We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“gem of a place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pensione Accademia - Villa Maravege
Ranked #15 of 476 Venice B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 October 2011

A lovely oasis of calm in a very busy city. We stayed 3 nights, it's a great location - just off the beaten track but close enough for acces to everything worth seeing in Venice. It's also close to many nice bars and restaurants for lunch/dinner at reasonable (reasonable for Venice that is) prices. The building has real character, it's an old villa with interesting old furnishings but not at all stuffy, it's very light and airy and all done up very sympathetically - nice mix of modern and tradition. Our room (no. 51) was on the 3rd floor, was large and occupied a corner spot that had windows around two sides and overlooked the canal. Quiet nights with just the noise of life starting up on the canal from about 7.00 am. Nicely furnished with old traditional furniture and as well as modern stuff such as flat screen TV and fridge etc. Bathroom fine, shower a bit small but not a problem. Only negative for us was the incredibly hard bed. Breakfast standard fare but plentiful and tasty. Service very good - helpful and friendly throughout. And it gets better - the icing on the cake is undoubtedly the garden and courtyard areas, a real bonus in Venice and this one is especially nice. Lots of shady seating, a few loungers and really very peaceful. Great for relaxing in after a few hours of sightseeing and the hustle and heat of the city. Would definitely recommend this place, this was our third visit to Venice and this was the nicest place we've stayed in (apart from the bed!)

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DerbyshireReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (583)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

293 - 297 of 583 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2011

I love this charming hotel. We have stayed there 20 years ago and decided to go back. it was more charming than we even remembered! While it is not a "5 star" fancy hotel,it is lovely. You really feel like you are in a special place in the middle of Venice! The gardens in the back and front are lovely...you are right on the canal...steps away from the acadamia bridge...The people that work their are friendly,professional and helpful!The rooms are spacious,clean and wonderful. We had a precious room with a gorgeous view of the back gardens. The breakfast was included and was delicious. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iluvdestin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2011

This hotel had been on my list to stay at since our first visit to Venice several years ago when we spied it on a walk in Dorsoduro. It is located on 2 small canals and has a lovely quiet garden in the back with views of those canals and a glimpse of the Grand Canal.There is another garden in the front which is also a lovely spot to have a drink and relax after a long day of sightseeing. The service is wonderful and very friendly. Everyone was welcoming and went out of their way to help us find a great spot to view the Regatta Storica, a parade of decorated gondolas that is a beautiful sight.They also helped us and found another room here for us to stay an extra night due to the one day public transport strike.The rooms are on the small side but our first room had plenty of room(#52). The second room was #25 and was very small - not even much room for our suitcases. Even so, this is the only place I would stay in Venice - worth every penny.

Room Tip: Avoid #25 if possible - too small. There is also an attic room - also very small
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maapar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

We stayed at Pensione Accademia - Villa Maravege last October 2010. We are going back October 25,2011. We were boarding our cruise ship in Venice. We chose this hotel because of the great reviews on Tripadvisor. We were not at all disappointed and that is why we will return again this year.
Our room was very comfortable with a canal view. We felt very much at home here and the staff were very good. The location from the Accademia Bridge is good and the bridge is a good marker for finding the hotel.
We had a clasic twin room that, although small by North Amnerican standards, had all the ammenities one would require. This year we have booked a garden suite.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

I thoroughly enjoyed my two night stay at the Pensione Accademia.

Perfectly located in the Dorsoduro area and just off the main tourist paths, it's far enough away from the tourist hustle and bustle, but close enough to everything to be with easy walking distance of the main attractions.

The hotel is an easy five minute walk from the Accademia vaporetto stop (manageable with luggage), and has it's own landing for water taxis.

My single room was very small - but the pensione is very well equipped with other places you can be. The foyer has plenty of tourist info to peruse, and the first floor has a wonderful sitting room (complete with Chesterfield couches and a suit of armour). But the highlight is the beautiful, tranquil garden setting. Nestled at the intersection of two smaller canals, but with views to the Grand Canal, it's a perfect place to watch the world go by. There is also a lovely outdoor breakfast area.

I found the staff to be friendly and efficient.

I would certainly stay here again, and will happily recommend this hotel to friends and Tripadvisor readers.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TravellingPeteShow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Pisani Hotel
Ca' Pisani Hotel
#15 of 385 in Venice
1,891 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel Palazzo Stern
Hotel Palazzo Stern
#22 of 385 in Venice
1,738 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel American Dinesen
Hotel American Dinesen
#36 of 385 in Venice
1,622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#50 of 385 in Venice
1,912 reviews
San Marco
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Castello
Hotel Savoia & Jolanda
Hotel Savoia & Jolanda
#80 of 385 in Venice
1,885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pensione Accademia - Villa Maravege? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensione Accademia - Villa Maravege

Address: Ponte de Le Meravegie Dorsoduro 1058 | Fondamenta Bollani, 30123 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro / Accademia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 476 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range: ₹ 6,985 - ₹ 25,132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pensione Accademia - Villa Maravege 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pensione Accademia, the 17th century ancient villa surrounded by breezy, charming and relaxing gardens near the Gran Canal. We offer to our guests a peaceful stay and an excellent service brought to You by the long legacy of the Salmaso family. The perfect place in which You can live the true venician atmosphere in the earth of the city. A gentle and thoughtful staff ready to fulfill every kind of request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pensione Accademia - Villa Maravege reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pensione Accademia - Villa Maravege Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing