We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Position is the crowning glory.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of San Rocco Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
San Rocco Hotel
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Orta San Giulio
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
44 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Position is the crowning glory.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2011

Orta San Giulio is a beautiful village on the shores of lake Orta in Italy. Hotel San Rocco is an average hotel which would not be popular if placed anywhere else but on the shores of the lake. It is not a bad hotel, but not great either. I found it lacking in character, maybe because it was out of season and practically deserted. The staff were not particularly friendly and the bar had a cold atmosphere to it. On the positives, it was very clean and efficient and breakfast was not bad. Orta San Giulio is not a very big village so unfortunately you don't have much of a choice as far as accomodation is concerned. Not cheap either at 200 euros per night. By the way, word of advice, avoid the Leon D'Oro in the main square. We looked at this as an option for the second night but this is worst. Asked if we could look at the room before booking and when we remarked that they were tiny for the price (110 Euros per night) the receptionist sarcastically told us lump it or leave it.

Room Tip: Only worth staying if booking a room with lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bewlaybros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

458 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    168
    79
    29
    31
See reviews for
69
252
6
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2011

Wife and I recently did a 10 day trip to 3 of the Italian lakes (Orta, Maggiore, Como) with all lodging and tours booked via an Italian travel service located in Bellagio. Hotel San Rocco was one of the best places we stayed. The hotel is in a great location within walking distance to the center of a very quaint italian village. We had a deluxe room (king bed) which was extremely clean and spacious with a 3/4ths enclosed large comfortable outdoor balcony overlooking the lake. Since we had rain one day during our stay, the fact that the balcony was covered did not take away from us being able to enjoy the view while reading or enjoying a glass of wine. I would highly recommend spending the extra money to book a lake view room at any of the hotels in the lake region....the vistas are outstanding. The breakfast buffet and service was fine. The only criticism I have is that the free "wi-fi" service was only able to be accessed in one area of the hotel. I subsequently found out that this is not unusual in Italy but was an inconvenience just the same. Would absolutely book here again. Also recommend the tour of San Giulio.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CheckingIn10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2011

I had a single in the garret area with a small balcony over the lake, that was large enough and twice as charming with a beautiful modern elegant bath. I would book this room again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iamcurious4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2011

It was with some trepidation that we arrived at this hotel, given that the Rough Guide had totally slated it and given some of the bad reviews we had seen. However, a wonderful surprise awaited us. We loved it. The hotel must be the best positioned in Orta. It lies directly at the lake side and has spectacular views. The rooms were new, roomy and well equipped and we had a little balcony looking out on to the pool and the lake. We were delighted with it. The pool is superb and lies directly alongside the lake. However, the weather was so good and the lake so inviting, we swam in the lake every day. Breakfast was perfect. A vast array of continental goodies, which had something for every one. The hotel is literally a minutes walk to the main square in the village, which is the hub for all the bars and restaurants. For a relaxing retreat at a wonderful hotel with great views, we would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BH-TB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2011

We stayed here for four nights and overall enjoyed the hotel, but it's let down by poor serving staff at breakfast, small rooms and large, noisy wedding parties.

Our room was small but modern, probably too modern for some people's tastes. The bathroom is good and the shower was excellent. However, there are no hooks in the bathroom, small point, but quite annoying.

The location is first class, with great views of the lake and the island, with plenty of place to sit and enjoy the lake. There's a good pool and place to park a boat (you can hire them) and it's also possible to swim in the lake.

The reception staff are very good and very knowledgeable.

The restaurant looked pricey and I can confirm there are cheaper (and excellent) alternatives within a five minute walk.

What really lets this hotel down though, is the poor service at breakfast. The staff can appear surly (I know it's Italy, but this was beyond what could be expected), breakfast items are left to run out and getting them replenished is a battle and a waitress on our last day was wearing black jeans with trainers as part of her uniform. We have communicated this to the hotel on our departure, so lets hope they fix it.

Also, two of our party, in separate rooms, on separate floors, were woken up by "YMCA" being sung at 0200 by an ongoing wedding party. Reading other reviews, this seems to be a common theme and the hotel must take action to sort this out!

However, it is a good hotel in a great location and does promise a fantastic stay. The service and wedding are minor problems.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orta San Giulio hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel La Bussola
Hotel La Bussola
#2 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
1.0 km away
Villa Crespi
Villa Crespi
#1 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Leon d'Oro d'Orta
Hotel Leon d'Oro d'Orta
#5 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
3.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
Fontaine Bleue Hotel
Fontaine Bleue Hotel
#3 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
12.1 km away
Santa Caterina
Santa Caterina
#6 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
3.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Aracoeli
Hotel Aracoeli
#8 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Rocco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Rocco Hotel

Property: San Rocco Hotel
Address: Via Gippini 11, 28016 Orta San Giulio, Italy
Region: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Novara > Orta San Giulio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Orta San Giulio
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,755 - ₹ 24,428
Hotel Class:4 star — San Rocco Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the shores of the picturesque Lake Orta, Hotel San Rocco is surrounded by the ancient walls of a monastery. It boasts a swimming pool and views of the enchanting San Giulio Island. The San Rocco was a convent for 150 years. The Baroque-style Villa Gippini was later added to the original building. The elegant restaurant features regional and international cuisine and breathtaking lake views. There is a beautiful garden, a golf course, and a beauty centre called the Body Harmony Center. In fine weather you can access the Wellness Roof Garden, set on the 4th floor. A billiards table and a fully equipped conference centre are provided. Rooms are elegantly furnished with a flat-screen TV and minibar. Most have lake views. Rooms in the annexe known as Villa Gippini are also available. The hotel is close to Switzerland and the Prealpine valleys. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your San Rocco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Rocco Orta Giulio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing