We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“April 2012” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Metropole Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Metropole Hotel
Ranked #45 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“April 2012”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

This hotel was poor for the price. I marked as terrible because of an incident with the staff over charging for water - on leaving I received two charges for water one for water they said I had used from the minibar and one for water I had used which was left out on the dressing table. We didn't take water from the minibar and thought the water on the dressing table was complementary - amazing to think it wouldn't be!!. I explained that I hadn't used any water from the minibar but they didn't believe me.The manager kindly waived the 24Euro charge for the water on the dressing table and was very easy to deal with. Expected tea making facilities in the room. Bath failed to drain and was very small.

- not bad but not great. The room was covered in red fabric from floor to ceiling and on all the furniture. We stayed four nights . The staff were pleasant Also, the air con didn't work and when you opened the one small window with no view of the alley below all you heard was people through the night. The bathroom was okay but the bathtub did not drain (we had to use the bottle opener to prop it open to drain). The location is very convenient so that adds a couple positive points being steps away from most sites

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 317David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChiaraVis, Direttore vendite at Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Dear Mr “317David”,

Let us thank you for your stay at our hotel. We are deeply sorry you could not fully enjoy your experience with us. Let us kindly inform you that the bottle of mineral water and the dry snacks on the dressing table are upon charge as clearly stated on the notice positioned in front of the bottle and snacks in their tray.
We will take note of your suggestion to have a tea maker in the room: at the moment, like many hotels in our country, it is not foreseen at our property but will consider this possibility for the future and thank you for your advice.

As far the problem with the bathtub, we have immediately and carefully checked your room, on the third floor, with our Housekeeper and Technician: the bathtub is perfectly working!
The bathtubs at our hotel have a special drain system: inside the bathtub there is a knob that you need to move left hand side or right hand side in order to close or open the drain. Our Personnel is always at disposal of our clients 24h per day: we are deeply sorry we could not immediately help you during your 4-night-stay as we were not informed about your troubles and could not easily help you with proper information making your stay truly comfortable. Anyway, thanks to your notice, we will provide for detailed instructions about the functioning of our drain system in each bathroom in order to avoid any future misunderstandings.

Venice is a charming city because of its structure, history and art heritage and the small streets are part of its soul: without them there would not be the magic of its life and everyday heartbeat. We hope to welcoming you back in occasion of your next trip to this unique city and we will do our utmost to let you have plenty of choice of our charming rooms overlooking our quite relaxing garden or the marvelous lagoon.
Please, feel free to contact us anytime, it will be our great honour to offer you our best personalized welcome.

Chiara Visentin
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    737
    287
    81
    31
    23
See reviews for
228
629
24
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
So. CA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

This hotel is different and unique. It may not be everyone's style, but I really liked it. It has a bohemian flair. The sitting area downstairs is comfortable and a nice spill over area for jet lagged travelers. The bar is trendy and a bit expensive, but again comfortable, wit great service. The room we had was excellent- large, with a decent bathroom, window over a small canal.

Room Tip: I personally loved our window over the small canal, and enjoyed hearing the boat traffic and activit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beachcomer2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChiaraVis, Direttore vendite at Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Dear “Beachcomer2”,

Thank you for sharing your experience and for choosing our Metropole Hotel: you are more than welcome anytime you need a break and comfortable warm relax! Please, next time let us make you try one of our 36 types of “spritz” (the Venetian cocktail) in the magic atmosphere of our Orientalbar: relax will be even greater!

See you next time and feel free to contact us, thank you!
Chiara Visentin
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax. England
Level Contributor
102 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

I have just spent 3 nights at The Metropole for my 50th Birthday and it was amazing. We were treated so well from the moment we arrived until the moment we left. The hotel is a gem full of character and our room was lovely. Breakfast was included and could not be faulted. The location is perfect for any part of venice you may wish to visit. I can not think of a better place to have spent my birthday.
Thank you to all the staff - can't wait to return.

Room Tip: We were in room 307 overlooking a small canal - nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank donnahalifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChiaraVis, Direttore vendite at Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Dear “donnahalifax”,

We are thrilled to understand you had a memorable experience with us: we have shared your comments with all our Team and be assured that we will work harder and harder to even exceed your expectations and surprise you in occasion of your next stay!

Thank you on behalf of all the Personnel at the Metropole who will be glad to warmly welcoming you back as our special Repeat Guest. Please, contact us anytime, grazie!

Chiara Visentin
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

This hotel was just okay- not bad but not great. The room was covered in red fabric from floor to ceiling and on all the furniture. We only stayed one night and were very glad for that. The staff was nice and catered well to our two toddlers but the decor in the room was a bit old and tired. Also, the air con didn't work and when you opened the one small window with no view of the alley below all you heard was people through the night. The bathroom was okay but the bathtub did not drain (we had to use the bottle opener to prop it open to drain). The location is very convenient so that adds a couple positive points being steps away from most sites.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brwcrw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChiaraVis, Direttore vendite at Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Dear Mr “Brwcrw”,

Thank you for choosing our Metropole in occasion of your recent stay in Venice.
We sincerely regret to understand that you were not entirely satisfied with our services: your suggestions will certainly help us to improve the quality of our services and reach our commitment to quality.
Our rooms are decorated with antiques and precious fabrics in period style, following our passion for history and Art that our guests can find all around our hotel. We do have many rooms with marvelous view on the lagoon, our garden and some others overlook the typical small streets of Venice, which are part of the structure and charm of our city. Let us inform you that we have immediately checked the problem of the bathtub in order to solve this inconvenience for all our clients.
We would love to have you here in another occasion - feel free to contact us anytime - to sincerely show you that at our hotel you can truly live a lovely Venetian experience.

Chiara Visentin
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

The hotel was full of antiques and very charming. The staff were warm and welcoming offering advice and assistance when requested but not intrusive. Our room was beautifully furnished and had a small balcony (but not big enough to walk onto), it was certainly furnished very comfortably and was beautifully decorated. The staff could not have been more helpful when I had my mobile stolen during a walk around venice and were keen to assist me. The hotel had a beautiful garden with organge trees and it is possible to eat breakfast there when the weather allows. The location of the hotel is perfect and I disagree with previous comments that the hotel is not 3 star - I consider that it certainly is. My only comment would be that tea or coffee making facilities in the room are essential, but having said that its a small point to make in an otherwise fantastic hotel. We will certainly be going back.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Derbygirl295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChiaraVis, Direttore vendite at Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Dear "Derbygirl295",

Thank you for sharing your experience at our Metropole Hotel with all the community: we are honored you were our guest and thrilled you enjoyed a lovely stay with us!
We are all looking forward to welcoming you back soon and offer you our best personalized services as well as the warm smile and welcome of our personnel in order to make you feel home away from home.
We remain at your disposal and wait for you, arrivederci!

Chiara Visentin
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Cannaregio
Ca' Sagredo Hotel
Ca' Sagredo Hotel
#42 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,109 reviews
San Marco
Baglioni Hotel Luna
Baglioni Hotel Luna
#43 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Bauer Palazzo
Bauer Palazzo
#69 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
SINA Centurion Palace
SINA Centurion Palace
#51 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 848 reviews
Castello
Hotel Londra Palace
Hotel Londra Palace
#23 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropole Hotel

Property: Metropole Hotel
Address: Riva Degli Schiavoni 4149, 30122 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#33 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#54 Family Hotel in Venice
#58 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price range (per night): ₹ 14,961 - ₹ 48,695
Hotel Class:5 star — Metropole Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing