We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,487)
Filter reviews
2,487 results
Traveller rating
1,530
774
138
29
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,530
774
138
29
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews train station grand canal water taxi luxury room people mover minute walk beautiful hotel cruise terminal small canal hotel restaurant balcony overlooking the canal convenient location our honeymoon breakfast buffet is easy access venetian style st marks
Filter
Updating list...
1,206 - 1,211 of 2,487 reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2011

This was booked for our silver wedding trip and I am so glad we upgraded the room to superior double with canal view.

We were given a room with a a large balcony to sit out and watch Venice go by, this made for a superior experience.Looking at the hotel from th outside it appeared that there were only four rooms with this facility (One for each floor)

The hotel itself is very close to the bus station, this made for a easy transfer. Do not underestimate this, as we watched lots of travellers carrying luggage all over Venice, and they didn't look happy!

Another advantge of the location is that you are close to the canal bus terminus.

The room itself was fine, with good facilities, and a large, comfortable king size bed.

We did not take breakfast in the hotel, as we thought that 50 euros for both of us was obscene, so we did what the Italians do and found a coffee shop for coffee & a croissant for 5-10 euros.

The hotel did not seem to have too many facilities justifying it's 4 star rating, but as we were in Venice, we never intended to stay in the hotel much anyway.

As far as location is concerned the downside to the fact that the hotel is near to the bus station, is that it is quite a distance to St Mark's Square, about 30 minutes walk.

Highly recommended, but i'm not sure we would have enjoyed it as much had we not had the balcony.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a balcony room.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2011

Wonderful location - close to water and bus/taxi transport, as well as the ship terminal. Ate in several of the close by restaurants and good food throughout. Had a small but a very comfortable bar lounge area.

Hotel desk staff was responsive to several questions and quite helpful and courteous.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GrandTour305513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Excellent hotel fronting Tolentini Canal and Papadopoli Gardens. Top floor room with large balcony overlooking extensive areas of Venice and gardens. Hotel is within easy walking distance of Piazzale Roma (direct bus access to and from airport) and close to people mover for cruise passengers. Room provided good facilities (slightly dated). In the morning from our balcony we were able watch numerous cruise liners sailing along the Giudecca Canal to the cruise terminals (including the "Neuw Amsterdam" which we joined that day for the start of a Mediterranean Cruise.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Resort305243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

If you don´t want to stay very close to the St. Mark.s area and you don´t want to walk a lot with lugage and stuff. Stay at the Papadoli. The rooms are very confortable, the breakfest is realy good, and there is a lot of litle good restaurants around. And if you want a really good tip: Forget about St.Mark´ Square. Venice is much more than a really crowded square. But if you really need to go there, the vaporetos or water taxis are a short steps away at Piazale Roma.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank FernandoGomes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

We recently stayed for two nights and had a lovely room overlooking a canal. Location was excellent, close to train station, lots of lovely restaurants and sights. Best bed and pillows we have had on our trip. Although the decor of the room was a little tired, it was still a lovely room, pleasant size and very comfortable. We would stay again without doubt.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kez1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews