We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (600)
Filter reviews
600 results
Traveller rating
67
209
159
84
81
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
67
209
159
84
81
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wifi connection was poor european continental breakfast breakfast was pretty basic st marks square short break stayed here for one night small hotel excellent location few minutes walk small canal
Filter
Updating list...
144 - 149 of 600 reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2011

We stayed for one night. It was clean and Allesandro was very accomodating, friendly and helpful. The room was warm, but we had a fan. Its a bit strange sharing the owners bathroom with them, you feel a bit intrusive. It is very central to everything in Venice. Breakfast was made in Allesandro's kitchen, yogurt, breads tea/coffee. Very good for backpackers but not really for anybody wanting a very romantic night in Venice. Accomodation was affordable and clean.

Date of stay: September 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VeeCinqu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2011

the rooms are so small that there is barely any place to stand. there isnt enough space for 2 suitcases. we chose the hotel for its location which is superb but there are tonnes of better hotels in the same location. very disappointing.

Date of stay: June 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shivanitalwar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2010

I'm glad that we weren't swayed by the negative reviews because we were pleasantly surprised by our stay at the Hotel Alcyone when we visited in May 2009. The location is fantastic - very close to St. Mark's Square and many wonderful dining options. On top of the location, there was a free daily breakfast -- nothing over the top, but just another nice touch. I noticed that a lot of people complained about room and bathroom size, but I have to say that the room was standard-size compared to other European cities we've stayed in. The bathroom was nicely appointed and clean. This is not a five-star luxury hotel and it's unfair to rate it against those standards, but it is a nice, clean, centrally-located hotel for an exceptional value. We would definitely return.

Date of stay: May 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nford333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2010

Excellent hotel in all respects. By Venice standards price is good value. Book direct with hotel for best rate. Can`t understand the negative opinions expressed by some unless they prefer the blandness of cloned, multi-national sameness. This hotel is SO Venetian it is gorgeous, plus clean, friendly, helpful, safe & great location. Very good buffet breakfast with gondolas sliding past the huge picture window. Loved it.

Date of stay: October 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abnicho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2010

This hotel was in a good location about a minute walk to St Marco Square etc but other than that I'd prefer to stay elsewhere. The hotel walls are super thin and this lead to very little sleep as there were people partying into the early hours on all nights, the room was very small but clean and not too shabby. So if noise, bad breakfast and small is ok for you then this hotel is fine.

Date of stay: March 2009
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zetravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews