We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Ai Due Principi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Ai Due Principi
Ranked #158 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

I am a very seasoned traveler and have never before posted anything negative about a hotel. My recent experience at Hotel ai due Principi in Venice, however, caused me to do so. I agreed to pay almost $200 per night more for a room that was advertised as having a canal view (my rate with taxes was some $540 per night). The hotel is located a few blocks from the Grand Canal on a rather small canal. I was assigned a room on the second floor of the hotel that, while on the canal side, had no view of the canal while my feet were on the ground. The canal on which the hotel is located is indeed very small and the window ledge of the hotel juts out and blocks the view of the canal for all persons except perhaps people who are well over 6 feet tall. When I saw this situation I inquired at the front desk about changing rooms and was told that nothing could be done for the first night because there were no other rooms available but that the clerk would check with his “Director” in the morning to see if we could be changed to the one room in the hotel with a balcony. We agreed but never heard anything from the hotel on the next day (during which I had to conduct business and thus was away form the hotel for most of the day). The following morning, I asked to speak to the Director who was present. As it turns out he is a rather tall person who also is rather arrogant and has no business interacting with the public. His response to me is that there is nothing wrong with the room—in fact, he stated that he sees the canal from the room (not surprising given that he is well over 6 feet tall) and thus, there is nothing wrong with the room—it is as advertised. I suggested that it would be more appropriate to advertise the room as canal side or partial view. He stated that he would not do so and added- if there was anything wrong it was with the guest—at that point, I terminated the discussion. There are other things wrong with this hotel—it is not a four star hotel, even with the most liberal view of what that means—however, given the deceptive advertising of the room and the attitude of the persons at the front desk, one can do much better at other hotels in Venice!! Finally, be aware that at least two of the recent positive postings for this hotel actually are not for this hotel but instead for another hotel in Venice with a similar name.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ISO70118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

428 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    161
    41
    11
    20
See reviews for
70
288
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

Started with an easy/friendly check in to our nicely furnished and comfortable room. We flew in from California and wanted to make sure we could rest the first night and the hotel provided a comfortable bed and a quiet room. The hotel is a short walk from the waterbus drop off but get a map if it is your first visit. We enjoyed the breakfast that was included every morning and had a great view from our windows. The front desk and the other hotel staff was very friendly. We would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DrSteveLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

Hot water down from 9pm till midnight. Manager keeps saying theres nothing he can do, promises hot water to be available within 15 mins everytime we go down to the reception(because they do NOT answer their operator) but no improvement in the shower waters.

Zero reception for phones in the rooms and they charge for wifi. Excellent business idea huh?

We had to sleep without showering that night. Ruined our sleep. Horrible experience with service standards.



Note: stayed on 31st may 2012

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leojong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
79 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

We treated ourselves to a canal side room with balcony ( mini-suite). I enjoyed watching and listening to the gondolas floating past day and evening - to thae extant that we recognied the gondoliers - not hard when some sing the same songs! Expensive but worth it - and lots of fruit salad for breakfast

Room Tip: If you can afford it get a mini suite with the balcony - and enjoy the parade of gondolas
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emerpaschal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
96 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

this a a really nice hotel. it is situated on a small canal a few minutes away from Piazza San Marco. it is a tastefully renovated old building so in the ceilings in the rooms are old paintings and it gives "grandeur" to your room. the bathroom was very elegant with mosaics everywhere and a double walk in shower. a small drawback in our room were some stains on the floor but nothing too bad. the breakfast was sufficient but not exciting.the check-in and out were efficient and fast. the receptionist was always able to provide with information and good advice. i would definitely receommend for a w-e.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dlerital
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Liassidi Palace Hotel
Liassidi Palace Hotel
#68 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 946 reviews
Castello
Hotel Locanda Vivaldi
Hotel Locanda Vivaldi
#55 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ca' dei Conti
Hotel Ca' dei Conti
#135 of 385 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Palazzo Priuli
Palazzo Priuli
#179 of 385 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Dona Palace
Hotel Dona Palace
#133 of 385 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
San Marco
Hotel al Ponte dei Sospiri
Hotel al Ponte dei Sospiri
#173 of 385 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ai Due Principi? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ai Due Principi

Property: Hotel Ai Due Principi
Address: Loc. Castello 4971/4972 | Fondamenta dell'Osmarin, 30122 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#81 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#102 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,380 - ₹ 34,453
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ai Due Principi 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Ai Due Principi Hotel is the exclusive and convenient choice for those who want to stay close to San Marco and Rialto in a modern space furnished with original and refined solutions. It has a privileged location, facing the canals and gardens of the historic district of Castello, inside a Venetian palace that has just been restored. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Prestigia and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Ai Due Principi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ai Due Principi Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing