We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, pity about the rooms and food”
Review of Hotel Tavernier

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Tavernier
Ranked #32 of 42 Hotels in Courmayeur
Reviewed 30 June 2010

I found this hotel on Trip Advisor and dismissed the one negative review as the work of a grumpy old man! Then I found I agreed with him! The hotel is mostly below street level and is very dark. In our room (and most I think) you had to exit the room to balcony or courtyard to get to the main part of the hotel. Not too big a deal but not cosy. NO view from hotel.
We were really looking forward to the food given that we were in Italy. It was very disappointing. We were on half board for the 4 nights but didn't bother returning to the hotel for dinner 2 of those nights. Spa is TINY and bad value.
Courmayeur is great - stay somewhere else and enjoy (free) buffet in Bar Roma instead of here!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flanker6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (185)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 48 of 185 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2010

I have now stayed in the Tavernier a number of times during the winter (incl. Christmas/New Year period) for a short ski break (usually 4 nights). I've also stayed there in a group of 12+ men and as a couple of families with children (ages 7 - 17) and on every occasion the Tavernier has been brilliant. They have a wide range of room types suiting both small and large groups. The rooms are also very clean, well appointed and the larger rooms are....well...large!

I'd also have to give Edith and her team a special mention as year after year they provide awesome service and they are so friendly and welcoming. I also menion the food which can be quite simple but always flavourful and hearty (you won't go hungry).

The hotel has a simple Spa with a spa pool and steam room which is great after a hard days skiing. It is also close to the Dolonne Telecabine which is easily walked with a few minutes and takes you straight to the Courmayeur pistes. This is also where the Sport Complex is where events take place and there is Ice Skating though I've never used it personally.

The walk into town is also about 5/10 mins (slightly uphill) so in easy reach of Courmayeur's Bars and Restuarants. But, if your like me you'll find yourself more at home in the hotels cosy little bar next to the open fireplace sampling the generous snacks and Moretti beer.

The only possible negative from me, and all those that have ever stayed in the Tavernier with me, is that a few rooms are close to the road. So if it has snowed overnight then the snow clearing begin early and it can be loud so unless your a heavy sleeper your unlikely not to need an early morning call to get to the ski lift early.

Having now skied Courmayeur on many occasions I'm always thinking it's time for something different but the Tavernier is such a winner I/we just keep going back. The good news is La Thuille is nearby and Pila is not too far either so I'd recommend you use the Tavernier and ski all three resorts!

  • Stayed: February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fazzaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2010

Just back from long weekend. Our party of 7 stayed in one of the aprtments in the Hotel Tavernier and had a great time. The hotel itself is clean, comfortable and the staff are very nice/helpful. The location is great, being only 2-3 minutes walk from the new cable car up the mountain.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BroonNI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2010

Just returned from a long weekend ski trip with friends and wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel.
Firstly, the location is superb - it sits on the opposite side of the main road and river from most of the other hotels and the centre of the resort. Whilst this might be viewed as a disadvantage, it actually works in your favour because you make use of the Dolonne cable up to Plan Checroui rather than the busier main cable car from the town. All the skiing starts at Plan Checroui and I'd recommend making use of 'Noleggio Sci Lo Chalet' (one of the ski hire shops) - you can leave all your gear at the shop at the end of each day, which removes all the slog in the morning with all your ski's etc.
Getting to the centre of resort from the hotel is no great problem - about a 5-10 minute walk.
The welcome from Edith on reception was great - nothing is too much trouble. Indeed, all staff are very helpful. A big plus was the offer of letting us all come back to the hotel in the afternoon on our last day to take showers and get changed - this meant we had another full day skiing.
The rooms we had were basic (which is absolutely fine for ski trips) but quite spacious with plenty of storage, hanging for jackets etc.
We had breakfast at the hotel (which was fine - rolls and cereals) but did not eat during the evening as we wanted to see more of the town at night.
However, we did spend quite a lot of time in the bar which was a nice place to retreat in front of the fire. It's also great value compared to the rest of Courmayeur.
Just a quick point on Courmayeur itself - it's a really lovely ski resort but if you like being pushed there isn't enough skiing for a week. It's a perfect weekend break resort but we'd done it all pretty much in a day and we're not that energetic! However, for a long weekend it's just about perfect.
In summary, the Tavernier is a great value hotel in a great spot for skiing. I'm already thinking about when I can squeeze in my next weekend away and this hotel will be my first choice wihtout a doubt.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikeHibb666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2010

We stayed for four nights in the Hotel Tavernier. Would definitely recommend it as a ski hotel. We ate in the restaurant twice - once the food was excellent, once average but overrall it is good value for the price. Rooms were excellent although TV was a bit small but if you on a skiing holiday you are not there to watch TV! In addition there is a nice sauna and spa in the Hotel.

The best thing about the hotel is the location - it is a five minute walk to the quick, modern bubble lift to the slopes. If you do no thave your own skis you can hire your skis once on the slopes which makes it even quicker.

The location is not that central for the shops, bars and restaurants of Courmayeur - it is about a 10-15 minute walk but most people would probably agree close to the ski lifts is more important.

One other point - if you are driving there (we came from Turin and it was an easy 90 minute drive) it is best not to park in their car park as it is very difficult to manouvre up and down the slope particularly if there has been snow. When you arrive try and park outside or close by to offload luggage and then leave the car in the public car park 2 minutes away.

All in all a very nice hotel particularly if you pay 100 EUR a night for a double which is what we paid (HoweverI think we did not go in peak season as we went end of Jan)

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jona001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Courmayeur hotels
2.9 km away
Hotel Vallee Blanche
Hotel Vallee Blanche
#6 of 42 in Courmayeur
257 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Club Mont Blanc
Hotel Club Mont Blanc
#40 of 42 in Courmayeur
250 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Les Jumeaux Courmayeur
Hotel Les Jumeaux Courmayeur
#34 of 42 in Courmayeur
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Hotel Berthod
Hotel Berthod
#8 of 42 in Courmayeur
314 reviews
3 km away
Albergo Dente del Gigante
Albergo Dente del Gigante
#10 of 42 in Courmayeur
208 reviews
0.6 km away
Grand Hotel Courmayeur Mont Blanc
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tavernier? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tavernier

Address: Strada Dolonne Courmayeur 27, 11013, Courmayeur, Italy
Region: Italy > Valle d'Aosta > Courmayeur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Courmayeur
Price Range: ₹ 6,351 - ₹ 18,082 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tavernier 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well situated just before the new cable car at Courmayeur. The hotel which lies on the banks of the Torrent Dora Baltea has also a Fitness Center that applies the same antique philosophy as was used in Roman baths by means of modern technology. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Tavernier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tavernier Hotel Courmayeur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing