We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tour of the Doge's Palace and St. Mark's Basilica”

DiscoveringVenice - Walking Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: DiscoveringVenice is run by Antonella, Eugenia and Federica. We are Registered Tourist Guides since 2000. We offer a wide range of private tours. We also offer semi-private tours: a perfect way to share costs with other travellers like you. The private tours we organize can be either on foot or by private boat (Gran Canal, small canals, islands of the lagoon - Murano, Burano, Torcello). We are keen to organize customized exclusive tours to make you discover the "hidden Venice" and its back-streets, as well as the monumental classic Venice.
El Dorado Hills, California, United States
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tour of the Doge's Palace and St. Mark's Basilica”
Reviewed 21 May 2012

We were in Venice the first week of May, and Federica Chiuch gave us an excellent tour of the Doge's Palace and St. Mark's Basilica. Our situation required special attention as one of the four people in our group was in a wheelchair. Federica was well prepared and well aware of the obstacles that these sites presented for the wheelchair. She navigated through the back doors and lift to get us access. She was sensitive to the limitations of where we could get with the wheelchair and of making sure we could get to all of the major areas in both sites. She was knowledgeable about the history and details and was able to answer all of the numerous questions we had about both places. Federica was personable and made our tours very enjoyable. Her guidance and information greatly enhanced our learning and enjoyment of both places, and we would certainly recommend her to others. - Larry G., California

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Larry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

833 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    797
    34
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Perfect Introduction to Venice!!!”
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Like others, my husband and I learned about Discovering Venice Walking Tours through Trip Advisor and we are so, so glad we booked a tour with Antonella on the first day of our short 2-day visit! It was, as I had hoped,the best way to get acclimated in a new country where we didn't speak the language, and where everything was so new to us. Meeting Antonella was like meeting a friend who could not only explain the complexities of Venetian history, but who also gave us frank and very useful information about shopping for glass and food--directing us to a wonderful pizza restaurant we otherwise would not have found--and taking us through a great number of captivating byways between St. Marks Square and the Rialto district. She even thougtfully included a little surprise for us, enabling us to take part in an aspect of Venetian daily life--a canal crossing on a Traghetto, a truly memorable, albeit brief experience. Antonella combines genuine warmth and vivacity with tremendous knowledge of art, history, architecture, all of which we benefitted from. Her English too is excellent. The tour with her played a large part in making our visit to Venice so wonderfully unforgettable!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank GrandTravel455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warszawa
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What a great way to see Venice!”
Reviewed 11 May 2012

My husband and I have just returned from a weekend break in Venice and as it was our first visit we decided to book a private tour guide. Federica led us perfectly through the maize of things to see and no matter what she spoke of, it was done with enthusiasm and competence. Her knowledge about the history and the art of Venice is overwhelming and she is a treasure as it comes to learning about every day life of Venetian people. Do not miss to ask her about restaurant recommendations as she really knows where the best places are. Thank you very much, Federica:)

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank AniaRadzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa FL
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful Tour”
Reviewed 9 May 2012 via mobile

After traveling through Europe for over a month and having seen enough churches and castles, we asked Antonella to show us Venice through her eyes. She took us through the quiet back streets of Venice and not only explained to us the history of the area but showed us the way of life of the Venitians who live there

She has a wonderful way of explaining the background and history of a very beautiful city. We would recommend Antonella to the "first timer" and to the individual who wants to see a different Venice away from the crowds.

Helpful?
4 Thank MiguelTampaFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Venice Tour Guide”
Reviewed 7 May 2012

We booked Antonella for a 3 hour private tour following reviews on tripadvisor. We started with a tour of the Doge's Palace, St. Mark's Square and finished with an hour's private water taxi ride. This was our first trip to Venice and we would highly recommend anyone to book Antonella for a similar first time trip, she is a most pleasant and knowledgeable guide. Don't leave it until you arrive to book your private guide as you will be disappointed!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnRich52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed DiscoveringVenice - Walking Tours also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to DiscoveringVenice - Walking Tours? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing