We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Palazzo Mocenigo
from US$ 104.00
More Info
Reviews (459)
Filter reviews
152 results
Traveller rating
75
47
20
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
75
47
20
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews perfume bottles perfume making museum pass san stae on display costume collection mannequins dressed basic ingredients interesting museum grand house venetian lifestyle venice card worth a visit old palace great insight beautiful building great collection
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 152 reviews
Reviewed 6 days ago

We visited this palace the day after we were at Basilica San Marco. It was such a relief to be in a place that was less crowded with tourists. In fact, the day we were there was very quiet. There was not any rush to take in what this attraction had to offer. It was enjoyable and insightful.
The collection of tiny perfume bottles in every imaginable shape was fun to see. The display related to the making of perfume was interesting. There are samples of the various items used to combine into fragrances. Most of these had detectable aroma, though a few did not. Nevertheless, it was worth seeing.
My spouse had more appreciation for the costumes, though she wished there were more examples of women’s clothing. She had the outlandish idea of dressing me in one of the men’s costumes, but, alas, they didn’t have it in my size…

Thank michaelmartman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

An interesting museum of Venice in the 18th century with costumes, furniture, décor, paintings and of course the collection of perfume bottles and ingredients. It is on the list of the museum pass. It was fairly quiet when I went (October) and my Airbnb host said "Not many tourists go there!" worth a visit if that period is of interest. It is not the Palazzo Mocenigo that Lord Byron stayed in, that is on the Grand Canal.

Thank davegreaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2018

Very nicely done museum, included in the Venice Museum pass. The museum itself was quite empty, maybe because we went just before closing.

All the information is provided in English, German and French. They've got a great couple rooms on perfume and perfume collections, including multiple floral, herbal sources and spices to smell on which modern perfumes are based.

Getting there also led us through quieter, off-the-beaten-track parts of Venice, which was great! Free wifi available at the museum.

Thank Wanderful H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2018

This museum is situated just south of the San Stae ferry terminal on the south bank of the grand canal, we got entry with our Unica Venezia Museum pass. The museum is housed in an old Venice Palace, which was still inhabited up to the 20th century and contained examples of 17th/18th century costume, perfumery & textiles. The Palace on its own had an amazing decor of grand architecture, paintings and antique furniture. The beautiful costume collection was exhibited on mannequins within the Palace rooms and there was also a perfumery workshop and collection detailing the methodology of perfume manufacturing with examples for visitors to smell. There was a separate side exhibition of oriental textiles on the ground floor not far from the entrance. Whilst I found the Palace to be beautiful and the exhibits educational, I thought more could be done in the range of costumes exhibited.

Thank zubenel57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018

The Museum is fairly small but does an excellent job of displaying and explaining the history of fabric and perfume in the Venetian culture. Most of the displays had English writing and the video also came round to an English version. Wonderful to see a different side of Venice and its history.

Thank chrisehb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2018

The Palazzo Mocenigo is a beautiful palazzo, but the museum collection is nothing special. In particular many of the explanations of the perfume making process are in Italian, so it is difficult for English speakers to appreciate. Also the fashion collection was small. While there we attempted to watch the museum video, but the player kept failing. Seems about right.

Thank Dave J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2018

Interesting museum housed within a traditional Palazzo. The museum holds exhibits on fashion and a perfume workshop and history of perfumery including exhibits. Interesting display of embroidered waistcoats from the 17th and 18th century.
The content of the museum is slightly disappointing if your main interest is fashion but the star of the museum is the building it is housed in. Owned by a well known local family who were linked to the power base in Venice this museum is worth a visit to enter a traditional Vienitian building
Overall worth a visit which will take about 45 minutes, interesting museum shop.

Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2018

This wonderful palazzo was built in the 17. century for one of the most influential families of the city, which brought out not less than seven Dogen. The biggest hall, the portego, extends over the entire length of the building. The antechamber is furnished with precious red silk and mirrors from the 18. century. Now it is a museum inside which has an exposition of perfume and bottles of perfume, which is in my personal opinion very boring. The building is the star.

1  Thank Ralf K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018

This was a good brief stop off and we were surprised to be plunged into a palace. The shut drapes to protect the textiles made the atmosphere oppressive and gloomy but it did give an interesting insight into that 18c. World.
Costume wise there were some beautifully decorated waistcoats and housedresses. The perfume exhibots were disappointing but gave us an idea of what wed like to lnow. More things to smell please!
Wed ceryainly come back for a perfume making workshop. A good variety of interest here.

1  Thank Exeterexplore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2018

I went there to see the perfum's sectionand was quite dissapointed. there were some quite nice perfum bottles or Containers, but the explications were not worth the material they were printed on. Also a lot of the exponates were paced too low or too high up to really be able to admire them.

And the biggest disappointment was the museum's shop which is not worth while to be called such...

Thank Claudia-M K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews