We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must visit for beer lovers (esp IPA)!!!”

Il Cavallino Alato - La Taverna del Capitano
Ranked #3 of 357 Restaurants in Asti
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 6 - US$ 17
Cuisines: Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Set in a beautiful Medieval square, "Il Cavallino Alato - Captain's Tavern" offers a range of craft beers wide enough to please any taste. In addition to this, the owners - Enzo and Angela - are more than glad to provide their expertise to help you choose the beer that suits you best and the perfect snack to go with it. At "Il Cavallino Alato" you will find a selection of main dishes, pasta, piadina, as well as homemade caponata (fried eggplants with tomatoes), pork ribe and roasted pork shanK cooked with beer. If you like good food, good music and tasty beers made in microbreweries from all over Europe, don't miss "Il Cavallino Alato - Captain's Tavern".KITCHEN CLOSE AT 12 PM (midnight)
Reviewed 10 July 2017 via mobile

We have been traveling Italy in search of a good IPA for nearly 6 weeks and have gotten close...until we came here. Enzo is tremendously knowledgeable about beer in general, but has a particular passion for IPA. Our 6 week quest was fulfilled when we met him - every beer we tried, including his own IPA (Mr Strop) was fantastic.

A must try for beer lovers!!!!

Thank Justin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
enzo a, Proprietario at Il Cavallino Alato - La Taverna del Capitano, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2017

Ciao Justin, ciao Laura. Thanks a lot for your review. I'm sure your future will be good and exciting. Please, no more ipa. From today lagers and saison beers too ! Big embrace to both two and one big kiss to Laura. See you soon Giant ...

Angela & Enzo
icainfo@libero.it

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (311)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 311 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2017 via mobile

....is as good! Stumbled over this lovely pub and were surprised what happened. Very friendly and inviting the owner informed about the beers and suggested according to personal preferences. Beer was excellent craft beer and the food was from local sources. Strongly recommended - will go there again!

Thank diesichels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
enzo a, Proprietario at Il Cavallino Alato - La Taverna del Capitano, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2017
Google Translation

Danke, fiel Danke. See you next time. I look forward.
Enzo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2016

Excelent beers in center of Asti.
Variety of beers (both bottled and draught) - you will be provided with information about specyfic tastes to choose best one for you. Both local breweries and more known brands. Few fridges full of different kind of biers from all ocer the world.
We received additionaly small antipasti (2 kinds of bruschetta and deep fried rise balls).

Great place with friendly and helpfull owner. Thank you Enzo, GRACIE!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MarcinWrocPL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
enzo a, Proprietario at Il Cavallino Alato - La Taverna del Capitano, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2016

Thanks a lot for your feedback and for your visite. Usually we propose a little appetizer from 6 to 9 p.m.
I'm glad for your curiosity and I hope to see you once again.
See you soon.
Angela, entire ICA's stuff and Enzo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2016

The place is a little tiny, but you'll find a good selection of pump beers and draft ones, plus an enormous amount of bottled beers, cyders and meads. Food is good too.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Guglielmo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2015

We did not eat here, only drink. And very much enjoyed ourselves. We wandered past the place while walking back from a fantastic long dinner round the corner, liked the look of it and went in, despite reckoning we might be 15 years older than everyone else! Great welcome, such a passion for all the different beers, I got completely lost and they patiently started again until we each had exactly "the" beer for us. And they were great beers. There are so many I am not going to list them. This place is full of character, charm, energy and passion. Our only disappointment was seeing a few tables of people drinking (apparently) coke not beer. How could this be?! We didn't follow suit, ordered more, and didn't regret it. Don't let this place pass you by!

    • Value
    • Service
Thank Kara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
icaesa, Proprietario at Il Cavallino Alato - La Taverna del Capitano, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2016

Thank you very much for your visit.
News in our pub is always new beers and from 7 January we change opening schedule, we open from 6 P.M. to 1 o' clock.
See you soon.
Enzo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Il Cavallino Alato - La Taverna del Capitano also viewed

Asti, Province of Asti
Asti, Province of Asti
 
Asti, Province of Asti
 
Asti, Province of Asti
Asti, Province of Asti
 

Been to Il Cavallino Alato - La Taverna del Capitano? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing