We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel American Dinesen
Ranked #38 of 388 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 June 2017 via mobile

It was our first time in Venice. We took the water transfer from the airport and we were dropped off just a few feet from the hotel, so no lugging cases over lots of bridges. A couple of gondola were parked close to the hotel, so was a great place to start a ride from. Staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was buffet style with a good selection. We paid extra for a canal view and got room 302. It was accessed via a small quirky elevator. The view from the balcony was fantastic and the room itself was immaculate. Its in a great location, clean, no graffiti and nice and quiet and felt safe at night. San Marco was just a short walk across a large bridge over the grand canal.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jason G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,643)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

90 - 94 of 1,644 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2017

I can't say enough about this hotel. The rooms were clean, spacious and the free breakfast was good. The location was close to Academia Bridge. The staff makes this hotel extra special. Larry and Ronald were very helpful at check in and check out. Special thanks to Marco and Stefan who came through for us twice during the initial stay and again when we were stranded on the way to another location during the regatta(the grand canal was closed) I will be staying at this hotel anytime I return to Venice.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beth571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2017 via mobile

Had a great stay at this hotel, excellent location on its canal off the Grand Canal. Access is via a water taxi which was a novel experience and great fun, a lovely way to see this beautiful city. It's very clean, comfortable and provides an excellent breakfast with excellent service, thank you Larry! The rooms are quaintly furnished and comfortable. Sadly, the view from my room was a neighbour's balcony with jeans drying on their line. A room with a view of the canal must be wonderful. The only real negative was that the room was overheated. If I left the windows open, mosquitos would attack. No cooling system seemed to operate. Staff were always friendly and helpful.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
Thank susimcclintock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2017

Nice boutique hotel in the Dorsoduro area, close to the Accademia and Gugenheim museums. The Accademia provides a vaparetto stop, as well as, a bridge across the Grand Canel allowing alternatives means of crossing over to San Marco. Located on a canal also provides an advantage if using a water taxi.

Stayed: May 2017
Thank Tricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2017

We stayed here two days post-cruise. The HAD was lovely and comfortable, and every member of the staff was outstanding and helpful. They went out of their way to be friendly and engaging, and fulfilled requests at all hours. Our room for 3 had a real bed for the third person, hard to find in Italy. It was just beautiful, with fabric-covered walls, french doors onto a little balcony looking over a canal, and comfortable furnishings.


It was easy to get to the hotel by Alilaguna from the cruise terminal, without having to lug bags over stairs (there was one bridge, but it had a ramp.) And, there is a private landing if you prefer a water taxi. In fact, we wish we had stayed here pre-cruise as well, since it was so much easier to get to. It would be so easy on embarkation day to hop on the Alilaguna and be at the cruise terminal (skipping the people mover) in about 10 minutes.

A great location, with plenty of good restaurants nearby, and easy walks to major sites, but tucked away and quiet. If you are interested in the Guggenheim or Accademia, or by chance are visiting a college student at Casa Artom, you really cannot ask for a better spot to stay. We walked all over the city, and nothing was more than about 20 minutes away.

Breakfast was fairly typical European buffet, well-presented, fresh, and tasty, with many drink selections for whatever your morning preference may be. (and the steward had memorized our preferences after the first breakfast, even bringing different temperatures of milk for our tea and coffee) There was also a small cash bar in the evening, and complimentary bottles of water provided in our room. There was a nice coffee set up in the room, and a well-stocked (fee) minibar. The front desk provided us with an excellent map of the city, and could have arranged a variety of tours if we had desired.

I really can't say enough about the staff here. It felt like they were fluent in 50 languages, and knew every little thing about Venice, while at the same time it felt like we were their only customers in the world and all they cared about was our comfort and happiness. We arrived rather early in the day (as we were just off a ship) and while our room was of course not ready, they were more than happy to provide my husband with a place to work and access to the wifi, and to watch our bags while the other two of us went out into the city. They kept us notified of progress on the room availability and settled us into it as soon as possible (and well before official check in time.) Another staff member arranged a water taxi to pick us up on our last morning and take us to the airport and all went smoothly.

As others have said, one word sums up our stay here - Perfect!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luuucee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Pisani Hotel
Ca' Pisani Hotel
#15 of 388 in Venice
1,923 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Palazzo Veneziano
Palazzo Veneziano
#16 of 388 in Venice
303 reviews
Hotel Canal Grande
#9 of 388 in Venice
2,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel Palazzo Stern
Hotel Palazzo Stern
#23 of 388 in Venice
1,770 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#3 of 388 in Venice
2,015 reviews
Castello
Ca' dei Dogi
Ca' dei Dogi
#19 of 388 in Venice
864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel American Dinesen? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel American Dinesen

Address: Via San Vio 628 | Dorsoduro District, 30123 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro / Accademia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#35 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: ₹ 10,321 - ₹ 29,231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel American Dinesen 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superior three star Hotel in Dorsoduro, the "Art District" of Venice. The hotel is located between the Acadamy of Fine Arts (Accademia di Belle Arti) and the "Peggy Guggenhiem Collection".The House lies in front of San Vio Canal, with his private dock for taxi and gondolas. Highly requested are the superior canal view rooms with balcony, where customers can enjoy a nice view of San Vio Canal and (some of them)a partial view of the Grand Canal. Free wifi internet access in the room and also public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel American Dinesen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
American Dinesen Hotel
American Dinesen Venice
American Hotel Venice Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing