We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attention to Detail”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Al Duca di Venezia
Ranked #43 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Panjim, India
Level Contributor
156 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Attention to Detail”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012

We were into our second week in Italy (after Rome and Florence), and we booked at this hotel much before, based on the reviews online....and we were not disappointed. The hotel is in an old palazzo (palace) of one of the Duke of Venice. Although, it is not in the Grand Canal, you can glimpse at the canal from the hotel entrance.

More on the location - if you arrive by train or at Piazzale Roma (shuttle from airport reaches here) , you can safely rely on the hotel's advice to follow the "yellow" signs to Museum of National History (which is next to the hotel). I had also got a more complex set of directions from Google maps and after 2 "Calles" (roads), I gave up and just followed the signs. If you have heavy 'holiday' luggage, avoid walking to the hotel - the bridges make it cumbersome. Take the waterbus instead.

The room was excellent (we got a superior room) with a separate bed for our 10 year old and had all the amenities expected of a 4 star, including free wi-fi and surprise-surprise English TV channels (CNN, BBC and EuroNews). Small touches like the elder-friendly bathrooms also set it apart.

Breakfast was the Continental buffet at the small, cosy dining area. There are good restaurants serving Italian food just a short walk away. Although for Venetian cuisine, you will need to go a little towards Rialto or even better near San Marco.

All the signs to Rialto bridge or St Mark's square are given and you will not get lost. Although, even if you do, its worth enjoying getting lost in the maze of houses!

Thanks to the staff of Al Duca Di Venezia who were courteous and provided service with a smile.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tripwiz_in
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,034 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    690
    279
    48
    5
    12
See reviews for
202
662
13
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

My wife and I stayed here for two nights in May as part of our honeymoon trip around Italy. We had booked a superior room because we wanted our room in Venice to have the "Wow!" factor. So it was with some surprise when we opened the door to our 'Superior' room and said, "oh...".

The room we got was identical (although apparently a little larger) to the photo of the 'Classic' room on the website. Instead of a grand room with high ceilings and tall windows, we got a small room with a sloping roof. It had small windows set into the ceiling that you simply couldn't see out of at all. The sloping roof continued into the small bathroom where there was a massive wooden beam just above the toilet. This beam and my head became closely acquainted on more than one occasion during our stay.

I mentioned to the gentleman on reception that ours didn't seem to be the same as the 'Superior' rooms on the website and was bluntly told that ours WAS a 'Superior' room. And that seemed to be the end of that! He explained that we should have specifically asked for one of the rooms in the photos. Right..… Generally, customers should expect to receive what it shown on the website, not have to ask for it specifically! He left me walking away feeling very annoyed that we had been tricked into paying a lot for not very much - not the greatest customer service. But more to the point, we missed the 'Wow!' factor we wanted from our room on our special trip.

I see now that (currently) picture 138 on tripadvisor's traveller photos is of the room we had. It is labelled 'Classic room', and was 'Provided by management'!! So it seems that the hotel CAN have it both ways.

We also asked at reception to book us on a walking tour of Venice. The company they recommended did not start their tours for a few weeks. The lady on reception tried to call and see if anyone from the company could take us on a tour, but when this proved fruitless, she made no attempt at all to even recommend a different company. So we walked to the tourist info and 5 minutes later we were booked on a different tour that was great.

I have to finish by saying that the location is fabulous. It has a definite 'locals' feel about it, which is a God-send after traipsing around the rest of Venice. We had dinner at some wonderful and inexpensive restaurants nearby, and loved the local square also. If we go back to Venice, we'll definitely stay in the same area - just not necessarily at this hotel.

Room Tip: According to the hotel receptionist, you have to specifically ask for one of the 'Superior'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoyAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

Very gratious and accommodating staff all hours of the day or evening. Located in a quiter less tourist focused area, yet close walking distance to train station, St Mark's, seafood and produce market and shops. Wonderful place for first timers or repeat visitors.

Room Tip: Rooms away from museum next door are quiter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnkoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Byron Center, Michigan
Level Contributor
65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

Location and quality staff. Ask for the red room there are two, one is a superior and well worth it. Everything is close in Venice, but the hotel puts you in the middle in a quiet area of town by the Grand Canal. Some good restaurants close by also. Breakfast is typical of the area and plenty to eat.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ral425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

A really lovely hotel in a great location in Venice. As others have said it is far from the tourist throngs, making for a peaceful look at the 'real' Venice. The staff were all excellent.

Though it was still a continental style breakfast, it was one of the best breakfast spreads we saw on our stay in Italy.

We had to leave early to catch our flight out on our last day and the staff was very accommodating. They put the full breakfast assortment out over an hour early and the person working the front desk even made us cappuccinos.

I would definitely stay here again if we ever return to Venice.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Albanite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Ca' Zusto Venezia
Hotel Ca' Zusto Venezia
#52 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
Hotel Antiche Figure
#10 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,483 reviews
Santa Croce
HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice
HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice
#36 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Sant'Antonin
Hotel Sant'Antonin
#16 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
Cannaregio
Arcadia Boutique Hotel
Arcadia Boutique Hotel
#26 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
Castello
Hotel Palazzo Vitturi
Hotel Palazzo Vitturi
#31 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Al Duca di Venezia? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Al Duca di Venezia

Property: Hotel Al Duca di Venezia
Address: Santa Croce, 1739 | Fontego dei Turchi, 30135 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,955 - ₹ 26,689
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Al Duca di Venezia 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Al Duca di Venezia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing