We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,745)
Filter reviews
1,747 results
Traveller rating
1,194
469
59
15
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,194
469
59
15
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsaccademia bridgesan vio canalcanal viewwater taxithe peggy guggenheim museumminute walkdorsoduro areasmall canalquiet sidequiet areawonderful hotelthe hotel staffvaporetto stopwithin easy walking distancepastriesperfect locationvenetian style
Filter
Updating list...
164 - 169 of 1,747 reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2017

I can't say enough about this hotel. The rooms were clean, spacious and the free breakfast was good. The location was close to Academia Bridge. The staff makes this hotel extra special. Larry and Ronald were very helpful at check in and check out. Special thanks to Marco and Stefan who came through for us twice during the initial stay and again when we were stranded on the way to another location during the regatta(the grand canal was closed) I will be staying at this hotel anytime I return to Venice.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beth571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2017 via mobile

Had a great stay at this hotel, excellent location on its canal off the Grand Canal. Access is via a water taxi which was a novel experience and great fun, a lovely way to see this beautiful city. It's very clean, comfortable and provides an excellent breakfast with excellent service, thank you Larry! The rooms are quaintly furnished and comfortable. Sadly, the view from my room was a neighbour's balcony with jeans drying on their line. A room with a view of the canal must be wonderful. The only real negative was that the room was overheated. If I left the windows open, mosquitos would attack. No cooling system seemed to operate. Staff were always friendly and helpful.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
Thank susimcclintock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2017

Nice boutique hotel in the Dorsoduro area, close to the Accademia and Gugenheim museums. The Accademia provides a vaparetto stop, as well as, a bridge across the Grand Canel allowing alternatives means of crossing over to San Marco. Located on a canal also provides an advantage if using a water taxi.

Stayed: May 2017
Thank Tricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2017

We stayed here two days post-cruise. The HAD was lovely and comfortable, and every member of the staff was outstanding and helpful. They went out of their way to be friendly and engaging, and fulfilled requests at all hours. Our room for 3 had a real bed for the third person, hard to find in Italy. It was just beautiful, with fabric-covered walls, french doors onto a little balcony looking over a canal, and comfortable furnishings.

It was easy to get to the hotel by Alilaguna from the cruise terminal, without having to lug bags over stairs (there was one bridge, but it had a ramp.) And, there is a private landing if you prefer a water taxi. In fact, we wish we had stayed here pre-cruise as well, since it was so much easier to get to. It would be so easy on embarkation day to hop on the Alilaguna and be at the cruise terminal (skipping the people mover) in about 10 minutes.

A great location, with plenty of good restaurants nearby, and easy walks to major sites, but tucked away and quiet. If you are interested in the Guggenheim or Accademia, or by chance are visiting a college student at Casa Artom, you really cannot ask for a better spot to stay. We walked all over the city, and nothing was more than about 20 minutes away.

Breakfast was fairly typical European buffet, well-presented, fresh, and tasty, with many drink selections for whatever your morning preference may be. (and the steward had memorized our preferences after the first breakfast, even bringing different temperatures of milk for our tea and coffee) There was also a small cash bar in the evening, and complimentary bottles of water provided in our room. There was a nice coffee set up in the room, and a well-stocked (fee) minibar. The front desk provided us with an excellent map of the city, and could have arranged a variety of tours if we had desired.

I really can't say enough about the staff here. It felt like they were fluent in 50 languages, and knew every little thing about Venice, while at the same time it felt like we were their only customers in the world and all they cared about was our comfort and happiness. We arrived rather early in the day (as we were just off a ship) and while our room was of course not ready, they were more than happy to provide my husband with a place to work and access to the wifi, and to watch our bags while the other two of us went out into the city. They kept us notified of progress on the room availability and settled us into it as soon as possible (and well before official check in time.) Another staff member arranged a water taxi to pick us up on our last morning and take us to the airport and all went smoothly.

As others have said, one word sums up our stay here - Perfect!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luuucee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2017

Dorsoduro is a great location near the Accademia. The area is pretty and far enough away from the madness, yet close enough to walk if you love roaming through the streets in a foreign country.
This was our second visit to the HAD.
Many things have been mentioned in other reviews, but I just want to say that the photos of the rooms don't really do them justice. In the pix, to me, they looked overdone and potentially dusty, but in person, the rooms are beautifully thoughtful, immaculately clean and totally comfortable. There is a bench by the closet, lots of hangers and light. The bedroom has a day bed and a desk. The bathroom is large and ours had a small terrace and the water pressure is good.
And the flocked wall paper is a perfect invitation to historic Venice.
The staff at the hotel is rather kind and very attentive. Coffee in your room? Yes.
Help finding a lost piece of luggage? Absolutely.
Reliable water taxi to the airport? Arrived early!
Drinks from the adorable lobby bar carried to the back yard? Why not!
This is a gem of a hotel!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DowntownMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews