We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel”
Review of Duodo Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Duodo Palace Hotel
Ranked #69 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
kent
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel”
Reviewed 15 March 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in February, We arrived by private water taxi and it was a amazing experiance, definatly worth the money! So we was dropped off at the hotel and didn't have to worry about trying to find it!! When we checked it we was told that our room wasn't quite ready but they had upgraded us to a deluxe room on the top floor! The room was very nice quite large with fantastic views of Venice.

The hotel is in a great location, walking distance from all the main attractions, shops and restaurants are also close by.

We was there during the carnival and it was great to see everyone dressed up but it was very busy!

There is a lovely little bar area at the hotel and we would always stop for a drink before we went out for the evening, a little bit pricey 10 euros for a gin & tonic!!

Breakfast in the hotel was nice, cerals, ham, cheese etc

I would recommend this hotel to my friends and family and would definatly stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sparkle18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duodo, Direttore at Duodo Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 21 March 2012
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your review; we are very happy to read our Guests satisfy of their stay at Duodo Palace Hotel. We do hope that, reading your review, guests in the future will sing with a lower tone !!!
Kind regards
Sebastiano Cagnin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,483 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    825
    515
    103
    27
    13
See reviews for
197
978
15
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex
Level Contributor
127 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

The hotel is ideally placed - easy walk to San Marco and St Angelo water bus stops. The staff are so friendly and welcoming. Breakfast is a good choice and comments about it not being so, are picky! Our room (#206) had a canal view and was clean and comfortably. Only had a small issue on one morning - the bathroom for room 205 protrudes into the corner of the room and on our first morning we were woken by a lady with a voice to kill at 100 paces, singing loudly in the bath! Thankfully they obviously left on our first day and were replaced by nice quiet people! The drinks in the bar are very generous measures - trebles at least! All in all - would heartily recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Looking at the floor plan for the second floor, I would say room 207 looks the best to have but 206...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CrocksWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duodo, Direttore at Duodo Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2012
Dear Guest,
thank you for your honest review about our breakfast and our bar service. We try to keep a higher quality of products and choices on our buffet and we think our price list in the bar is really conveninet comparing what is outside the Hotel.
Kind regards.
Sebastiano Cagnin - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We booked a double room which was a decent size with ensuite bathroom. Both were clean, tidy and in good repair. The staff were friendly and helpful.

The location of the hotel is excellent. Very close to La Fenice Opera House and half way between St. Mark's Square and The Rialto Bridge and an easy walk to both.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank YNWYM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duodo, Direttore at Duodo Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your nice review. We do hope to have you here in our Hotel for your next trip to Venice. We will give you our best attention as usual !
Kind regards
Sebastiano Cagnin - General Mgr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cannock
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We liked this hotel very much. The rooms were most spacious and our room had an elaboratly painted ceiling. You didnt get a very friendly atmosphere in the breakfast room. The waiter almost made us feel uncomfortable as he didnt even say grazi or prago like everyone else in Italy. There wasnt much of a selection of food either, simply cornflakes, bowls of fruit and toast or croisants. The coffee took the fur off the back of your tongue too. But for a convenient place to stay, a short walk past the antique shops to either St Marks Square or the Rialto Bridge made it the place to stay as it was away from the hustle and bustle of the centre of Venice therefore in the height of summer you would be assured of a peaceful stay which you wouldnt get in the centre.

Room Tip: We stayed in January 2011 which means that as it is a quiet time fo year, if you dont like your init...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WizardsRUs2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffs
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

This hotel is everything you would expect from these reviews. A litle gem. However dont fall for the free trip to Murano. I wish I had read those reviews before our visit. Yes, you feel really special being whisked off from the hotel in your own water taxi, a private guide to a 5 minute glass blow in the factory then the hard sell begins. You are then left outside to catch the waterbus home.

The hotel must be party to this rip off.... beware, leaves a bad taste in the mouth.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jan6794
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duodo, Direttore at Duodo Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your recent review; we are deeply sorry about your experience in Murano. We organize the free excursion to avoid problems to the Guests going to Murano. Sometime problem begins with the transportation and we prefere to offer a nice complimentary service and not "make feel you special being WHISKED OFF from us in our own water-taxi". Concerning the hard sell, you should understand that where they make glass they usually sell it. If you are not interested you always have the chance to say: NO THANK YOU! An important thing: the free tour is One-way. We tell to all the guests; this is an opportunity to cross over to Burano using the public water-bus or take a chance to visit all the island, instead of coming back at a certain time. You have to understand that it's too hard to wait for all the guests to organize a return boat...
Sincerely
Sebastiano Cagnin - General Mgr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Saturnia & International
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#51 of 385 in Venice
1,797 reviews
San Marco
Palazzo Paruta
Palazzo Paruta
#71 of 385 in Venice
871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Concordia
Hotel Concordia
#72 of 385 in Venice
977 reviews
San Marco
Hotel a La Commedia
Hotel a La Commedia
#30 of 385 in Venice
1,986 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Becher
Hotel Becher
#59 of 385 in Venice
908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duodo Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duodo Palace Hotel

Property: Duodo Palace Hotel
Address: Calle Minelli San Marco 1887, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Family Hotel in Venice
#48 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#61 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,464 - ₹ 22,733
Hotel Class:4 star — Duodo Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of Venice, Duodo Palace Hotel is set within a historical building, and has been beautifully renovated and restored to create a new four-star hotel in Venice. Saving some of the most important architectural elements from this 600 year-old palazzo, including the frescoed ceilings in each bedroom, the hotel has a truly Venetian feel. Literally located a stone’s throw from La Fenice, the hotel could not be more centrally located. You can stroll to San Marco Square, the Rialto Bridge, or the Accademia, in 10 minutes or less. The top floor accommodations offer sweeping views of the city’s rooftops and major monuments. Glance below and you can watch a gondola slowly glide by your window. Offering direct access to the hotel from the canal, your water taxi can drop you at the door of the Duodo Palace Hotel where you will be warmly greeted by the staff. The hotel’s 38 bedrooms, adorned with beautiful Venetian fabrics, offer the modern amenities required by today’s traveler, including fully marble baths and plush towels. Relax in the cozy bar, or enjoy a book in the study that has the remains of a piscine - an ancient well - where you can almost hear the voices from the past as they share the day’s gossip Welcome to Venice ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Duodo Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Duodo Palace
Duodo Palace Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing