We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (192)
Filter reviews
192 results
Traveller rating
56
76
34
16
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
56
76
34
16
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsski lifttown centreski triphamhotel is locatedtriple roomperfect locationrooms are spaciousbars and restaurantsmin walkthe tour du mont blancreceptionskiingpizzeria5minscheese
Filter
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 192 reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2010

I have now stayed in the Tavernier a number of times during the winter (incl. Christmas/New Year period) for a short ski break (usually 4 nights). I've also stayed there in a group of 12+ men and as a couple of families with children (ages 7 - 17) and on every occasion the Tavernier has been brilliant. They have a wide range of room types suiting both small and large groups. The rooms are also very clean, well appointed and the larger rooms are....well...large!

I'd also have to give Edith and her team a special mention as year after year they provide awesome service and they are so friendly and welcoming. I also menion the food which can be quite simple but always flavourful and hearty (you won't go hungry).

The hotel has a simple Spa with a spa pool and steam room which is great after a hard days skiing. It is also close to the Dolonne Telecabine which is easily walked with a few minutes and takes you straight to the Courmayeur pistes. This is also where the Sport Complex is where events take place and there is Ice Skating though I've never used it personally.

The walk into town is also about 5/10 mins (slightly uphill) so in easy reach of Courmayeur's Bars and Restuarants. But, if your like me you'll find yourself more at home in the hotels cosy little bar next to the open fireplace sampling the generous snacks and Moretti beer.

The only possible negative from me, and all those that have ever stayed in the Tavernier with me, is that a few rooms are close to the road. So if it has snowed overnight then the snow clearing begin early and it can be loud so unless your a heavy sleeper your unlikely not to need an early morning call to get to the ski lift early.

Having now skied Courmayeur on many occasions I'm always thinking it's time for something different but the Tavernier is such a winner I/we just keep going back. The good news is La Thuille is nearby and Pila is not too far either so I'd recommend you use the Tavernier and ski all three resorts!

  • Stayed: February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fazzaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2010

Just back from long weekend. Our party of 7 stayed in one of the aprtments in the Hotel Tavernier and had a great time. The hotel itself is clean, comfortable and the staff are very nice/helpful. The location is great, being only 2-3 minutes walk from the new cable car up the mountain.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BroonNI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2010

Just returned from a long weekend ski trip with friends and wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel.
Firstly, the location is superb - it sits on the opposite side of the main road and river from most of the other hotels and the centre of the resort. Whilst this might be viewed as a disadvantage, it actually works in your favour because you make use of the Dolonne cable up to Plan Checroui rather than the busier main cable car from the town. All the skiing starts at Plan Checroui and I'd recommend making use of 'Noleggio Sci Lo Chalet' (one of the ski hire shops) - you can leave all your gear at the shop at the end of each day, which removes all the slog in the morning with all your ski's etc.
Getting to the centre of resort from the hotel is no great problem - about a 5-10 minute walk.
The welcome from Edith on reception was great - nothing is too much trouble. Indeed, all staff are very helpful. A big plus was the offer of letting us all come back to the hotel in the afternoon on our last day to take showers and get changed - this meant we had another full day skiing.
The rooms we had were basic (which is absolutely fine for ski trips) but quite spacious with plenty of storage, hanging for jackets etc.
We had breakfast at the hotel (which was fine - rolls and cereals) but did not eat during the evening as we wanted to see more of the town at night.
However, we did spend quite a lot of time in the bar which was a nice place to retreat in front of the fire. It's also great value compared to the rest of Courmayeur.
Just a quick point on Courmayeur itself - it's a really lovely ski resort but if you like being pushed there isn't enough skiing for a week. It's a perfect weekend break resort but we'd done it all pretty much in a day and we're not that energetic! However, for a long weekend it's just about perfect.
In summary, the Tavernier is a great value hotel in a great spot for skiing. I'm already thinking about when I can squeeze in my next weekend away and this hotel will be my first choice wihtout a doubt.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikeHibb666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2010

We stayed for four nights in the Hotel Tavernier. Would definitely recommend it as a ski hotel. We ate in the restaurant twice - once the food was excellent, once average but overrall it is good value for the price. Rooms were excellent although TV was a bit small but if you on a skiing holiday you are not there to watch TV! In addition there is a nice sauna and spa in the Hotel.

The best thing about the hotel is the location - it is a five minute walk to the quick, modern bubble lift to the slopes. If you do no thave your own skis you can hire your skis once on the slopes which makes it even quicker.

The location is not that central for the shops, bars and restaurants of Courmayeur - it is about a 10-15 minute walk but most people would probably agree close to the ski lifts is more important.

One other point - if you are driving there (we came from Turin and it was an easy 90 minute drive) it is best not to park in their car park as it is very difficult to manouvre up and down the slope particularly if there has been snow. When you arrive try and park outside or close by to offload luggage and then leave the car in the public car park 2 minutes away.

All in all a very nice hotel particularly if you pay 100 EUR a night for a double which is what we paid (HoweverI think we did not go in peak season as we went end of Jan)

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jona001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2009

We stayed at the Tavernier In Dec 2006, as a mini vacance with Interski, an excellent idea - you sort the flights by yourself - to Geneva in our case - then Interski do the rest , including pick up from the airport, insurance, ski and boot hire, evening entertainment if you want to get involved and food and drink vouchers to use during the day.

Courmayeur is a beautiful place with a fabulous ski area - part of which unfortunately wasn't open this early in the season - but later visits have confirmed its appeal...there are some excellent runs once you get to the top of the mountain.

The hotel itself is run by Edith - who seems to be everywhere and is a little gem - and has excellent facilities for its size. Every day really is memorable and both the staff and rooms are excellent.

Food is typically Italian - as you would expect - and delicious, lubricated by free wine...

The town has numerous bars including Bar Roma, one of the premium apres-ski bars in Europe - get there in time for the food about 5.30pm - but be aware that their prices get hiked between xmas and new year.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank RFraser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews