We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small and discreet”
Review of Hotel San Gallo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel San Gallo
Ranked #113 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Small and discreet”
Reviewed 4 February 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights in Jan/Feb 2012. Hidden away just a short walk from St Marks Square - hence excellent location.
Room was small but adequate, as was the ensuite and shower. Decor a bit quirky and dark, but maybe that's the venetian style?
Continental breakfast was fine and the staff were polite and helpful.
Just beware the 2 flights of stairs and the tiny doorway you have to negotiate to get into this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cjpvision
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

662 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    300
    119
    30
    14
See reviews for
205
298
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Location and price is the main reason we stayed in this hotel. Room is small but clean. Breakfast standard. Service average.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jhonydh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

We stayed here Oct 2011. Lovely location right near St Marks, almost hidden behind a door and up steep stairs (don't come here if you can't climb stairs with baggage). Very friendly, small reception/breakfast area always manned with someone to help out if needed. Simple but nice buffet breakfasts. Had one very bad night when a water tank or somesuch was v noisy over our room all night but it was inaudible elsewhere and they sorted it out as soon as we told them so can't blame them for that. Not an immaculate bland international hotel but a very good hotel of its type and amazing value for the location. Of course, eating out nearby was hugely expensive, but that's what you get for being in the heart of tourist land, the Spa shop is only 15 mins walk away for cheaper supplies.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank POHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
177 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

We are a family of four from Sydney, Australia and stayed in Hotel San Gallo for three nights and had a wonderful stay. The location is perfect and we loved everything about the hotel. The room was small but we didn't expect anything bigger and it was immaculately clean and perfectly heated. We have found many hotels to be over heated.

It was exceptional value for a family of four and had our own espresso coffee made for us at breakfast each morning. Fabulous.

We loved our stay in Venice and would recommend the free taxi ride to Murano. We enjoyed seeing the glass being blown and although we did end up buying some glass did not feel under any pressure to do so. Great English speaking guide at the factory/gallery.

We would also highly recommend taking a gondolier ride, visiting the Peggy Guggenheim gallery and walking everywhere.

Three days was only barely enough; we could easily have stayed a week.

thanks to everyone at San Gallo.

PS we did not find the stairs daunting at all.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Zbrowelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

This hotel is nice for the price, and great for location just behind St Marks Sq. A little obscure to find, and daunting staircase to enter. Quadruple Room was small, but adequate, and clean. Staff very friendly and helpful, breakfast very nice. Stayed in room 3, and found a previous occupant had left a Samsung HTC phone in the safe (it was easy done, the phone case was magnetic, and I only found it because I couldn't find my kindle light so I ran my hand around the inside of the safe. Turned the phone over to the staff member on the front desk.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, try to get a room further away from the front door - as the buzzer can b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 4eTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Noemi
Hotel Noemi
#200 of 385 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Casa Petrarca
Hotel Casa Petrarca
#137 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Serenissima
Hotel Serenissima
#99 of 385 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Orion
Hotel Orion
#110 of 385 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
San Marco
Ambassador Tre Rose
Ambassador Tre Rose
#298 of 385 in Venice
3.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Castello
Hotel Canaletto
Hotel Canaletto
#114 of 385 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Gallo? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Gallo

Property: Hotel San Gallo
Address: Sestiere San Marco 1093/A | Campo San Gallo, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#127 Family Hotel in Venice
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,562 - ₹ 57,282
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Gallo 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The San Gallo Hotel is located in a small characteristic campo (square), called San Gallo or Rusolo, which has an ancient well and curb. The hotels location is unique thanks to its proximity to the major places of interest in the town; in fact, St Mark’s Square is only 50 metres away, and La Fenice Theatre is only 5 minutes walk from the Campo. The hotel can be very easily reached, should you travel by car, by train or plane. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel San Gallo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing