We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Westin Europa & Regina, Venice
Ranked #94 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 12 May 2012

Stayed at the Westin Europa & Regina Hotel in Venice for 3 nights from 18 April in a beautiful canal view room with large private balcony on the third floor. It was superb and the location, just a few minutes walk from San Marco Square was excellent. Standing on the balcony overlooking the water traffic on the Grand Canal was sensational. Could have stayed there all day.

Room Tip: Ask for a canal view room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gromit28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,512)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,439 - 1,443 of 2,512 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2012

Having stayed at the Westin Europa & Regina in Venice yearly since 2002 in all kinds of rooms, I think I have gathered quite some experience to rate this hotel. Rooms are decorated in typical Venetian style with tradition furniture, marble bathroom, and crystal chandeliers, mostly in good condition and renovated from time to time. You can expect the signature heavenly bed, good air condition, and mostly a quite environment, which will guarantee a good sleep. Rooms are mostly not big, but reasonably spacious, particularly the suites. The hotel’s location is optimal within walking distance of St. Mark’s Square, designer shops, museums and churches. Since the Danieli hotel belongs to the same company (and is part of spg) the concierge will book for you a table on its fabulous rooftop restaurant while the check will be charged to your room at the Westin. The same pertains to the terrace overlooking the grand canal at the Gritt palace (which is a short walk away, but currently being renovated and hence closed). Staff at the Westin Europa & Regina is extremely friendly and helpful. The restaurant is good with views of the grand canal, the bar and its terrace is worth the time you will spend there. From time to time the hotel’s marble ballrooms on the ground floor will have to absorb a company’s meeting or a local wedding, which is not really problem for everybody else because there is enough space. Venice is not a cheap location, and the Westin is a luxury hotel. But if you are not deterred by prices in other European prime destinations such as Paris or London, you will be in a position to cope. There is no swimming pool, and the gym is small, but you will not want to waste your time in Venice with sports anyway.

Room Tip: Book one of the standard room and look for an upgrade (either by paying for it or as an spg gold mem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dionysios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

A summary of our 3 night-stay:
- arrived at almost 1:00 a.m., and were able to take the midnight AliLaguna from the airport; I can't stress enough the importance of reading everyone's advice on how to find the hotel
- love the location from the outside, and breathtaking marble floors
- as of mid-April, construction still going on the side towards towards San Marco
- very clean rooms, and outstanding bathroom
- bed is European style: twins pushed together, and really hard; some people prefer a firm bed, but I personally walked liked a 95-year old for the next few days; bedsheets were AAAMAZING!
- reception and concierge were very helpful; unfortunately the computer system kept crashing several times while there, which created a bit of confusion at times
- the only low-light we had was resorting to ordering room service because of the late hour; a chicken sandwich that would otherwise be 2 Euro at the corner store ended up being 40 Euro (cost and "cover charge" - the later was a novelty, but I think it's a European practice).
- we would definitely stay there in the future!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hichoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

After reading the mixed reviews of this hotel, we booked with some trepidation. We need not have worried.

We arrived by water taxi to a steady helping hand from one of the bellmen and walked through the very beautiful public spaces to the desk. We had to wait to check-in, but that was because of the busy hour. We were given a lovely, big room but because of construction noise we asked to be moved. (Note that the noise only came through if you opened the window.) Not only were we moved, but the front desk staff person who helped us walked us to the new room to make sure we were satisfied. It was smaller than our original room, but just as pleasing. And clean. And the windows opened onto quiet.

Other reviewers have complained about the prices -- but the prices are very high everywhere in Venice.
One or two of the concierge staff struck me as haughty -- but there's a lot of that in Venice and there is such depth in the concierge staff that it is easy to work with a concierge staff member that you find congenial.
The wifi is spotty -- so what.

The location of this hotel, whether approaching by boat or on foot, is terrific and the outdoor part of the bar is absolutely fabulous. Late in the afternoon, after a day spent sightseeing and before an evening out, nothing can beat it. On the water. A retractable roof and walls. Wonderful cookies with your tea or savory snacks with your drink: it's heaven.

I was sorry to leave and I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CDinDC20009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012

This was our first stop in Italy after nearly a week in southern Spain. We were smart and pre-purchased the water taxi transfer from the Marco Polo airport in Venice to the hotel (something that is a must especially at night). We arrived about 11 pm to an excellent staff that was ready to serve. Luggage removed from the boat and brought directly to our room. The room as clean and very pleasant. The king-sized bed was soft and the bathroom was surprisingly large with a full bathtub and shower.

We were equally impressed by the hotel desk staff as they were willing to recommend several excellent restaurants around the city and had no problems in showing us the routes to take. (Although we did get lost a few times).

The only negatives (which prevented me from the 5th star): The Internet service was expensive and wireless was only available from the hotel lobby. Don’t make the mistake of using the WebTV service from the room as most websites are not optimized for this browser. (We could not use it for banking or even Facebook). The second complaint was the breakfast. It was very unorganized and it wasn’t clear as if this was included as part of the hotel room charge, or was extra. We sat down and were pretty much snubbed by the wait staff (it seemed like we were on our own for even utensils). We asked for coffee several times and were apparently forgotten. We chose to not use the hotel restaurant as we didn’t want to taint our short (3-day) stay with this negative impression.

All in all a solid 4-stars. Good view, well trained staff and clean and well-maintained property. A bit on the pricey side but you get what you pay for.

Room Tip: I would recommend an upgrade to a room with a view of the opening to the Grand Canal. We were unabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Baglioni Hotel Luna
Baglioni Hotel Luna
#60 of 384 in Venice
1,637 reviews
San Marco
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Castello
Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Bauer Palazzo
Bauer Palazzo
#78 of 384 in Venice
2,572 reviews
Castello
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#50 of 384 in Venice
1,281 reviews
Castello
Hotel Londra Palace
Hotel Londra Palace
#17 of 384 in Venice
1,576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Europa & Regina, Venice? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Europa & Regina, Venice

Address: San Marco 2159, 30124 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Venice
#44 Business Hotel in Venice
#60 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#68 Family Hotel in Venice
#88 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: ₹ 18,519 - ₹ 63,056 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Europa & Regina, Venice 5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly positioned on the Grand Canal with sweeping views of the city's most iconic landmarks, The Westin Europa and Regina places guests right in the heart of the city's artistic and theatre districts, in a discreet setting just off the fashionable Calle XXII Marzo and steps from Piazza San Marco. Our unmatched selection of rooftop terrace suites, Grand Canal rooms, restyled accommodations, and Grand Canal-side venues with nutrition-rich proposals are settings of relaxed indulgence where guests can be at their best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ostrovok, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Europa & Regina, Venice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Hotel Europa And Regina, Venice
Westin Venice
Westin Hotel Europa Regina Venice
Venice Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing