We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite hotel during out stay in Italy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Casa Verardo - Residenza D'Epoca
Ranked #90 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We were traveling with another couple and stayed here for three nights in the middle of March. We also visited Florence and Rome after our stay in Venice.

Our flight to Venice landed at 8:30 a.m. on Sunday morning. We took the Alilaguna (slow) boat from the dock near the airport to the San Zaccaria stop. I believe it was about 13 euros per person, and I think it was well worth it. The walk to the hotel maybe took 10 minutes from the San Zaccaria stop. We arrived a little early to check in and were allowed to leave our luggage at the hotel until we could check into our rooms. We left for an initial walk around Venice and had lunch at a very nice place that was behind the hotel (can't remember the name, but the food was very good).

We were given rooms on the floor where breakfast was served. There was a little corridor off of the breakfast area; our room and the other couple's room was directly off of the corridor and the location of our rooms was very convenient. I've read other reviews where the writers think it would be weird to have a room off of the breakfast area, but we enjoyed it very much. My husband would go get us a cappuccino early while we were getting ready -- loved that. Then we would go for breakfast which was good and plentiful. Also, we never heard any noises from the breakfast area in our rooms. The breakfast was the best we had in Italy, with the waiter bringing fresh, hot croissants to the table. The coffee and cappuccino were very good. The waiter was very friendly and attentive.

The front desk staff were exceptional, and provided help and information at our every request. We enjoyed several glasses of wine on the terrace off of the breakfast area and also the downstairs terrace several times.

I don't think we had an "updated" room, but it was very nice, regardless. The room was small as was the bathroom, but exceptionally clean. There was a very good "close-up" makeup mirror in our bathroom, but if you are accustomed to styling your hair with a typical American blow dryer, you need to take your own with the appropriate electrical connection converter. The bed was extremely comfortable.

We paid 10 euros for Wifi for our entire stay (three nights). The hotel is very convenient to San Marco -- maybe a 5-7 minute walk. There are many small sandwich shops close by that are very good for lunch. Almost every restaurant we visited was very good. We enjoyed going to the Coop supermarket - there is a good and inexpensive selection of wine there.

I would definitely stay at this hotel again. In my opinion, it had the charm and character we were expecting of a hotel in Venice, and we loved it!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ekellylou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (677)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

250 - 254 of 677 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2012

A short break in Venice for Easter and again at Hotel Casa Verardo. Our room was elegant and simple but with all the comforts as we expected.The little courtyard on the Hotel back was such a nice one! plenty of green plants and white flowers . Breakfast good and quite various.Receptionist ready at all our necessity.Very easy to reach the main attractions . The restaurants they booked for us were quite good and close by the Hotel.
Really Casa Verardo Hotel is always , for comfort and location, a very good choice in the city of Venice for us.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank josephine s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

great view from the room and very near from st. marco.
though the room was quite small, everyone expects that in vennis.

staffs spoke english and were very nice

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arutema47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

Everything was great - couldn't fault it. Friendly staff and the location was perfect - quiet, yet close to everything. The bedrooms may not be as large as those you find in modern hotels in the States, but hey! this is a 16th Century Palazzo - quaint and with loads of atmosphere.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happysnapper17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2012

We (Myself,13 and 16 yo sons) are in love with this hotel!!!! The place is so charming! It is very , very close to the St. Mark's Square, restaurants, ATM machines and right behind it, we found a self-service laundry...we were in haven! The people there are extremely helpful, very pleasant and so sweet....I felt like they(every single person/staff there) knew me for a long time...very personal and warm. They did things like sit at their computers, to help me look for trains, boats .....no matter what time, if they were busy or not...they would drop whatever they were doing to help us.... always with a smile on their faces. They were fantastic! Our room was extremely clean and so beautiful....the walls, bedding and that amazing chandelier.... breathtaking! The bedroom was right by the breakfast area(very convenient!) and had 2 doors so we were never disturbed by other people eating breakfast. It was very comfortable and roomy (for 3 people). It had a little separated room with a armoire...almost a walking closet! We had a heated towel rack in the bathroom...toasty towels ...I love it. Not that I care, but I know lots of people do....Yes, they speak perfect English...the whole staff. I highly recommend this hotel. I always like to try new hotels, but after "Hotel Casa Verardo", I will always stay there, when in Venice. Perfect city, amazing people and great hotel!

Room Tip: Our room was the107...we love it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Silvia1700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Al Piave
Hotel Al Piave
#60 of 385 in Venice
926 reviews
Cannaregio
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
#35 of 385 in Venice
2,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
Hotel Al Duca di Venezia
San Marco
Duodo Palace Hotel
Duodo Palace Hotel
#75 of 385 in Venice
1,558 reviews
Giudecca
Hotel Giudecca Venezia
Hotel Giudecca Venezia
#120 of 385 in Venice
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Verardo - Residenza D'Epoca? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Verardo - Residenza D'Epoca

Address: Sestiere Castello 4765 | Campo SS. Filippo e Giacomo, 30122 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#77 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range: ₹ 5,549 - ₹ 19,460 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa Verardo - Residenza D'Epoca 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Verardo is an ancient noble palace of the XVI century at only 200mt. from St. Marks square. A pleasant combination of:*ambient atmosphere *proximity to the main points of interest *reasonable prices 3 floors (with lift), with two "piano nobile" (noble floor), with wide walk-able areas, a big terrace on the roof and another one at the first floor (both with canal view), where you can have breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Casa Verardo - Residenza D'Epoca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Casa Verardo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing