We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Cute Piazza!

When visiting Italy, you get to see a fair few piazza's and this one was pretty cute and authentic... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
daffystjob
,
Manchester, United Kingdom
Center of the Island

This is the main hub of Orta. It's filled with restaurants and, the day we were there, an outdoor... read more

Reviewed 22 October 2018
SabreSailor
,
New York
Read all 217 reviews
  
Reviews (217)
Filter reviews
217 results
Traveller rating
99
101
14
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
99
101
14
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gelato the main square watch the world lots of restaurants lake orta parks ferry boats photos isola town stroll tourists island church
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 217 reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2017 via mobile

This square is where a lot of action occurs. The dock is here to catch the boat to San Giulio Island. There are shops and restaurants here along with the ever-popular gelato stores. There are no less than five of these stores within 200 meters of the plaza. It is a very active and scenic area and has a great view of the island.

Date of experience: August 2017
1  Thank TeemanRacketman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017

I am sure that come the middle of summer this place is packed but before then, in the early months of summer it is a joy though, as we discovered, not always warm. The little town hall is magical and a stroll around the streets rewarding.

Date of experience: May 2017
1  Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017

It's a nice town center. Piazza is bordered by Lake Orta to the west, wall of restaurants to the east and the old town all around. Very charming. Lots and lots of food options from breakfast to dessert. Plenty of places to have a drink and watch Giullio life walk by. Most evening had some performing artists in the center to entertain you. I wouldn't go out of my way to travel to San GIullio just for the piazza, but if your looking for a lake front vacation town, San Giullio has a lot to offer including this charming piazza.

Date of experience: August 2017
1  Thank RayKski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2017

I was surprised just how busy the town and main square/piazza were - an indication was the packed car parks as you head down into the town. The square is a hive of activity with ferry jetties, restaurants, ice cream parlours and alleys leading up to churches and further shops. From the harbour you get a great view of the nearby island which for 4e50c return you can visit (we did). There are numerous attractive buildings around the square and we had lunch at the excellent Albergo Ristorante Leon D' Oro. From the water's edge you can see the Madonna del Sasso church to the left high on the hill opposite and recommend the effort to visit if you have a car - the views are spectacular.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank nnmercman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017

Orta and its piazza are a very romantic places. Hidding in lago d'Orta, I found that this village was more quiet compared to the cities on lake Maggiore.
Nevertheless it was very nice to discover and to visit it, even if in one hour you have seen it all.

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews