We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel, but really, number one?”
Review of Belludi 37

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Belludi 37
Ranked #1 of 46 Hotels in Padua
Certificate of Excellence
Falls Church, VA
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very good hotel, but really, number one?”
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We chose this hotel because it was ranked number one in Padua, and perhaps our expectations were raised too high. It is indeed a very good hotel, and we haven't stayed in any of its competitors, but number one seems high for what we found.

There's no question the staff is wonderful: friendly, very accommodating, and knowledgeable. And the room was a nice size. spanking clean, with a very comfortable bed. So why are we hesitant to give it five stars? A few small things.

First, you enter off a nondescript street into a "lobby" the size of a phone booth. It was a bit disconcerting for us, after a drive of several hours. Second, the room was decorated in a Scandinavian modern style -- all greys and browns, with no pictures on the wall and no color. Some guests will love this, but we found it a bit gloomy. We arrived on a day that was quite hot, and were assured that the room would be nicely air-conditioned, indeed that the system had been upgraded recently. The room temparature was quite comfortable after several hours, but it took that long for the room to cool. We were told that this was inevitable, given the high ceilings. Small things, to be sure. As we said, this is a very good hotel.

The location is terrific in some respects, but it's quite a distance from the liveliest squares in Padua. It's a tram ride to the Scrovegni Chapel and the railroad station (which we used twice to take day trips to Venice, which is only a half hour away by train.). On the other hand, it's quite close to two major attractions -- the Basilica del Santo and the botanical gardens. And it's only a block from the Prato -- billed as the largest "square" in Europe. though it's an oval. Our stay included a Sunday, when the Prato was bursting with activity, as local students competed in gymnastics and figure roller skating while their families watched and cheered. That was great fun. On weekdays, the Prato is rather quiet, and not of much touristic interest. There's a good restaurant on the Prato, called (appropriately enough) Trattoria al Prato, just a three minute walk from the hotel. We enjoyed a lunch there one day, and a dinner another, both sitting outdoors on the Prato.

We would certainly recommend this hotel to others, and if they arrive with slightly less elevated expectations, we expect they'd love it.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scrabblinmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,033 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    809
    190
    17
    12
    5
See reviews for
171
551
81
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, California
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

We spent one night here and it was a treat. Very comfortable modern room. Incredibly helpful staff. Location is great, very close to a tram that will take you where you need to go. We would go back in a minute.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AIS45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park City, Utah
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

We arrived at the hotel after taking 5 trains and one bus on our trip from Zurich -- tired and hot..
In a matter of minutes, we were offered refreshments and snacks and felt energized and welcomed. The staff is amazing -- friendly, knowledgeable and always smiling and helpful. Rooms clean and comfortable -- Location great...price great! We only stayed one evening on our way to Venice to start a cruise. Would definitely return!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

We recently visited Padova to attend a conference. Hotel Belludi 37 was one of the recommended hotels. The hotel is in a quiet area and conveniently located. A short walk is all it takes to the major sites as well as to the city center ad the University where the conference was based. Hotel Belludi 37 is a delightful hotel with an outstanding staff. We were greeted upon arrival with smiles, drinks and a broad welcome! Our room was comfortable and well-furnished. The internet connection worked flawlessly. Breakfasts were excellent! The staff at this hotel are outstanding. Thomas and Oscar provided excellent suggestions, advice and help as we planned our itinerary. Lena was not only responsible for the excellent cappucino but she was also a mine of information and a delight to speak with. We had inadvertently left two guide books behind and Oscar traced and contacted us before we had travelled too far away so that we were able to return to pick the books up. We will certainly choose Hotel Belludi 37 for any future visits to Padova!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 35PeterM421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

My Italian friend recommended this hotel, it is very Italian in terms of look and feel, I have stayed for 3 days, the staff are extremely helpful, food is excellent, room is clean and big, unlike most of the hotels in Italy or Europe in general and finally, the location is very strategic close to the main Padova square and old town. Next time I'm in Padova, I will for sure stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mamoun_Masarweh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Padua hotels
1.7 km away
NH Padova
NH Padova
#2 of 46 in Padua
1,713 reviews
0.8 km away
Maritan
Maritan
#3 of 46 in Padua
984 reviews
1.8 km away
Best Western Premier Hotel Galileo Padova
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 km away
Crowne Plaza Padova
Crowne Plaza Padova
#4 of 46 in Padua
951 reviews
1.8 km away
Hotel Grand Italia Residenza d'Epoca
0.3 km away
Hotel Padova Casa del Pellegrino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belludi 37? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belludi 37

Property: Belludi 37
Address: Via Beato Luca Belludi 37, 35123, Padua, Italy (Formerly Buenos Aires hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Padua > Padua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Padua
#1 Family Hotel in Padua
#1 Romantic Hotel in Padua
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,030 - ₹ 15,724
Hotel Class:2 star — Belludi 37 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel takes its name Belludi37 [formerly Bs Aires] from the central via Belludi, which links the Basilica of Sant'Anthony, the icon of the city, to one of the most fascinating squares in Europe, Prato della Valle. The building is early twentieth century, with interiors recently renewed and enriched with decor of contemporary design. There is not elevator, but we are pleased to take your luggage to your room at arrival and back at your departure. The rooms, cared for every detail, reflect the concept of our hospitality: "refined but accessible, sophisticated but cosy, for everyone but not just anyone". At a short distance from the most important artistic and cultural attractions of this wonderful city, Hotel Belludi37 will surprise and enthral you on each visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Belludi 37 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belludi 37 Padua
Belludi 37 Hotel Padua
Belludi 37 Italy/Padua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing