We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Antica Locanda al Gambero

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Antica Locanda al Gambero
Ranked #132 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2011

Nice hotel, with great location. OK breakfast and staff.
Our room faced the small canal in front of the hotel and it was very nice to open our window in the morning and see the gondolas passing by .
Venice is a very beautiful and romantic city; don't miss a change to visit it!

Room Tip: Rooms with canal view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ilovetotravel22_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

579 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    219
    277
    52
    19
    12
See reviews for
124
259
61
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
M
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

Good location and friendly Italian staff. Rooms quite clean but cold. Overall impression was simply lovely! Would recommend for those who don't mind walking the steps since no elevator.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandurah, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2010

Absolutely beautiful hotel with gorgeous water views. Open your windows and hear the gondola drivers singing and wake up to church bells chiming in the distance! The staff were so helpful and friendly. Great fresh breakfast every morning served with freshly brewed coffee. Loved our stay here!!!

Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank mishd676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cabindan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2010

The hotel is located on a small back Alley in Venice , give yourself plenty of time to find it or get good directions. The best way we found was to ask at other hotels on the walk. Good breakfast but Small rooms but you do not spend a lot of time in the room. Very clean and good service. San Marco Square is a easy 5 minute walk from Hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cabindan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredonia, NY
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2010

Our last two nights in Italy were spent in Venice at the Locanda Al Gambero, and it was a lovely way to end a memorable trip. It was easy to find from the directions provided, and our rooms were comfortable, and very clean. My room had a view over one of the smaller canals, and while yes, you had to lean out of the window to see it, the view of the quaint bridge and passing gondolas was a special treat. We had booked single rooms, but must have been upgraded to doubles, as the bed was large and the room very comfortable.

The staff is professional, if not always warm, though at least two of the gentlemen were very kind and helpful with inquiries, one making arrangements for our taxi to the airport, and another volunteering to make restaurant reservations. Omar provided kind email reassurance prior to arrival answering questions I had about the rooms.

Some comments here mentioned the lack of baggage help, but a gentleman was available when we arrived, and offered to take the bags to our rooms, even though we did not need it. Breakfast included fresh fruit, bread, yogurt, meat and cheese along with good strong cappuccino -- more than enough to start the day, and more varied than we experienced in other hotels. A room with complimentary computers was also appreciated.

It is hard to imagine a better location, so close to the Rialto Bridge and Piazza San Marco and many restaurants in the area. And the rate was incredibly reasonable for us, especially considering the expense of Venice overall.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Grauntie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Gorizia a la Valigia
Gorizia a la Valigia
#147 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
San Marco
Hotel San Luca
Hotel San Luca
#189 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Ca' Zusto Venezia
Hotel Ca' Zusto Venezia
#55 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Al Gazzettino
Hotel Al Gazzettino
#169 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
San Marco
Palace Bonvecchiati
Palace Bonvecchiati
#93 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,278 reviews
Castello
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#50 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antica Locanda al Gambero? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antica Locanda al Gambero

Property: Antica Locanda al Gambero
Address: Calle dei Fabbri, 4687 S.Marco | San Marco, 30124 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#90 Family Hotel in Venice
#127 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,544 - ₹ 25,772
Hotel Class:3 star — Antica Locanda al Gambero 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Locanda al Gambero welcomes guests with the cordial and typically Venetian atmosphere created by our professional and courteous staff, and together with our well-lit and spacious rooms, we offer our guests the best hotel stay available in Venice. The reception desk is open 24 hours a day, available to provide you with all the information you need to explore the city. In the lobby, guests can pick up fliers and brochures about shows and events in Venice, and make reservations for tours and guided excursions. All spaces in the hotel are immaculately kept, and we offer the best services available among the 3 star hotels of Venice. Guests of the hotel Antica Locanda al Gambero can take advantage of the internet corner (free internet access), major daily newspapers, sitting room and television for those moments of relaxation and socializing, and the lovely breakfast room, with its classic lead glass windows. The continental buffet, with its pastries and salads, includes Venetian sweets and traditional Italian coffee drinks (espresso, cappuccino, etc.) Served at your table. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Antica Locanda al Gambero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antica Locanda Al Gambero Hotel Venice
Antica Locanda Al Gambero Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing