We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel But Bad Staff Recommendations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Giovanelli
Ranked #130 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel But Bad Staff Recommendations”
Reviewed 4 April 2012

The hotel is new and beautiful. It is located next to one of the boat bus stops which Is convenient. Internet is $10 euros for the entire stay per device. The breakfast was included and had many options to choose from. The hotel staff is friendly but beware of the Murrano island Glass tour & tourist trap. The hotel staff encourages you to take a free boat taxi to the island of Murrano to watch glass be made. When you get there you watch how it is made for 10 minutes and are then put in a one on one high pressure sales situation. Guests are led to believe they will get a far superior product with all shipping and duties/taxes included in the very high prices of these items. We later learned this is not true, with previous customers complaining that they had been hit with huge shipping and duty/tax costs on delivery. After you are done with the tour and paperwork for whatever purchases made they ship you off the island so that you cannot see anything else on the island. This whole experience really soured our impression of Venice and the hotel for its recommendation. I would hope the hotel would stop this practice as it could ruin their reputation because it really is a beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Derek C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giovanellivenice, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Palazzo Giovanelli, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
Thank you very much for your positive comment on the hotel and we apologize sincerely
for your uncomfortable experience during the trip to Murano glass factory.

We provide such complementary service for visiting the Murano glass factory
as a part of a promotion of the beautiful and traditional millenary art of Venice,
that have always been appreciated by people all over the world for centuries.

We are very proud of this still-surviving art and this part of the Venetian history,
and regret the fact that many tourists do not make an effort to visit Murano Island
due to the inconvenience of having to take a boat ride from Fondamente Nuove.

This is why we provide for our guests, only if they wish, the free boat to a Murano Glass Factory,
dividing the cost with the glass factory that we trust, with their services and true artisan quality.
As it is written on our site , and in our directory you find n your room, the guests are not obliged to purchase any products.
Factory owners are happy enough with your simple visit, instead of not having anyone over,
and if you had the impression that you were pressured into buying something, it is completely contrary to what we expect.

We are very sorry if this is what happened to you and we will try and make sure it will not happen again.
We thank you, nonetheless, for drawing our attention to what happened and we’d love you to come back to our hotel
so that we can compensate your bitter experience with our enhanced services.

Hotel Palazzo Giovanelli and the Grand Canal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

765 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    370
    255
    90
    30
    20
See reviews for
108
541
10
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Banbury, England
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

We stayed at the Giovanelli for three nights in late March and were very pleasantly surprised at the quality, service,position and ambience of the hotel. We were made most welcome on a late arrival Sunday and one of us upgraded. The room had an aroma of cigarette smoke so we drew it to their attention and they fixed it immediately, offering us a 'fresh ' clean or to move rooms. We had no problem thereafter. It's not their fault if the previous occupant had smoked, against the rules. The directions on the web site are 95% accurate, could just do with a short addition that from the waterbus stop the hotel is immediately to the left, over the small bridge. The rooms were modern, good bath / shower. Plenty of hot water. Good continental breakfast, but the most outstanding feature is the staff. Nothing seems too much trouble, concierge patiently explaining everything in good enough English, late barman ensuring we all had a drink before he went home, rooms spotlessly cleaned, reception staff very helpful. When we came to leave on the final day, I said " we need to check out". "Why?" he said. That just about sums it up

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WdecBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cochrane, Canada
Level Contributor
115 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

We stayed here in Venice and it was clean, beautiful, great personnel, and an amazing location right off the water bus stop. Easy to get to, cheaper than other hotels closer to the square.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new orleans
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

Visited Venice in late January, after we had been given the wrong address for the hotel and wandering around Venice for a few hours with luggage in tow, we finally found Palazzo Giovanelli, being weary from an all day flight and getting lost, we were so openly welcomed into this fine hotel, the empathy for being lost was not lost on us and we were graciously brought to our room, modern elegance with old world charm, and class. The breakfast set-up was such a nice surprise of quality italian style of fine meats, pastries, coffee service, and most importantly friendly staff. I would recommend this Hotel, for a traveler who is discerning in quality without pretenciousness.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Abit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Andover
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2011

Everything about Palazzo Giovanelli was top-rate - the staff were courteous and very helpful, the breakfasts were great, the hotel rooms were outstandingly appointed, and the Grand Canal location was just stunning (our view of the Ukranian Biennale pavilion installation next door at night was luminous.) And to echo one of the other reviewers, it's VERY nice to be a >little< off the beaten path and away from the Hordes, BUT the San Stae Vaporetto stop is right outside. Don't hesitate to stay here - it's great!!!

Room Tip: Anything overlooking the Grand Canal is great!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicholas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Venice
Cannaregio
Foscari Palace
Foscari Palace
#94 of 385 in Venice
1,060 reviews
Hotel L'Orologio
#21 of 385 in Venice
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sina Palazzo Sant'Angelo
#28 of 385 in Venice
752 reviews
San Polo
Hotel Palazzo Barbarigo Sul Canal Grande
Cannaregio
Hotel Pesaro Palace
Hotel Pesaro Palace
#117 of 499 in City of Venice
856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Giovanelli? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Giovanelli

Property: Hotel Palazzo Giovanelli
Address: Santa Croce, San Stae, 2070, 30135 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Polo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #130 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,188 - ₹ 41,114
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Giovanelli 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Palazzo Giovanelli is located in the historic centre of Venice, enjoying the magnificent atmosphere and offering its guest private , quiet rooms, where a gentle stillness is interrupted only by the passing of gondolas and the flow of water in the canals. Elegant and romantic, 4 star Hotel Palazzo Giovanelli in Venice overlooks the Gran canal, enclosed between the splendid Church of san Stae and Ca’ Pesaro, with suites facing its green gardens and a waterside door to receive guests. The successful mix of decorations, in a perfect balance between modern and traditional, gives Hotel Palazzo Giovanelli an inviting and welcoming aspect, in tune with the impeccable quality of the service of a warm, highly professional and multilingual staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Giovanelli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing