We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (614)
Filter reviews
614 results
Traveller rating
330
221
52
5
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
330
221
52
5
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews honesty bar canal view small canal san marco la fenice top floor water taxi breakfast room mark's square roof terrace minute walk singing gondoliers pastries smaller canals venice airport st marks shower head
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 614 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2017 via mobile

We arrived by private boat to the hotel door and were greeted by reception staff. It's a small boutique hotel. Our room was overlooking the canal and large enough for the four of us. The gondolas hobby throughout the day so you can hear them singing and it's great for photos.
The hotel includes breakfast, they offer a selection of breads/cake/pastries, jams, boiled eggs, some cold cuts, cheeses, juices, tea, coffee. Very well located it's about 5 mins from St Marks Square. The restaurant next door is really nice too!
We were given lots of tips on where to go and eat out etc from reception staff.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank 192TheresaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DellOpera, Responsabile reception at Hotel dell'Opera, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your kind feedback.
We’re looking forward to see you in Venice in the future.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2017

We stayed for 3 days at Hotel dell'Opera and found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. Our room overlooking a canal was quite spacious and tastefully decorated and was very comfortable to come back to after a long day of sightseeing. The hotel has a small rooftop terrace and honesty bar which we enjoyed. Location is close to Piazza San Marco and very central for other sightseeing. Would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a canal view for an extra experience.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DellOpera, Direttore at Hotel dell'Opera, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2017

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your kind words.
We're pleased you enjoyed Venice as well as our little hotel.

Best regards,


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017

This was my second stay at this hotel. It is nice and clean and has everything you need. The staff is friendly. In a city full of amazing personalities this hotel just lacks a bit of flare. The art on the walls is super tacky. The free breakfast could use some sparsing up, like better meats and fruits. The fruit selection during our stay was marinated dates apples and kiwis. There was cheap flavored, packaged yogurt and, just not what I would ideally like to enjoy on a trip to Italy. I'm still giving four stars though because the staff were so kind and unpretentious and the location is great, often heard gondoliers singing out my window.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZAZA223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DellOpera, Responsabile reception at Hotel dell'Opera, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2017

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for the preference accorded again to Hotel Dell’Opera for your stay in Venice and for your kind feedback.
The management has taken good note of all your suggestions.
We’re looking forward to see you in Venice in the future
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2017

We were overall fairly pleased with the hotel and it's location. The front desk wasn't particularly helpful apart from the initial greeting and check out. The room was comfortable although as with almost all places in Italy the air conditioning is subpar. It was warm while we were visiting and the air conditioning did not keep the room below 80F.
The biggest disappointment was the breakfast service. On our first day we mistakenly thought the breakfast started at 7a.m. instead of 7:30, so we went in and started helping ourselves to what was available. Then a young lady came in and glared at us and said in a angry tone 7:30! We were embarrassed and felt like she was then rushing to get things ready for our sake. The next day we went later and she still appeared unhappy that we were alive. On the last day we noticed that others around us were drinking cappuccino's which would have been nice, but we didn't know this was an option, and I should add, I am not sure where the idea of "American coffee" comes from but it was a muddy looking repulsive concoction that I have never had in America.
We would probably look elsewhere for the money on a return visit.

Room Tip: We had a room looking out over a canal that was nice.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gumbophage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2017

Located in the San Marco area near La Fenice Opera House. Access available by water-taxi, but difficult for wheelchairs.
This is a smallish hotel over several floors. The entrance, on the ground floor has a small seating area, but all rooms and facilities are above. A lift is available to the 1st & 2nd floor, with stairs to the 3rd floor. Rooms are comfortable, well appointed with on-suite bathroom, safe, mini-bar (cunningly hidden in the wardrobe in our room), TV and Wi-Fi. Tea/coffee making is available outside the breakfast room on the 2nd floor, not in the rooms.
Breakfast is in a room on the 2nd floor overlooking a canal. Nothing startling, but most things you need and very hot water for tea (always a good sign). Service at breakfast is very efficient - nothing runs out and stocks are kept up. The breakfast room is not big and there could be congestion at certain times.
All in all a good hotel in a good location, and yes, we would go back another time. Tip: ask reception for recommendations for eating.

Room Tip: Room 301 has a balcony with chairs and a table (no real view), but the 3rd floor is not served by the lift.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank BloomfieldTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DellOpera, Responsabile reception at Hotel dell'Opera, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2017

Dear Guest,
thank you for choosing us and for your kind words, we’re looking forward to see you in Venice in the future.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews