We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family accommodation in heart of Venice”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Venice
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Istituto San Giuseppe
Ranked #21 of 219 Speciality Lodging in Venice
Scone, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Family accommodation in heart of Venice”
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Our family stayed at the Istituto and enjoyed the central location and character of our accommodation. The rooms are basic, but extremely clean and have everything you need, including WiFi. We enjoyed seeing the children at school on our way out in the morning. The Istituto is a lovely building and we felt very at home.

Room Tip: We had two rooms with three beds each - not sure if they do doubles. Very quiet and secure location
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    40
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
30
37
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Istituto San Giuseppe is a wonderful place to stay in Venice very close to both St Marks square and the Rialto bridge . I have just stayed there with two friends on a four night trip, the room was spotless, the beds comfortable and there was plenty of hot water . It was lovely and peaceful and the Nuns were very sweet and helpful. We found a coffee shop nearby for breakfast and had fun finding great places to eat in the evening. One evening went to a concert and got back in plenty of time for the curfew. I will certainly stay there again and recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2011

I've stayed at the Istituto San Giuseppe four times and loved every visit. I've been on my own as well as with my family. I don't speak much Italian and had no problems communicating with the nuns. As long as you respect the curfew you'll be fine. The location is beyond excellent. The rooms are comfortable. I highly recommend for people to stay here.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Escondido, California
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2011

I stayed here three nights last summer. The location is wonderful, right on a canal. The nunnery is big, but nice and quiet. My room was on the 4th floor, big enough with two single beds, nice window with a view over the real venice. The a/c worked great and the bathroom was modern and large for a single room. In an expensive city like Venice, this is the best deal you're going to get- less than $60/night. The only downside I can think of is if you're a big party person and want to be out past their curfew of midnight. After midnight they apparently don't answer the door and let you in the main door (I didn't test this rule).

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Stayed here around Easter 2011 when hotel prices when through the roof- this is reasonably priced, secure, comfortable and well located accommodation. The nuns are very helpful, but communicaton limited if you do not speak italian.

Had a room with twin beds which was spotlessly clean but beds slightly on the small side. There is a nightly curfew since this is a convent, but respect their rules and you will enjoy your stay. The location is fantastic, very near the Piazza San Marco with plenty of shops and restaurants around.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Novotel Venezia Mestre
#154 of 385 in Venice
2,083 reviews
Giudecca
Hotel Giudecca Venezia
Hotel Giudecca Venezia
#134 of 385 in Venice
493 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Gorizia A La Valigia
Hotel Gorizia A La Valigia
#142 of 385 in Venice
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorsoduro / Accademia
HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice
HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice
#33 of 385 in Venice
2,076 reviews
San Marco
Palazzo Selvadego
Palazzo Selvadego
#159 of 385 in Venice
395 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Mignon
Hotel Mignon
#149 of 385 in Venice
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Istituto San Giuseppe

Property: Istituto San Giuseppe
Address: Ponte della Guerra 5402, 5402 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 219 Speciality Lodging in Venice
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Istituto San Giuseppe Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing