We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little disappointed after all the great TA reviews”
Review of Hotel Edelweiss

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Edelweiss
Ranked #22 of 42 Hotels in Courmayeur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 September 2016

Our stay was ok, but we expected much more after reading all the rave reviews on TripAdvisor. In hind sight we would have chosen to stay somewhere else. Delonne and Courmayeur are awesome resort towns which would have had several other options. Delonne was especially nice and a little more quiet. To be fair, maybe we got a lot for the price we paid (170 euros) compared to other places.
The hotel is located up the hill from the TMB trail and was a little difficult for us to find, the room felt a little worn, and the shower was mounted in a way that made bathing a little difficult.
The dinner was actually pretty good though. I just wish there would have been a little more of it.
Far and away the best part of our stay was the service of one of the hosts. She spoke excellent English and was very attentive to our needs as TMB trekkers. Most of the guests were Italian and we're American. She went out of her way to make sure we understood the menu at dinner and had breakfast ready for us early before we left the next morning. And she was so friendly and fun to visit with. Because of our experience with her we wish we could rate this place a little higher.

Room Tip: WiFi only worked in the lobby
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank outsideagent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (136)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 136 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2016

This is a wonderful hotel to stay at! My husband and I stayed one night during our TMB hike and the room was spacious, clean and comfortable. Dinner was delicious and since we were leaving before breakfast was served they provided us with snacks for breakfast! Also they were able to help us do laundry!

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank kipeters2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2016 via mobile

Good location, reasonable rates. Felt a little unloved/ past its prime. Our bathroom clearly hadn't been cleaned before we arrived (loads of hairs in it - yuk!!).

Breakfast v basic but ok.

We were using the hotel as part of TMB and breakfast was a little late at 8am.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Peyresourde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edelweiss1953, Proprietario at Hotel Edelweiss, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2016

Dear "Peyresourde",
we are very sorry to hear about the bathroom inconvenient and for this we can only apologise. We are very confident about the diligent work of our cleaners, but it is clear that something has slipped in this occasion. Obviously we would've send some one up straight away, if only we had known.
Breakfast usually starts at 8am but we always have it ready earlier when some guests want to leave before that time. We sometimes have this kind of request, so if only we had been asked, we could've arranged it for you as well.
We hope you had a great time hiking the Mont Blanc and we look forward to welcoming you back for a future occasion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2016

Our party of 12 were looking for a comfortable, clean and quiet place to stay after completing the Tour du Mont Blanc, and ended up here for a night. We had read some great reviews about it on Tripadvisor, and were not disappointed.
The front-desk manager, Diletta, was welcoming and helpful, and the hotel was well-situated off one of the main streets in Courmayeur. Rooms were simple and charming, with immaculate bathrooms, and our room (22) had a lovely view of an outdoor terrace. Breakfast was included in our very reasonable room rate (211 Euros for a family of four), and included made-to-order cappuccinos, which are often an extra charge. The only thing that we felt could have been improved on was the bedding, which was of a slightly lower caliber than the room as a whole (the mattress was a bit hard, and the blankets a bit thin.) Overall, though, this was a great find, and we hope to return in future...

Room Tip: Higher floors seemed to have better views/light
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank skimom3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2016

Right from the moment Didi the manageress answered my telephone call it was a good experience! She speaks perfect English and could not have been more helpful and friendly, even to the point of collecting me by car from the bottom of the mountain after I got to Dolonne! That "extra" is unlikely to be available to all guests, but a warm welcome is guaranteed. The cute hotel is right in the middle of chic Courmeyeur and within minutes of the shops and restaurants. Didi's recommendation of a local pizzeria was just what the doctor ordered at 8.30 pm. This is a perfect place in summer and I imagine during the ski season too. The rates are good and the rooms comfortable. Frankly, that's all I need, but the staff make the place. I shall return. I recommend it to all.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jonny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Courmayeur hotels
0.4 km away
Hotel Crampon
Hotel Crampon
#11 of 42 in Courmayeur
135 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Berthod
Hotel Berthod
#9 of 42 in Courmayeur
314 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Les Jumeaux Courmayeur
Hotel Les Jumeaux Courmayeur
#34 of 42 in Courmayeur
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hotel Cresta et Duc
Hotel Cresta et Duc
#20 of 42 in Courmayeur
503 reviews
3.4 km away
Albergo Dente del Gigante
Albergo Dente del Gigante
#10 of 42 in Courmayeur
208 reviews
3.3 km away
Hotel Vallee Blanche
Hotel Vallee Blanche
#6 of 42 in Courmayeur
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Edelweiss? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Edelweiss

Address: Via Guglielmo Marconi 42, 11013, Courmayeur, Italy
Region: Italy > Valle d'Aosta > Courmayeur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 42 Hotels in Courmayeur
Price Range: ₹ 9,542 - ₹ 12,637 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Edelweiss 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our home, desired and built by our grandparents Silvio and Cipriana, first opens its doors at the foot of Mont Blanc in the summer of 1953. Located in the once named Tsereley area, it is located in the quieter part of Courmayeur center, close to the Grand Ru trail, a great starting point for a light walk around the village. For the ski lovers, a 9-minute walk through the elegant windows of the central via Roma will take you to the main cable car. Our rooms, as well as the summer restaurant, bar, reading room, private parking and garden will welcome you with the simplicity that a mountain house can offer for a carefree holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Edelweiss reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing