We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“San Marco”

Basilica di San Marco
Book In Advance
More Info
US$ 28.76*
and up
Skip The Line: St Mark's Basilica Guided Tour
More Info
US$ 28.76*
and up
Skip the Line: Saint Mark's Basilica Guided Tour
More Info
US$ 65.90*
and up
Skip The Line: St Mark's Basilica and Doge's Palace Tours
Ranked #3 of 740 things to do in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Blending the architectural styles of East and West, Venice's magnificent basilica was consecrated in 832 AD as an ecclesiastical building to house the remains of St. Mark.
Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“San Marco”
Reviewed 26 April 2012

You won't know whether to look up at the astonishing mosaics or down at the breathtaking floors. It's free. Check your bag (across the square down an alley to the right of the zodiac clock tower) before joining the queue. Quite literally stunning.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Matt_and_Wils_Mum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

21,371 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14,239
    5,170
    1,557
    295
    110
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Monterrey
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Incredible building and the altars were magnificent. Just looking at the bronze horses was worth the very steep climb to get to them. Beautiful tiled floors. A must see, even if there is a long line to get in.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Emmamty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“beautiful”
Reviewed 26 April 2012

beautiful church,words are not enough you need to visit it

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank stap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KL, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Church of Gold”
Reviewed 25 April 2012

This basilica is the cathedral church of the Roman Catholic Archdiocese of Venice. It is located on the Piazza San Marco, adjacent and connected to the Doge's Palace. It is one of the finest examples of Byzantine architecture and unlike any other church, is decorated with golden mosaics and a magnificent 10th century altarpiece.

Entry to the basilica is free, however, the line to get in can be long though the visit to the basilica will only last about 10-15 minutes.

To avoid the long queue, i followed other advices to reserve my visit and printed the document received. When i saw the long queue, i was glad that i reserved in advance, however, when i presented the invoice i printed, i was turned down for access. Why? Because I did not print out the right document, the voucher with a barcode which sent as separate attachment, not the invoice which i was asked to print-out as they couldn't grant access with that regardless of whatever circumstances. After wasted an hour (with nothing achieved), i waited in line to get in. Luckily, the line moved very fast that day, i was in within half an hour.....god know why i was so silly then, wasted an hour trying to explain.

With such strict entry requirements (no photo, filming, shorts, large tote, bagpack or rucksacks inside), one will expect to see a lot of things in the Basilica. Sorry, nothing much to see except the golden mosaics mentioned above, which by the way were barely visible as it was dark inside since they did not turn-on all the lights even though it was drizzling and dark outside.

If you ask me now whether it is necessary to pay extra 1 Euro to skip the line, i will tell you "no" since the line moves very fast and there is nothing much to see inside. Even if you pay, it is fine. Just treat it as contribution to the Basilica, like i did.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank daphydo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing site!”
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Fascinating church full of treasures looted during the Crusades. Notice the floors, warped and wavy from years of water. Don't miss St. Mark's!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank 4C's
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Basilica di San Marco also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Basilica di San Marco? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing