We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (177)
Filter reviews
177 results
Traveller rating
121
44
10
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
121
44
10
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews walks suite europe bus region spa dinner
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 177 reviews
Reviewed 13 May 2017 via mobile

Our 2nd winter-visit to the italian alps close to Austria, but our 1st stay at the Castel ... best choice ever for many aspects: rooms, comfort, cleanness, the excellent staff, the warm and homely atmosphere, delicious meals, the loveley mountain village Castelrotto, the amazing view from the balcony, nature & snow ...
We have already recommended it to our friends!

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
Thank gordon75Belfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2015

We enjoyed three nights at this beautiful hotel in the charming Dolomite village of Castelrotto in the fall of 2014 and loved everything about it. The hotel has spacious, immaculate rooms with magnificent scenic views, inviting public areas and a wonderful and large dining room where one enjoys superb cuisine.The hotel is an easy walk from the village center, has free parking, an extensive spa facility, a large yard, garden and patio, and free WiFi. We had a half board plan as did almost all guests and absolutely loved the breakfasts and dinners each day. Breakfast has a vast array of items on a number of buffet tables and one can order eggs as well. It was the most extensive breakfast offering we have seen in 40 years of travel in Europe. At dinner there is a huge buffet of salads and appetizers, followed by a excellent dinner chosen from the menu and served with grace and style by helpful and friendly servers.
Many family members are involved in running the hotel and one can certainly see that they do so with love in their hearts for the business and their guests. We happened to be there for the Thanksgiving Day festivities and the owners had a social hour for guests with drinks, music and explanations of their holiday traditions, followed by an elaborate Thanksgiving dinner.. There is a very large bar and lounge where one can enjoy a drink and socialize with other guests. There are numerous hiking trails all over the area from the hotel and the world famous Alpe di Siusi is only a few minutes away by car or bus..
We highly recommend Hotel Castel Oswald von Wolkenstein and will definitely return on our next visit to the spectacular Dolomite region of Italy.
.

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelingkellys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2014

Although we found it a little bit of a challenge finding this property from the bus station, carting luggage uphill over cobblestones, once here it was an oasis of friendly, helpful warm hospitality in the very best sense. We were made to feel like very special and honoured guests, which I assumed was because we were one of the few English speaking guests they hosted, but I suspect that they treat all of their guests with this special care and kindness.

After exploring the town a little after we checked in and having a less than stellar experience at one of the restaurants in town for lunch and the fact that it was a Sunday, we decided to take dinner in house. They called it a 'gala' dinner and it was very special, starting with a singer/accordian player in the lounge. With prosecco on offer and everyone a little dressed up, it created a very pleasant ambiance on a Sunday evening. Everyone then proceeded to the dining room where each table was beautifully dressed with candlelight and flowers. The multicourse dinner began with a fresh and lovely serve-yourself cold buffet and each subsequent course through soup, sorbet, main and dessert, very delectable, well presented and expertly served. We enjoyed it so much, we elected to stay in again the following night.

This is a well-run family business, Dad used to preside, Mom still helps out on the front desk (she speaks everything BUT English, but is so sweet), daughter runs the place now and brother is the chef!

Our suite was beautiful, the terrace looking out to the Dolomites, the view couldn't be beat! There are lovely walks just behind the property, complete with scampering happy calves and friendly grazing horses. This is a first rate property, an excellent base from which to explore the Dolomites!

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Amelietravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2008

We spent 4 nights at hotel Castel with our 5 year old son.
The hotel is well located, 5 minutes walk from the center, in a nice and peaceful area with a great view around.
Overall the hotel was nice, the room wide and confortable, the spa small but well organised and with a great lady responsible for beauty treatments.
The only negative point was the food at dinner. Generally speaking it was well cooked but definitely too pompous and too far from the Alto Adige tradition. It was absolutely not acceptable for kids, and it was rather hard (and at the end quality was not good) to get some more basic food for kids.
Breakfast was absolutely ok.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank bubione
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2008

My wife and I spent one week at the hotel. It was our first time there. The hotel has been almost completely renewed. There is a brand new spa, a fitness room, new rooms and a great common areas with new sofa, a lot of tables and an open terrace. The hotel just moved from a 3-stars to a 4-stars ranking. Overall it was a great experience, just few minor issues. However the price is very low compared to the service and the environment offered by the hotel. Here is a list of pros/cons:
- Staff very friendly and looking to satisfy all your needs
- Brand new spa, most of the rooms have been renovated
- Very nice common areas
- Great food but limited choices (two menus)
- Poor spa programs and massages
- Level of service at the table could be improved

The skibus station to Siusi and the Merinzen lift are a five minute walk distance from the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank FabioItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews