We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Grand Italia Residenza d'Epoca
Ranked #9 of 50 Hotels in Padua
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2011

We stayed here for a week, using it as a base to get to Venice, Vicenza, Verona and Lake Garda as the railway station is directly across the road from the hotel. Rooms were clean and quiet. However, the staff need to lift their game. They never smiled or appeared to want to help you. They did not even know what temperature it would be on any given day. My husband had to go down to the lobby each day and scan the Italian newspapers. Worst of all, there were no English television channels (every hotel should have BBC World News in my book) so we felt very removed from what was going on in the world. Despite the great location, there were a lot of young African males hanging around the hotel which made us feel uneasy. Once we got past them, we felt more comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank virginia096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

549 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    251
    93
    26
    14
See reviews for
71
219
57
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
ontario
Level Contributor
254 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2011

we drove to this hotel on our way to venice. The hotel is on a street only opened to buses/taxi so it was very difficult to locate and then a problem to unload our luggage. But finally settled, we found the staff friendly and helpful. The room was of good size, and very clean. The major problem is the location, the area is full of beggars and riff raffs. We were at a restaurant and approached by one of the above, wanting to sell us gold. Then as we walked the streets, everyone had their hands out. I did not feel safe in this area. As we were on our way to venice, we wanted one overnight close to it. My suggestion is skip padua and go to marcon, and stay at the hotel antony palace, it is a much nicer hotel by a long shot. It is cheaper and they provide transportation to venice.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank justustravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2011

Rooms good and modern.
Wi-fi only on lower floors, ethernet otherwise, but no charge.
Station plaza not a place to wander around at night

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank GoWgtn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
229 reviews
172 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2011

My review is based on the experience I had with the front desk staff and the room I got on the mezzanine level. I arrived pretty late in the evening. The receptionist was originally polite, but was categorical that he would not allow me to check out at 12:15 pm.

Then I saw my room - it was on the mezzanine level, which meant that the room had very low ceilings, it was tiny, and overlooked an alley with garbage cans. Worst of all, it reeked of stale cigarette smoke. I went down and explained that from the outset in making the reservation I had asked for a non-smoking room. The receptionist told me that they had no such thing as a "non-smoking" room. So, I asked to be given another room. He assigned the room, or should I say "cave," next to my original room. This reeked a little less. The bathroom, though it only had a shower, was not bad.

It is evident that the hotel was grand at one point. It is noteworthy that their breakfast room was rather grand, and the breakfast offering was very nice. Also, the location is literally across from the train station, and is a 5-minute walk from the city center.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JasmineMarti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, CO
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2011

This was our third stay at this hotel as it is close to the train station. We are very frequent travelers with, for example, Marriott Platinum status and 80,000 miles on United each year. While the neighborhood deteriorated noticeably since our last visit, the rudeness of the reception staff, especially a very rude lady made our stay very unpleasant. Moreover, she gave us bad information that wasted a lot of our time. My only explanation is that the hotel may be going under. I would avoid this unpleasant experience if i were you.

Room Tip: I think almost all the rooms are fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CharlieBoulder_CO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Padua hotels
1.8 km away
Belludi 37
Belludi 37
#1 of 50 in Padua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
1.9 km away
Maritan
Maritan
#3 of 50 in Padua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
1.1 km away
NH Padova
NH Padova
#2 of 50 in Padua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Hotel Patavium
Hotel Patavium
#7 of 50 in Padua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
1.5 km away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel Galileo Padova
4.5 km away
Crowne Plaza Padova
Crowne Plaza Padova
#5 of 50 in Padua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grand Italia Residenza d'Epoca? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Italia Residenza d'Epoca

Property: Hotel Grand Italia Residenza d'Epoca
Address: Corso del Popolo 81, 35131, Padua, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Padua > Padua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Padua
#4 Luxury Hotel in Padua
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,325 - ₹ 11,885
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grand Italia Residenza d'Epoca 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian-style 4-story Hotel located on a corner in city's historic center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Grand Italia Residenza d'Epoca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grand Italia Residenza D'Epoca Italy/Padua
Grand Italia Padua
Golden Tulip Padua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing