We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Fantastic place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of San Rocco Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
San Rocco Hotel
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Orta San Giulio
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2011

I loved this place. Lovely hotel in a perfect location on Lake Orta. Rooms are clean and have been finished well with good quality fittings. Quite a modern design for the rooms of the renovated part of the hotel but it works well i think. I stay in a lot of hotels and this one can not be faulted.

Breakfast was good. Good selection of fresh food.

The downstairs bar is very nice, although i have to say a bit too pricey. The cost is way above other local spots within 50m. So we barely used this space.

The pool area on the lake was stunning. Although the kayaks were rubbish!

The staff were all fantastically friendly, welcoming and helpful.

The spa looked great but we didnt use it.

I plan to stay here again.

Room Tip: Request a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dud75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

458 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    168
    79
    29
    31
See reviews for
69
252
6
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2011

Stayed in San Rocco in March and got a Lake View room. The hotel itself is beautifully designed and the views of St Julius island are breathtaking. We did not use the spa facilities as I was unwell at the time but the brochure looked fantastic and we will definitely try them when we go back.
Reception staff were very friendly and helpful which I appreciated.
Only downside was the restaurant and staff in the restaurant. I felt they were looking down their noses at us and never felt comfortable.
Food was divine but very expensive and very small portions.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebelsasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OUD-TURNHOUT
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2011

We stayed five days in the San Rocco on vacation at the shores of beautiful lake Orta and in the romantic town of San Giulio.
Everything in the hotel was superb, friendly people at the front desk, in the bar, in the restaurant, everywhere friendly attendance.
A great compliment to the chef in the kitchen, inventive and creative dishes, even the veggie's are pampered! A place to remember and to return. We payed for wifi 10 euros for our whole stay, which is acceptable.
Ludo and Monique FEYEN, Belgium

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ludofeyen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights after staying in Stresa, Lake Maggiore. We had never been to Lake Orta before and wanted to see what it was like. We're glad we did - the place was perfect, with Orta San Guilio being a small village and mainly traffic free. The hotel was right on the lake shore and was ideal for completely chilling out. Our room was on the small side but well equipped and adequate for the length of our stay. Not too sure whether the storage facilities would have been suitable for a period of a week or more. We did not have dinner at the restaurant (set menu 70 euros) and opted instead to visit a local restaurant, which offered good meals at a more reasonable price. However, we did have a lunch at the hotel (15 euros each) and thought it was of good quality and value for money. The hotel staff were pleasant and willing to help and we enjoyed our stay. Would we go back - definitely, if only for the view and the total relaxation. Lake Orta is a well kept secret but I'm not sure what you would do in bad weather. You might be better with a car and the parking facilities at the hotel (9 euros per day) is a bonus.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 49brianl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

While Lake Orta was beautiful, San Rocco totally missed the mark. The rooms were cold, corporate and completely at odds with the beauty of the city.

The staff (especially the waiters at the overpriced, stuffy, overproduced restaurant that looked and felt like you were on a cruise ship) were rude and not helpful. Although, they will give you an umbrella if it rains...the only thing is, if you don't bring it back, it will cost you 50 Euros. 50 Euros!!!

There is no internet in the rooms (fine) but the internet in the main part of the hotel was out for the 2.5 days we stayed there and nobody seemed like they were in any hurry to fix it. (it was still out when we left).

Our king bed was two twin beds pushed together, leaving a huge uncomfortable crack in the middle.

Finally, the pool had no water in it. In June.

This was a truly disappointing hotel experience, not to mention, it was also the most expensive place we stayed while in Italy for 2.5 weeks. Definitely not worth it.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank alexisgropper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orta San Giulio hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel La Bussola
Hotel La Bussola
#2 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
1.0 km away
Villa Crespi
Villa Crespi
#1 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Leon d'Oro d'Orta
Hotel Leon d'Oro d'Orta
#5 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
3.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
Fontaine Bleue Hotel
Fontaine Bleue Hotel
#3 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
12.1 km away
Santa Caterina
Santa Caterina
#6 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
3.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Aracoeli
Hotel Aracoeli
#8 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Rocco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Rocco Hotel

Property: San Rocco Hotel
Address: Via Gippini 11, 28016 Orta San Giulio, Italy
Region: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Novara > Orta San Giulio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Orta San Giulio
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,751 - ₹ 24,348
Hotel Class:4 star — San Rocco Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the shores of the picturesque Lake Orta, Hotel San Rocco is surrounded by the ancient walls of a monastery. It boasts a swimming pool and views of the enchanting San Giulio Island. The San Rocco was a convent for 150 years. The Baroque-style Villa Gippini was later added to the original building. The elegant restaurant features regional and international cuisine and breathtaking lake views. There is a beautiful garden, a golf course, and a beauty centre called the Body Harmony Center. In fine weather you can access the Wellness Roof Garden, set on the 4th floor. A billiards table and a fully equipped conference centre are provided. Rooms are elegantly furnished with a flat-screen TV and minibar. Most have lake views. Rooms in the annexe known as Villa Gippini are also available. The hotel is close to Switzerland and the Prealpine valleys. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your San Rocco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Rocco Orta Giulio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing