We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small quiet hotel in venice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Al Duca di Venezia
Ranked #47 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Small quiet hotel in venice”
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Room-beautiful. Bathroom beautiful with good shower. Location-10-15 minutes walk from rialto bridge. Staff- very friendly and fluent in English. Breakfast-a good continental if not a bit loud with over keen staff! Value-not bad since it's Venice. Not complaints!

Room Tip: The red one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank apbp2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,058 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    704
    288
    48
    6
    12
See reviews for
209
675
14
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level 6 Contributor
252 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

This lovely little hotel is highly recommended. First of all, it's in a perfect location - use a map and aim for the natural history museum to find it. The area is quiet and away from the tourist crowds, while still being near the Grand Canal, San Stae vaporetto stop, and a short walk from the railway station and Piazzale Roma where the airport buses arrive (4 buses an hour, 20 min journey, absolute doddle). Nearby is a piazza frequented by locals - with cafes, a prosecco bar and several good restaurants in or near the square.
The hotel staff are very friendly and helpful, and the hotel itself beautifully furnished and maintained. Breakfast is continental, and fine without being exciting - though the coffee is good!
We enjoyed our stay and plan to return, though next time we'll book a 'superior' room. We hadn't realised that the 'classic' rooms are the exception rather than the norm. Ours was up in the eaves - very quiet and well-appointed with a comfortable bed, nice bathroom and great shower, but quite small and a bit hot under the sloping roof. Thankfully, there's a remote-controlled skylight that you can open: but when it is open, the blind can't be used so the sun wakes you up. If it doesn't, breakfast is served until a very civilised 10.45!

Room Tip: Superior rooms are worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G_M_NGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

This medium sized hotel, a former Dukes Palace or Merchant house, is just behind the Natural History Museum in Venice, about two stops along the grand canal form the railway station. It is close to a little square where local families and tourists both eat and mingle in the evening, which was something I didn't expect to see in Venice, and very much added to the character of our visit.
The hotel was spotless, recently refurbished with limestone scrolled details retained within the pristine modern bathroom, and the decor in the room was opulent with silks, venetian glass, and chenilles everywhere - which didn't seem contrived at all given the setting. The breakfast room was small, and the choice at breakfast was limited, but otherwise, this hotel was perfect.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happy-2-oblige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

We arrived in Venice by train, a bit hard to maneuver our suitcases over the cobbled paths, up the stairs and over the bridge... But when we arrived 10 mins later at Al Duca di Venezia it was WELL worth the walk! We got to the hotel and found out we were upgraded! The room was absolutely beautiful. The best hotel we stayed in while we traveled around Italy. The staff were super friendly and helpful! They gave us advice about food, shopping and sight seeing - with a very handy map included! Would recommend this place to absolutely everyone!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexiakuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

A group of 10 adults traveling together and we were all able to get rooms at this wonderful hotel; reserve early or it will be sold out! The hotel is beautifully decorated as well as the individual rooms. We asked that all our rooms were in the hotel and not in the adjoining building where they have an apartment. We all thought the location was perfect and enjoyed walking and getting lost (it's Venice!). It is near the train station and was an easy walk with luggage (only 1 or 2 bridges to get over). The breakfast was also nice and they made it especially for us since we were all leaving on an early train. Great service!

Room Tip: I would ask for a room in the hotel vs the apartment. Top floor room had lower ceilings and it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Ca' Zusto Venezia
Hotel Ca' Zusto Venezia
#54 of 385 in Venice
820 reviews
Hotel Antiche Figure
#11 of 385 in Venice
3,635 reviews
Cannaregio
Arcadia Boutique Hotel
Arcadia Boutique Hotel
#26 of 385 in Venice
848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
#31 of 385 in Venice
2,301 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Al Mascaron Ridente
Hotel Al Mascaron Ridente
#42 of 385 in Venice
206 reviews
Castello
Hotel da Bruno
Hotel da Bruno
#48 of 385 in Venice
1,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Al Duca di Venezia? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Al Duca di Venezia

Property: Hotel Al Duca di Venezia
Address: Santa Croce, 1739 | Fontego dei Turchi, 30135 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,611 - ₹ 23,969
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Al Duca di Venezia 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, ACCOR and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Al Duca di Venezia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing