We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible experience”
Review of Ca' Zora

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ca' Zora
Ranked #93 of 215 Speciality Lodging in Venice
St Paul, MN
Level Contributor
149 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Horrible experience”
Reviewed 6 January 2012

This was the bait and switch place I mentioned in my glowing review of Hotel Scandinavia. We were shown photographs of a beautifully furnished apartment and given something bordering on a tenement. The only positive thing is that it was clean. There was no hot water, The TV had broken switches, the stove was broken, the plaster was peeling an concealed behind some sort of chalkboards. We asked for breakfast at a certain time. We waited 30 mintes after the appointed time and then packed our stuff and left. This one night cost us 200 euro as we had to prepay.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fischerpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SalvAnTourism, Proprietario at Ca' Zora, responded to this review, 24 February 2012
Dear Guest,

we are deeply sorry for your bad experience at Ca' Zora. However, we'd like to point out few things that can't be true.

We want to begin saying where you are completely right: at that time the apartment where you stayed in hasn't been restored yet. So, the wall behind a decorative panel placed began to peel off. Last summer the bedroom walls has been restored, so now it is not a problem at all.

There are few points of your review that we can't accept anyway. TV and the stove that you mention to be broken have been working since we opened up on March 2010. For safety sometimes we pull the plug: of course any reasonable person in the world would check the plug in before settling with the idea of not-working device.

As the TV and the stove, the heating was perfectly working. We know the water heater sometimes can be a bit slow to produce hot water, but never gave us any trouble.

We repeat again: in our accomodation the breakfast is served ONLY if you have no an access to the kitchenette. The suite where you stayed in has it, so we wonder which kind of breakfast you were waiting for. This is always been our way, we always explained how it works. Probably with you has been a misunderstanding.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Scandinavia, they are nice people we work with sometimes.

The last thing we'd like wonder about your opinion is why you would write such a bad review almost a year later your stay.

Anyway, thank you for giving us the chance to explain how Ca' Zora works.

Regards,

Salvatore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    9
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
5
20
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2011

Fantastic location. Great apartment. Cozy. Nice beds and bathrooms. Kitchen nook was more than ample for simple meals. Filippo was amazingly helpful and friendly. We will be back! Oh, we shared the place with our friends - another couple - and there was plenty of space for everyone. Our flight left Marco Polo airport really early...Filippo arranged for an early-morning boat taxi with Tony...everything worked like clockwork. Grazie mille, ragazzi!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tpdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

We stayed at Ca' Zora for 2 nights and had a fantastic stay. The location is excellent, very close to the Rialto and San Marco square. The owners took us through all of the local sights and recommended some local restaurants which were both excellent and cheap (€0.80 for a glass of red wine!). Breakfast was fairly basic but did the job, and water pressure was quite low (read a trickle) but these were minor issues overall, as the service and advice of the owners more than made up for any issues. I would recommend Ca' Zora to friends and family (have already done so), and to anybody else looking for well located, reasonably priced accommodation in Venice, 2 situations that are all to rare in a town renowned for its high prices.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sparr0w81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2011

The best things about this place are 1) the two guys who run the place and their incredible helpfulness and kindness and 2) the location, literally 5 minutes walk from San Marco square. We had 4 kids tagging along and stayed in the "suite" - a 2-bedroom, 2-bathroom apartment - where we spent two comfortable nights. We paid EUR 30 per head per night without breakfast, which we felt was extremely good value for money. I understand that one could have breakfast if desired. Highly recommended

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stefanosala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2011

We stayed at Ca Zora for 4 nights and after spending a week in a rather average B&B in Rome this place was perfect. It is just 5 minutes away from San Marco and a major boat stop (from which you can also go to all of the islands) and there is also a supermarket next door and a public laundry.
The room was clean, the bed soft and comfortable, had aircon and wi-fi in the room and you can even choose what you want for breakfast.
The owners were were friendly and helpful.
Definitely recommend this B&B!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anutka_milashka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Bed And Breakfast Ca' Luisa
Giudecca
Generator Hostel Venice
Santa Croce
HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice
HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice
#34 of 385 in Venice
2,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Giudecca
Hilton Molino Stucky Venice Hotel
Giudecca
Hotel Giudecca Venezia
Hotel Giudecca Venezia
#129 of 385 in Venice
489 reviews
Novotel Venezia Mestre
#155 of 385 in Venice
2,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ca' Zora? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ca' Zora

Property: Ca' Zora
Address: Castello, Ramo Grimani 4860, 30122 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 215 Speciality Lodging in Venice
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,976 - ₹ 16,050
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now picture this. You walk in. The photos you've seen on internet are fakes. Where you are in, it's actually a stinking dark wet hole. The bed is a bed-bugs house and the bathroom resembles a crackhouse. That's because you haven't booked my house! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Ca' Zora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing