We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sold tickets over the capacity of the boat - made us miss the tour”

Alilaguna Public Transport Service
Book In Advance
More Info
US$ 36.95*
and up
Shared Departure Transfer: Venice Hotels to...
Ranked #580 of 802 things to do in Venice
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Alilaguna is a public transportation company in Venice, Italy, that focuses on providing efficient boat transportation throughout the City. Our 4 lines connect Marco Polo airport and the Cruise Terminal to Venice city centre, Lido and Murano. We put at disposal of our passengers several ticketing offices located at Marco Polo airport (arrival hall and airport dockyard), Cruise Terminal, Tronchetto (car park), San Marco square and Rialto (San Luca square).
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

The boat has a capacity of 100 pax. We bought tickets the day before and were told to arrive 15 mins earlier which we did. So we queue and before we board the boat, the man tells us to step aside because we are a family of 5 and he has 2 more seats on board the boat left. After which, he closes up the ramp and tells us that we cannot board the boat anymore and that he cannot do anything about it and the boat drives off. He tells a family of 7 Americans beside us the same thing. This is extremely unethical practice, how can you sell more tickets than your boat can carry and make us miss the last boat tour of the day? Furthermore after we go down to the ticket office, the lady simply unapologetically tells us to wait for the tour the next day but we are all flying off the next day. After which, she just tells us that she will give us back our money and that’s it. We have been extremely inconvenienced and the company lacks respect for the time that has been wasted. The service staff were very rude as well and no one has any sense of remorse. Absolutely awful service from what is supposed to be the national water transport of Venice. Would not recommend the tour

Date of experience: April 2018
2  Thank KristyT387
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"marco polo airport"
in 79 reviews
"alilaguna water bus"
in 11 reviews
"moving walkway"
in 7 reviews
"arrivals hall"
in 12 reviews
"airport terminal"
in 12 reviews
"cost euros per person"
in 7 reviews
"purchase tickets"
in 9 reviews
"glass blowing demonstration"
in 7 reviews
"st marks square"
in 9 reviews
"taxis"
in 39 reviews
"lace"
in 21 reviews
"lido"
in 31 reviews
"lagoon"
in 26 reviews
Filter

105 - 109 of 1,123 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2018

Bought the reasonably priced ticket on line for a return from airport to Venice. At the airport it was a little chaotic.
Come out of arrivals, go up to the 1st floor, turn left and walk till you see their office on your left - exchange your printed voucher for the ticket, or buy one there. then take the walkways next to the office to the escalator down to the pier to the boats that go on set routes, blue, orange, red, green. I wanted the orange routed boat, I joined the queue for the orange routed boat, not the people in the blue boat queue, but hey the people in the orange boat queue were asked if they wanted the blue boat route! It was chaotic, and after waiting for nearly an hour I was eventually on a 1hr Orange routed boat heading to St Angelo. The boat was rammed, no idea how we would have got out in an emergency. But, I loved it none the less. My first view of Venice was through steamy windows in the rain....
The return trip started on time from St Marco pier this time taking 1.5hrs and the boat was much bigger. My ticket was checked at St Marco before I boarded, and then again there was a long queue as we disembarked as they checked the tickets again!

Having said all that, it was a very cost effective way of getting to/from the airport/Venice, just allow plenty of time for the journey and boats not keeping to schedule.

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank Moe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

We took the Alilaguna ferry from the airport to St Marks square. The agent said the ride was 70 minutes but on the boat they said it was 80 minutes, which was correct. Also it only runs every 30 minutes. We just missed one leaving the airport, so we had to wait 30 minutes. Can’t see out the windows but they can be opened.

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank travelady042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

I am surprised to read the negative feedback on here. We used this service from the airport to a stop close to our hotel and back again. We found it easy to use and on time and would certainly look at using again. It is a short walk inside the airport and under cover.

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank Russdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2018 via mobile

We got the ferry from the airport to San Stae, on the orange line. There was a long queue for the boats. Because of that not everyone could fit on the ferry. This lead to a long waiting period because the ferries aren't as frequent. Once we got on the ferry it was great and you get to centre of Venice fairly quickly.

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank T_Baumann123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alilaguna Public Transport Service also viewed

 
Venice, City of Venice
City of Venice, Province of Venice
 

Been to Alilaguna Public Transport Service? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing