We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel San Gallo
Nearby Hotels
US$ 377
US$ 287
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 548
US$ 416
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 432
US$ 359
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$ 1,507
US$ 631
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Hotel Rialto(Venice)
US$ 715
US$ 295
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 323
US$ 253
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 347
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 495
US$ 369
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Flora(Venice)(Great Value!)
US$ 295
US$ 274
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 322
US$ 313
Elvoline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (776)
Filter reviews
776 results
Traveller rating
248
345
133
34
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
248
345
133
34
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssan marco squaregreat locationst marks squarecroissantsreception areavenetian styleroof terraceless than a minute walkflights of stairsfirst floorbudget hotelhotel is locatedfamily roomwould stay againrialto bridgecontinental breakfastthe ground floor
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
299 - 304 of 776 reviews
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Location and price is the main reason we stayed in this hotel. Room is small but clean. Breakfast standard. Service average.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jhonydh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

We stayed here Oct 2011. Lovely location right near St Marks, almost hidden behind a door and up steep stairs (don't come here if you can't climb stairs with baggage). Very friendly, small reception/breakfast area always manned with someone to help out if needed. Simple but nice buffet breakfasts. Had one very bad night when a water tank or somesuch was v noisy over our room all night but it was inaudible elsewhere and they sorted it out as soon as we told them so can't blame them for that. Not an immaculate bland international hotel but a very good hotel of its type and amazing value for the location. Of course, eating out nearby was hugely expensive, but that's what you get for being in the heart of tourist land, the Spa shop is only 15 mins walk away for cheaper supplies.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank POHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

We are a family of four from Sydney, Australia and stayed in Hotel San Gallo for three nights and had a wonderful stay. The location is perfect and we loved everything about the hotel. The room was small but we didn't expect anything bigger and it was immaculately clean and perfectly heated. We have found many hotels to be over heated.

It was exceptional value for a family of four and had our own espresso coffee made for us at breakfast each morning. Fabulous.

We loved our stay in Venice and would recommend the free taxi ride to Murano. We enjoyed seeing the glass being blown and although we did end up buying some glass did not feel under any pressure to do so. Great English speaking guide at the factory/gallery.

We would also highly recommend taking a gondolier ride, visiting the Peggy Guggenheim gallery and walking everywhere.

Three days was only barely enough; we could easily have stayed a week.

thanks to everyone at San Gallo.

PS we did not find the stairs daunting at all.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Zbrowelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

This hotel is nice for the price, and great for location just behind St Marks Sq. A little obscure to find, and daunting staircase to enter. Quadruple Room was small, but adequate, and clean. Staff very friendly and helpful, breakfast very nice. Stayed in room 3, and found a previous occupant had left a Samsung HTC phone in the safe (it was easy done, the phone case was magnetic, and I only found it because I couldn't find my kindle light so I ran my hand around the inside of the safe. Turned the phone over to the staff member on the front desk.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, try to get a room further away from the front door - as the buzzer can be annoying late at night! We were in Room 3.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 4eTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2011

This hotel is situated at the heart of Venice, within very close proximetry to St Marks square. It is accessed via a steep stair case which is not suitable for disabled visitors. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We booked the family room which consisted of a double bed and two single beds, which was adequated for our short stay. There was a double wardrobe and limited drawer space provided. The en-suite bathroom had a walk in shower and sink and toilet. We made our reservation direct with the hotel as this allowed us to received a discount. The hotel was reasonably priced in comparison to all other accommodation in Venice.

The breakfast consisted of cereals, bread rolls, cheese, hams, yoghurt, fruit, croissants etc. with ample amounts of freshly brewed coffee.

Overall, the trip was enjoyable and if we return to Venice we will definitely go back to hotel San Gallo due to the location and friendliness of the staff.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luckysam12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews