We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great place - for being Venice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Ranked #59 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place - for being Venice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

First of all - the concierge desk was outstanding and arriving to the entrance by water taxi is really cool!
But trapped in the tourist trap of Venice it is not surprise that the staff in general do not manage to show much excitement over yet more tourists at their hotel.
Fortunately we had booked through Starwoods and got upgraded and some extra smiles upon check-in, and the rooms we got were outstanding. Quality of the room service food was average for a 5-star, as was the breakfast, but the breakfast room + terrace at the top is world unique.
So all in if in Venice you will be just fine to to stay here, you will be ripped off as in most tourist traps, and I guess the staff and mgmt do the best they can can to not appear as the fat cats they no doubt must be with the prices paid.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank G B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,769 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,681
    576
    266
    141
    105
See reviews for
487
1,590
78
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (481)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canton, Georgia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

When we ended our 14 day mediterreanean cruise we stayed 2 extra days in Venice and stayed at The Hotel Danieli near San Marco Plaza.We used our Starwood Membership to make the reservations and had a 4 room suite with a spectacular view of the canal and had a wonderful breakfast at the rooftop La Terrezza Restaurant.Overall it was a breathtaking 3 days in romantic Venice

Room Tip: book your water taxi in advance to go to the airport
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WillieMillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecutiveOffice72, Manager at Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Dear WillieMillie,
Thank you again for your feedback and we do hope that you will continue to make many more enjoyable visits to the Hotel Danieli and Starwood Hotels & Resorts. We very much look forward to seeing you again.
Yours sincerely again.
Christophe Mercier
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

You cannot fail to be impressed by the grandeur of this hotel, despite its inconspicous entrance just along from the Doge's Palace. The hallway, the vast salons dripping in art and mirrors on each floor, the staircases and the stunning views from the terrace. Our room (marketed as a super deluxe something or other) was in the old building and was delightfully light and Venitian, if a tad compact. However the canal noise early the next morning led us to ask to be moved the next day which the Danieli did, and upgraded us, to a room which was actually a bit more homogenous executive style (but quiet) so that was great too. The reception staff and the concienrge staff were friendly and helpful at all times. Here's the downside for us..... dinner attracted a €16 cover charge each - now this may be fine sitting on the terrace on a summer evening, but on a rainy April night shut indoors, I did not feel this was worth it (Go to the Londra Palace for dinner instead). Plus I had left my glasses in the first room in our rush to pack. Despite two days of housekeeping and prep for further guests, the hotel could not find them. However, when I did get to the room, I quickly picked them up from under the bedside table from where they had fallen. Not a great example of their housekeeping standards. Take a duster......

Room Tip: Old building rooms have more character, but tose on the canal side may be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KBites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecutiveOffice72, Manager at Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Dear KBites,
Thank you for posting your comments on TripAdvisor. I am pleased to learn that on the whole you enjoyed your stay as well as appreciating the upgrade extended. My apologies for any inconsistency in service you may have experienced during your stay which I have addressed with the respective departmental heads to ensure that Luxury Collection Brand Standard is delivered in a consistent way. I am truly sorry if you felt that the Housekeeping Department did not handle the temporary loss of your glasses in an appropriate manner, I can assure you that this would not have been their intention.
I sincerely hope that your mixed experiences will not deter you from choosing the Hotel Danieli for your next visit. Yours sincerely, Christophe Mercier Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

We stayed over Easter for 4 nights having stayed one night at the Foscari Palace because there were no rooms available at the Danieli on the day we arrived in Venice. Arriving and departing has to be by water to appreciate the hotel and Venice -we had pre booked our transfers through venicedriver.com who were very professional and punctual. Check in was very quick and I confirmed with the concierge as to the time of our table reservation which he had arranged via email. I found the staff to be very friendly - cleaning, bar, restaurant and office staff were all attentive. Our room was spotless with a large bathroom and plenty of space. Bed was very comfortable. (room classed as a premium deluxe). A number of the suites are currently being refurbished so are not available. Irons are not allowed in the rooms because of fire regs so you might want to ensure you are a good packer. Bar prices can appear expensive but a bottle of Bardolino at 35 euros is good value. Having eaten at a number of michelin restaurants we can say our meal here was on par with anything we have had elsewhere. We celebrated our 30th anniversary with an almost 3 hour evening meal - Easter Sunday this year. Food and service was excellent. Cheese and Port was provided although not on the menu. Yes it is expensive but we knew that before we booked this hotel - the Starwood Preferred Guest scheme allows you to price match room rates offered on other sites so check before booking. I would have expected internet to be "free" and an "acknowledgement" of our 30th (the Wynn Las Vegas and Mena House Giza managed to on our 25th). We had a wondeful time.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peeweeLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecutiveOffice72, Manager at Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Dear peeweeLiverpool,
Thank you for choosing The Hotel Danieli for your visit to Venice, it was a pleasure to have you stay with us. We were thrilled to read that you thought so highly of Restaurant Terrazza and the service you received from our team. we have already passed on your kind words and the are greatly appreciated. In regards to the internet charges, allow us to say that we have just implemented a free wireless connection in the public areas, thank you for your undestanding.
Yours sincerely,
Christophe Mercier
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
usa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

Stayed here for a couple nights to celebrate my engagement while in Venice with the assumption that it is maintained to the highest standards of a starwood property. Far from it. For a "luxury collection" hotel, this hotel seems to manage to a different set of standards. Service was satisfactory in some areas but very poor in others. Among the worst i've experienced at a Starwood and I've been to dozens of SPG properties around the world.

Good things: helpful concierges, great bell hops, good location.
Poor things: inattentive front desk reception, poor room service, even the nicer rooms are terrible.

I'm an SPG gold and was told I received a "double upgrade" The room was extremely tiny, faced into another building, and had an uncomfortable bed, tiny closet and desk. Even for venice this room seemed like the most basic of rooms. When asking the reception desk about it, they said they had no better rooms available. When logging onto the WiFI and begin taken directly to their site, I decided to check. Turns out there were much improved rooms that were larger with lagoon views available that day and the following day during my stay. The hotel wasnt booked up! When bringing this up with the reception, they were completely rude and said the hotel was 100% sold out. Even though it wasn't. They were suspiciously defensive in saying it too. I don't blame reception as much as management because they are probably trained to not upgrade SPG customers. They claimed they would talk to the manager and get back to me the next morning, at which point I could pay a surcharge for a lagoon view room. They never called me the next AM. They also failed to replace waters from the mini fridge and when I requested it, they said they would be right up and never came.

Hands down, this property doesn't care about or honor SPG starwood status and for those of us who travel and spend our time picking out starwood properties, we should receive the benefit of the room upgrades.

The service at reception was hands down the worst I've had at a hotel, even much lower grade hotels. A particular woman ignored us, and treated us very rudely during our stay. Worst service in Italy. The concierges were very helpful though and attentive which really made for a better experience.

For a luxury property charging as much as they do you expect so much more. If you see Frederica at the front desk when you check in avoid her in particular. we walked up to her to ask a question a couple times and she didnt even make eye contact or say "be right with you" she just stared at her computer screen.

Room Tip: dont rely on any starwood upgrades here, even if they have open available rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank yankeehotelfoxtrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
San Marco
Baglioni Hotel Luna
Baglioni Hotel Luna
#42 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,470 reviews
San Marco
The Westin Europa & Regina, Venice
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Londra Palace
Hotel Londra Palace
#22 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,419 reviews
San Marco
Bauer Palazzo
Bauer Palazzo
#67 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
Castello
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#45 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel

Property: Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Address: Castello, 4196 | Riva degli Schiavoni, 30122 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Price range (per night): ₹ 21,796 - ₹ 55,275
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury, sophistication, and timeless elegance combined with contemporary comfort. This is what to expect when you choose to stay at Hotel Danieli. Evoking the opulence for which Venice is known, you'll find us right next to Piazza San Marco, placing the masterpieces of Venetian art at your doorstep. Accompanying you home long after your visit are the magnificent panoramas to be enjoyed from Restaurant Terrazza Danieli and the Danieli Wine Suite, exceptionally matched with eno-culinary journeys of indigenous ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood EMEA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ostrovok, Agoda and Prestigia so you can book your Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing