirlpool bath but only hand held shower. Breakfast was adequate tiny pastries, bread with a selection of packed jams, pate, cheeses, a yoghurt, fruit juice and coffee.
Wifi worked well.
Staff were kind and very willing to help me find my lost bag -we communicated via google translate as they have very little English. I will stay here again as it saves money and time on transportation from outside the city.

Room Tip: It is located on first floor with a lift.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennymj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2018

Huge room on the first floor of a house from 16th century. Unusually for Venice it has a lift which saves the carrying of suitcases over steep staircases. Had a very nice look to one small canal. bathroom bigger than expected. Lots of wardrobe and other space for storing things. excellently working WiFi. Charming uneven floor. As I know Venice habits, I brought my own Slippers as the floor is quite cold. Also brought my own shampoo etc. as in the description there is no mention of it.

Breakfast is not sooo great, as no buffet, but packaged stuff. But it is sufficient and the cooffee is great. One could also get some Croissant or so, but I do not like sweet things for breakfast.

The staff is extremely nice, but some do not speak much English.

\the Location is great, in the middle between Campo de San Marco and Rialto. In ca 150 m, on salizzada di San Lio there is a Coop shop where one can buy food stuff.

Ice cream parlour Basium in the Basement of the same house has some extraordinary ice creams to offer. Campo di |Sta Maria Formosa on the back of the b&B is one of the biggest places within old town Venice

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claudia-M K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018 via mobile

We were really excited for our stay at B&B San Firmino and visiting Venice. We had booked the hotel 11 months in advance! We chose the hotel because the location would allow us to make the most of our short time in Venice. We are in the middle of a year away and both have very heavy backpacks. After a challenging 30min walk through crowds we arrived at the B&B about 12:00. The receptionist didn't try to explain anything to us, she just shook her head and started phoning people. Eventually the phone was passed to us and a lady from booking.com told us our booking had been cancelled the day before but she didn’t know why. She said they had tried to call us. We did have a missed call (at 13:50 less than 24 hours before check in) but they hadn't bothered to leave a voice message. I was desperate for the toilet but the receptionist wouldn't allow me to use a bathroom even though she was preparing the rooms for check in.
Thankfully booking.com were really helpful and found us another hotel but after waiting around at B&B San Firmino, waiting for a new hotel and getting there to check in, we lost the best part of our afternoon.
I think it's dreadful that in such a busy place like Venice an accommodation will cancel your booking less than 24 hours before check in. Especially when we had booked it so far in advance. They blatantly had a longer booking request so cancelled ours. The receptionist was unfriendly and unhelpful and we lost an afternoon because of it. I would not recommend B&B San Firmino.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
7  Thank Philippa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2017 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights at the San Firmino in November. The staff were very friendly and the location was great. However the breakfast was poor (although a nice cup of coffee) there was no fresh fruit or eggs that some reviews have stated, just tiny pastries, bread with jams and a yoghurt. The floor to our bedroom was extremely dirty with lots of dust, certainly hadnt seen a brush or mop in a good while and we found the last visitors tooth floss under the table, not particularly pleasant. I think the family room we stayed in wasnt as pretty as some of the others looked. We also had an early departure but there was no offer of any breakfast on our last morning, it might have been nice to have been left some pastries or fruit juice. Overall a pleasant stay just let down on cleanliness and breakfast.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank LesleyAnne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017

This B&B you walk into the past. History of old. Grace and elegance. We had a canal view and the Venice life is truly to be experienced. The breakfast was excellent. The hosts friendly and always had a smile on their faces. Venice experience it and loose yourself in time.

Room Tip: The room depends on the guest. We had the canal view and it was amazing.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kwessence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews