We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could have been worse”
Review of Villa Igea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Villa Igea
Ranked #186 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Bronx, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Could have been worse”
Reviewed 30 November 2011

My wife and I stayed at Villa Igea during our honeymoon in Italy. The good news is that the room was clean and the location was amazing just a couple of minutes from St Marks Square. That said, the room was small and the bathroom and shower were even smaller. We weren't thrilled with Igea but it was decent enough.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trevor1007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

574 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    292
    224
    48
    8
    2
See reviews for
93
335
20
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northumberland UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

This is the second time i have stayed at the Villa Igea, but the first since it has been taken over by the larger Savoia and Jolanda hote. It was still as lovely, tucked away literally two minutes walk from the San Zaccaria vappareto stop. As it was out wedding anniversary they upgraded us to one of the larger rooms with a small sitting area and a balcony overlooking the square and church. As it was late september/early october the weather was still lovely and we sat on the balcony most evenings after dinner.

The hotel staff were all very polite and attentive, the receptionist was very helpful when we wished to visit the armenian monestry and telephoned to check it was open for us before giving us specific instructions on the water bus to catch etc.

Breakfast was lovely, a good variety of hot and cold foods along with an ever changing selection of delivious cakes each morning. It is served in the larger hotel which is on the waterfront and each morning we sat outside overlooking the lagoon.

I am planning a return trip to bring my mum and sister to Venice for the first time and will definately return to Villa Igea.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Northernstar38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights in November. It is a "sister" hotel to the bigger one on the water. It was clean and the rooms were good size. They do not have a guard or anyone in the building so you have to use your key card to get in the building. It was safe - but I would have felt safer if there was someone watching the front door. We got a great price during the off season. Very close to San Marco square. Right around the corner from the hotel you check in/out of and have breakfast. We had a "superior square view" - view the pictures of our view. We got a good deal off the website - off season and booked about 1 month before the trip.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Whitney D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Very small quiet luxurious room. Breakfast is at sister hotel (very close) and has a big variety (scrambled eggs are way to oily). Nice to sit outside during the summer and look out onto the Grand Canal. At waterbus station and easy to find. Very good location next to the San Zaccaria square (very expensive around this area though) and 5min walk to the St Marco square.
Our view (or lack of) was the neighbour’s house. Venice is very expensive! People in Venice are generally very unfriendly and unhelpful unless they can make money out of you.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Elmarie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Villa Igea is a lovel hotel. As mentioned in other reviews, you check in at the Savoia around the corner from Campo San Zaccaria, where the reception staff is very friendly and happy to give reccomendations. This is also where a very nece breakfast buffet is served for guests of both hotels each mornng.

The location is excellent. It is near multiple vaporetto stops and walking distance to many popular sights. If you are in venice for Biennale (as we were) it's also near quite a few of the pavillions based in the city away from Arsenale and Giardini. Our room, 608, was actually bigger than we expected based on other reviews and also had two small balconies that were very nice. We didn't have much of a view, but Venice has more than enough views as it is :)

My only tiny complaint was that the beds are harder than I like but that's not a big deal as I was so worn out from all the walking and sight seeing and art-looking by the end of each day that I had no trouble sleeping.

I would definitely reccomend Villa Igea to any friends travelling to Venice.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank carolynintheuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Savoia & Jolanda
Hotel Savoia & Jolanda
#85 of 384 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,702 reviews
Castello
Hotel Commercio & Pellegrino
Castello
Hotel Wildner
Hotel Wildner
#194 of 384 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Campiello
Hotel Campiello
#96 of 384 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
Castello
Hotel Paganelli
Hotel Paganelli
#101 of 384 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 839 reviews
Castello
Hotel Antigo Trovatore
Hotel Antigo Trovatore
#142 of 384 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Igea? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Igea

Property: Villa Igea
Address: Campo San Zaccaria Castello 4684, 30122 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#80 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#93 Family Hotel in Venice
Price range (per night): ₹ 14,576 - ₹ 39,594
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Igea 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Villa Igea Hotel Venice
Igea Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing