We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice small hotel off the beaten path”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Al Duca di Venezia
Ranked #46 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
Level Contributor
236 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“nice small hotel off the beaten path”
Reviewed 24 April 2012

The hotel is clean and well maintained and the staff friendly and helpful. Since it is out of the center, it is easier to get lunch and dinner nearby at reasonable prices.
If you have difficulty finding your way around in a strange location, avoid this hotel. While there are signs to the museum of Natural History from the train station (which is next door), there aren't many from Saint Mark's direction.

We had the triple room which would be great for 2 people, but the triple was a roll out bed that took up much of the extra space.

For a continental breakfast, it was fairly good - good coffee, muffins and rolls, some fruit, cold cuts and cheese.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barely alive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,042 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    695
    281
    48
    6
    12
See reviews for
203
667
13
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
LA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Hotel Al Duca Di Venezia is right by the natural history museum in Santa Croce. This is the residential neighborhood, with less tourist traffic, and one can real enjoy the daily life of venetian people. Maybe not ideal for certain people, but perfect for us (hideaway from the tour groups). The hotel staffs are warm and helpful, daily buffet breakfast is included. We had third floor yellow superior suite, even though there is no window (except the skylight), we loved the room. We were offered to switch to the red suite, but we love the yellow suite so much, we stayed there all three nights. River bus is very convenient, and there are two bus stops near the hotel, and boat dock is right in front of natural history museum if you are taking water taxi, and Casino building is cross the canal on other side and Rialto bridge is 10 min walk.

Room Tip: walk and take river bus is the only way to enjoy Venezia; and get lost in one of the back ally and c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosweet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oswestry, england
Level Contributor
574 reviews
213 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 320 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

We did a lot of research for a single night's stay in Venice - we wanted it to be perfect - and it was. We booked directly with the hotel because we wanted the red room on their website - when we arrived we were told we had been upgraded - to the bigger red room - they have more than one !

The room itself was huge, probably 20 x 18 feet, with a huge bed - a marble tiled bathroom with the deepest bath we've ever seen, and red everywhere - bedcover, cushions, sofa, wall. There was also aircon, which we even needed in March - and a safe. Everything was spotlessly clean, and the staff wonderfully friendly and helpful and all with very good English - we arrived very early and they took care of our bags while we explored.

Breakfast was very good, lots of pastries, bread, cheese, ham, cereals, yoghourt and all very good quality. There was also not only free wifi, but even a laptop connected to use free for those who didnt bring their own.

The only niggle was the pillows which were a little firm, but I'm sure if I'd have asked they would have found me soft ones, so helpful and eager to please were the ever smiling staff. The blurb also says that the hotel is a few steps from the Rialto bridge - even with a map it took us a good ten minutes.

Not cheap, but where is in Venice, and you could pay a lot more and not get this standard of care, quality and comfort. Almost a bargain.

Overall though, everything was just perfect - Long live la Duca

Room Tip: the RED one !
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shaunsouthern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danville, California
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Hotel Al Duca is a wonderful small bed and breakfast located in a very quiet neighborhood in the Santa Croce district. The hotel is well appointed and the rooms although small are beautifully decorated with lavishly colored wallpaper, draperies and bedspreads. The Murano glass chandelier in our room was a true work of art. Continental breakfast was served every morning with warm croissants, bagels, a selection of cold cut meats and cheese, fresh fruit and juices.Just a short walk to nearby vaporetto stops makes getting aroud Venice a breeze. The staff was attentive and very helpful with suggestions for sightseeing and recommended restaurants nearby. Overall a very good value for the moderate room rate.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a superior suite if you want more room. Classic double is a little tight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steveo145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Room-beautiful. Bathroom beautiful with good shower. Location-10-15 minutes walk from rialto bridge. Staff- very friendly and fluent in English. Breakfast-a good continental if not a bit loud with over keen staff! Value-not bad since it's Venice. Not complaints!

Room Tip: The red one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank apbp2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Ca' Zusto Venezia
Hotel Ca' Zusto Venezia
#54 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
Hotel Antiche Figure
#10 of 384 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,533 reviews
Santa Croce
HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice
HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice
#35 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Sant'Antonin
Hotel Sant'Antonin
#16 of 384 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
Cannaregio
Arcadia Boutique Hotel
Arcadia Boutique Hotel
#27 of 384 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
Castello
Hotel Palazzo Vitturi
Hotel Palazzo Vitturi
#32 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Al Duca di Venezia? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Al Duca di Venezia

Property: Hotel Al Duca di Venezia
Address: Santa Croce, 1739 | Fontego dei Turchi, 30135 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,859 - ₹ 24,802
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Al Duca di Venezia 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, ACCOR and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Al Duca di Venezia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing