We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Fantastic Hotel in Perfect Location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Europa & Regina, Venice

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Westin Europa & Regina, Venice
Ranked #96 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Conn.
Level Contributor
297 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel in Perfect Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

This is another Westin hotel where old world elegance shines. The rooms are recently redecorated, and some are still looking for their final touches. The variability of rooms is significant with some rooms large, airy, with high ceilings, while others have lower ceilings and are more of a cozy feel (PC for cramped). If you like hard beds, you will love those offered and if you are looking for softer beds, just ask the front desk or housekeeping to place a coverlet over the mattress. Likewise with the pillows, if you would like foam, you need to ask as the ones in the room are feather pillows.

The location is perfect. A two minute walk from San Marco square, yet quiet, even while overlooking the Grand Canal and the Church of XXXX. The layout can be confusing at first so make sure you understand whether you are in the Europa or the Regina building and which elevator is the most convenient.

Assuring that your room includes breakfast is essential since the prices in the restaurant are extremely high, could be the highest I have ever seen. Continental buffet is €24 and full buffet is €45, and that is not a typo. A la carte is available but also pricy. The buffet includes the regular scrambled eggs, meats, tomatoes and potatoes, a large selection of fruits and cereals, a full selection of breads and pastries, plus a large selection of cured meats and cheese. Overall it is a lovely buffet. For dinner, I highly recommend going off-premises and the Concierge can recommend numerous restaurants (I HIGHLY recommend Il Paradiso (I have a separate review at that URL) over the Rialto Bridge) since the hotel's restaurant will cost well over €125 per person.

If you arrive in Venice by car there is a central building where all of the rental agencies have offices. The trick is not getting killed crossing the street to hire a water taxi (which I highly recommend), which costs €60. If you are arriving or departing from Marco Polo airport a water taxi to/from the airport is €110, plus if you keep them waiting they will add €10 per fifteen minutes.

Management is terrific and are there to assist in any way possible. One of the most guest-centric staff I have experienced. We are already planning our next visit and we are glad that we do not need to think of where to stay, we really like this hotel.

Room Tip: Check room before accepting
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,274 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,198
    622
    243
    126
    85
See reviews for
501
1,178
61
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (471)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

What a location!! Superb rooms, excellent furnishings and the service was perfect! Travelling Travelling from India, with 2 small children, aged 4.5 and 2.5, our special thanks to Atiilio Dalla Mura, the front desk manager at the hotel. Special gift bags for the kids, complimentary champagne and fruit platter (spg platinum), and went out of the way to plan our Venice Itinerary, suggestions for food etc..

Very conveniently located on the Grand Canal. Breakfast overlooking the stunning Santa Maria della Salute is one of the best breakfast settings ever!

Note: If travelling with toddlers, the hotel does not have any strollers for rent!

Room Tip: Room 212, two level room with a pull out sofa bed and furnished with a 200 yr Murano glass chandelie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VidhE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grafton, Australia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

We recently stayed to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary , the front desk reception was poor we were sent (not escorted to our room) and we had been given the wrong keys. The staff were very flustered because a large wedding monopolized their attention .The service did improve somewhat after the lengthy wedding (3days) .
I realize that Venice is inured against many problems but with some exceptions the reception staff were off their game.
We had a room with a spectacular view 556

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NigelBacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maputo, Mozambique
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

Hi. We recently stayed at the Westin Europa and Regina in Venice Italy in May 2012. The hotel was quaint and nice, right on the grand canal. The rooms were lovely and spacious. Wish we had a seperate shower in the bathroom, but the bed was comfortable, and inviting especially after travelling for about 20 hours! The staff could have been more friendly at guest services, but that is the only complaint we had. Otherwise a very nice hotel.
The Nortons - Mozambique

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SharmainN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

Booked for 2 nights and checked out early. Faced the following problems:
- traveling with my sister so got a confirmation for a twin room and ended up with a king room as no twins are available.
- Internet was not working and no attempt to assist in booking flights etc.
- night staff Joseph rude and should not be allowed to deal with people.
- got a confirmation email with the total price including taxes and the hotel charged another 10euros for city tax.
- front desk staff Elisa on check out had no clue about how to assist and was so oblivious. She needs to get sacked.
- hotel advertises super foods where their breakfast consists of canned fruits along with more canned fruit juices and a side of dry bread. Very bad selection.
-

The hotel entrance if you are not arriving in a private boat is in a dark alleyway where all the illegal immigrants are selling fake goods. Not safe.

My suggestion, very sad for the brand and will never stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms with no view as they are limited with front rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GTAUH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
europaregina, Manager at The Westin Europa & Regina, Venice, responded to this review, 7 June 2012
Dear Guest,
thank you for taking the time to post your review.
Please let us express our regret for the negativity of your comments and deep concern that you left our hotel unsatisfied. The report you have written is highly appreciated as it will be allowing us to take the necessary steps to improve the quality of the services provided.
As far as the room assigned is concerned, kindly note that the pre-assignment of rooms is carried out meticulously to ensure all guest do receive the correct room type reserved. Technical issues may occur (also for Internet system), however, which require timely correction and re-assignment rooms on check-in. We will be reviewing the check-in procedure with our Front Office and do thank you for this feedback which ensures the continued improvement in the guest experience we deliver.
It thus concerns us deeply to read of your disappointing experience, of the perceived rudeness of our night staff and front desk staff, and the negative impression these left with you of our hotel. Please know that these incidents are well below our usual standards and we will follow up with the relevant managers. Please let us explain you that city tax is not depending on us but it is a local Government tax that must be paid and in all our reservation confirmations we specified that.
Concerning the buffet breakfast, we would like to inform you that, all fruits served at our breakfast buffet are prepared on a daily base even vary according to seasonality. In addition we take great pride in providing a very extensive choice on our breakfast buffet ranging from all types of bread to cereals, salmon, dry cured meats and much more.
Last but not least, most of our clients find our location a perfect location: Our Gran Canal location does place us off the main street offering a peaceful respite from the crowds, just few steps from Piazza San Marco and the most exclusive shopping safe street “Via XXII Marzo”.
Should your travels ever bring you back to Venice, we do hope you would consider giving us the chance to have you revise your negative impression.
With best regards
executive office
the westin europa & regina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel
San Marco
Bauer Palazzo
Bauer Palazzo
#68 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
San Marco
Bauer Hotel
Bauer Hotel
#74 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
San Marco
Baglioni Hotel Luna
Baglioni Hotel Luna
#43 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,471 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
SINA Centurion Palace
SINA Centurion Palace
#50 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Europa & Regina, Venice? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Europa & Regina, Venice

Property: The Westin Europa & Regina, Venice
Address: San Marco 2159, 30124 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Venice
#44 Business Hotel in Venice
#59 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#69 Family Hotel in Venice
#89 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price range (per night): ₹ 18,143 - ₹ 45,782
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Europa & Regina, Venice 5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly positioned on the Grand Canal with sweeping views of the city's most iconic landmarks, The Westin Europa and Regina places guests right in the heart of the city's artistic and theatre districts, in a discreet setting just off the fashionable Calle XXII Marzo and steps from Piazza San Marco. Our unmatched selection of rooftop terrace suites, Grand Canal rooms, restyled accommodations, and Grand Canal-side venues with nutrition-rich proposals are settings of relaxed indulgence where guests can be at their best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Agoda and Ostrovok so you can book your The Westin Europa & Regina, Venice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Hotel Europa And Regina, Venice
Westin Venice
Westin Hotel Europa Regina Venice
Venice Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing