We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (835)
Filter reviews
835 results
Traveller rating
198
378
195
46
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
198
378
195
46
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews train station inside parking handy location windows closed the air conditioning stay there again direct bus city centre free parking budget hotel yogurt day trip breakfast buffet main sites regional train comfortable bed cold cuts
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 835 reviews
Reviewed 21 September 2017

Room 105, September 12-15, 2017. The hotel is very clean, the beds comfortable, and there is a good breakfast with both sweet and savory choices. Be sure and ask for a coffee from the wait staff, and they will get one for you, otherwise you are left with coffee from the machine which is ok, but not outstanding. There is plenty of hot water and water pressure. There was a plug at the head of the bed, however it did not charge my phone either day. I think it had to do with the switch at the head of the bed. I may not have turned it on.

Even though there was a huge tour bus parked outside, and the hotel was full, it was very quiet with the windows closed. The staff is professional, accommodating, and very nice.

There is inside parking available beneath the hotel for 10€ per night, but if you book directly on the hotel's site, it is free. There is alternative parking at an outdoor lot nearby, but I am sorry, I don't remember the cost.

The hotel is an easy walk to the train station, and about 10 minute walk to the city center. See my review on the restaurant that was recommended to us by the hotel: Pizzeria la Pavana. Very good. Tickets to Venice are 4.15€, and the last bus back is at midnight (00:01). (there is one at 00:08, but it costs more because it is a high speed: 9€). The ride is 26-50 minutes on regional trains depending on the train (some stop at every stop, some only once). As always, you should check the schedules which can change depending on the season and the lines.

The windows in the room were "broken", in that they wouldn't stay open, and there was a lot of noise from the street. I would have preferred a room on the side where the trains were since I love the sound of trains, but we finally figured out the air conditioner (it really wasn't hard, it was just us), and then it was fine.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank schafferde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WELCOMEPadova, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Al Cason, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

Room was very nice. Breakfast was good. Staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly and oouldnt do enough to help us. It was easy to get to from station and very easy walking access to town. It was no trouble when we asked for an extra blanket.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WELCOMEPadova, General Manager at Hotel Al Cason, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2017

We chose Hotel Al Cason for it's proximity to Padua train station as we were using it as a base for day trips to Venice. For this it was perfect, only a 5-10 minute walk to the station. It's also only a 10 minute walk to Padua Old Town.

The staff are friendly and helpful. There is free parking onsite if you have a car. The room we had was clean and appeared to have been refurbished. Both bedroom and bathroom were nicely decorated and modern.

Breakfast is included. It was OK. No hot food, though there were delicious homemade cakes.

The hotel is not in the nicest part of town, but we felt safe and didn't have any issues.
There aren't many restaurants in the vicinity, but plenty in the old town.

All in all good value for money,

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scopes1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WELCOMEPadova, Front Office Manager at Hotel Al Cason, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017

This is a good place if you look for a budget place to stay a short time in Padua. It is close to the station and not very far from the city centre (like 15 minutes on foot). Kind and nice staff. An old-fashioned hotel that has been updated recently, so it is not a bad place to stay if you don't want to spend to much money. The breakfast is good, and they serve soya milk upon asking.

Room Tip: Some rooms have ugly views to an abandoned factory.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Héctor Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WELCOMEPadova, General Manager at Hotel Al Cason, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2017

Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017

The airconditioning was not really cooling the room and if someone was smoking outside, the airconditioning would vent it inside. There was clearly no ventilation to speak of as both the hallways and the room smelled very stale. The room was outdated, but it was all very clean. The people at the reception were very helpful and friendly, which was a big plus. The breakfast was good and there was a large variety of food available. The location was also quite good as it was close to the train station. Overall, the stay in this hotel was fine, but I am not sure if we would stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernou B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WELCOMEPadova, General Manager at Hotel Al Cason, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Thank you for your review, we would like to point out that in your room the window was open and when the window is open, the air conditioner does not work. All the hotel is no smoking, but if someone smoked in the hall in front of your room the night, unfortunately this is to be attributed to rudeness of some people and not to the amenities of the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews