We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Palazzo Giovanelli
Nearby Hotels
US$ 303
US$ 256
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 295
US$ 284
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 360
US$ 285
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Locanda ai Bareteri e B&B Allegri(Venice)(Great Value!)
US$ 128
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$ 326
US$ 215
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 262/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Ruzzini Palace Hotel(Venice)
US$ 942
US$ 277
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Arlecchino Hotel(Venice)(Great Value!)
US$ 309
US$ 182
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$ 230
US$ 179
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
US$ 267
US$ 257
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Novotel Venezia Mestre(Venice)(Great Value!)
US$ 174
US$ 109
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (824)
Filter reviews
824 results
Traveller rating
402
273
96
32
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
402
273
96
32
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssan staegrand canalmozart suiterialto bridgest staewater taxibeautiful hotelsuperior roombreakfast staffvaporetto stopoverlooking the gardenhotel entrancecanal viewour honeymoonmurano islandbreakfast roombooked this hotel
Filter
Updating list...
425 - 430 of 824 reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2012

We stayed at the Giovanelli for three nights in late March and were very pleasantly surprised at the quality, service,position and ambience of the hotel. We were made most welcome on a late arrival Sunday and one of us upgraded. The room had an aroma of cigarette smoke so we drew it to their attention and they fixed it immediately, offering us a 'fresh ' clean or to move rooms. We had no problem thereafter. It's not their fault if the previous occupant had smoked, against the rules. The directions on the web site are 95% accurate, could just do with a short addition that from the waterbus stop the hotel is immediately to the left, over the small bridge. The rooms were modern, good bath / shower. Plenty of hot water. Good continental breakfast, but the most outstanding feature is the staff. Nothing seems too much trouble, concierge patiently explaining everything in good enough English, late barman ensuring we all had a drink before he went home, rooms spotlessly cleaned, reception staff very helpful. When we came to leave on the final day, I said " we need to check out". "Why?" he said. That just about sums it up

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

We stayed here in Venice and it was clean, beautiful, great personnel, and an amazing location right off the water bus stop. Easy to get to, cheaper than other hotels closer to the square.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2012

Visited Venice in late January, after we had been given the wrong address for the hotel and wandering around Venice for a few hours with luggage in tow, we finally found Palazzo Giovanelli, being weary from an all day flight and getting lost, we were so openly welcomed into this fine hotel, the empathy for being lost was not lost on us and we were graciously brought to our room, modern elegance with old world charm, and class. The breakfast set-up was such a nice surprise of quality italian style of fine meats, pastries, coffee service, and most importantly friendly staff. I would recommend this Hotel, for a traveler who is discerning in quality without pretenciousness.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Abit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2011

Everything about Palazzo Giovanelli was top-rate - the staff were courteous and very helpful, the breakfasts were great, the hotel rooms were outstandingly appointed, and the Grand Canal location was just stunning (our view of the Ukranian Biennale pavilion installation next door at night was luminous.) And to echo one of the other reviewers, it's VERY nice to be a >little< off the beaten path and away from the Hordes, BUT the San Stae Vaporetto stop is right outside. Don't hesitate to stay here - it's great!!!

Room Tip: Anything overlooking the Grand Canal is great!!
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicholas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

We went to Venice in July. The areas around St. Mark's were packed with tourists -- so many it was sometimes hard to walk. It was also swelteringly hot.

This was part of the reason I so loved Palazzo Giovanelli. It's located away from the tourist traffic, in an area where you can wander uncrowded streets and alleys, browse menus at excellent little restaurants, and sit in a piazza with a gelato just watching birds. It made for a completely different experience of the city -- a place where your visual focus is on the buildings and canals and bridges instead of the sight of thousands of sweaty tourists.

Palazzo Giovanelli was also very easy to find. I didn't realize how important this was till we arrived in Venice, got off the ferry, and started looking for our hotel. It's right off the San Stae stop, so we dodged a bullet of having to drag our luggage through winding, confusing streets and alleys trying to get our bearings after a long train trip.

The hotel itself is really lovely. Our room was small but we were expecting that. The decor was modern and stylish -- very Italian -- with a nice marble bathroom and good-sized tub. The bed was comfortable and everything felt fresh and clean.

The in-room Internet had a weak connection. It only worked in certain spots in the room.

The public areas of the hotel were small but beautiful. (Definitely explore the upstairs floors to check out the breathtaking Murano glass chandeliers there.) The staff was always helpful and friendly and told us a little about the history of the hotel and Venice.

Breakfast was fine. Not the largest selection, but we were satisfied. The lounge area overlooking the Grand Canal was lovely. Sometimes at night we would walk a few steps out the hotel's front door and sit by large huge, stunning art installation at the San Stae stop watching the world go by on the Grand Canal and the lights twinkling off the water. It was perfect.

I'm SO glad our AAA travel agent recommended this hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeacheeMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews